We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding”
Review of Mount Peyton Hotel

Mount Peyton Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mount Peyton Hotel
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights to attend a wedding. The front desk personnel, dining room staff, and maids were spot on-very friendly and courteous. The rooms, however, are in need of a desperate upgrade for it is very dated.

Room Tip: Request an in room frigde upon booking.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keon14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Mount Peyton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 100 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nites for a wedding. The hotel is very old and had had no updates. The rooms were not clean (we found food, a bottle cap etc.. on the floor and the tub leaved a bit to be desired in terms of cleanliness). Also the restaurant - although it does serve food, it is super super basic. We paid a discounted rate (as guests of the wedding) which is good because I would have been pissed if we had paid full price for the room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

i Stayed in this hotel on July 21 for one night - one too many! Someone had vomited outside of our door it may have been wiped up but the carpet was not cleaned and still reeked. We went out to do laundry after a long day of travel , came back to sleep and the room smelled like human feces in the carpet near the window. Does this place rent rooms by the hour? disgusting place. Next time I'll bypass Grand Falls and take my chances with the moose on the highway !

Room Tip: Check room thoroughly before checking in
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billkudla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in the motel, the room was clean but rough. the shower faucet kept the water coming into the tub as well as the shower. Making it dangerous for falling. Staff friendly. This is an old building.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed in an efficiency room w/kitchenette. Only ventured to main bldg to check in & out. Room itself is in newer, two-storey building. Clean. Large & well-appointed, w/oven, fridge, microwave & coffee maker. I found the room quiet in spite of being beside the TCH. Maybe it's worse in the summertime.

Room Tip: Building is literally on the side of the Trans-Canada Highway.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flanalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We recently booked a room at this hotel on our way through town. We booked a 'Corporate room' (which is what it was called on their web site) with one "Queen" bed and a couch, since we didn't need two "Queens" as was in the regular rooms. We paid $11.00 more for what was called an 'Executive' room by the lady who made the booking. Other perks, besides the one bed and couch, were two bathrobes, upgraded bath products, and a mini-fridge. Boy, were we screwed out of $11 bucks.

As soon as we walked in, we realized that if the bed was supposed to be a Queen, then we were Prince Charles and Lady Diana. It was a double, at most, and the couch was a loveseat that barely fit two people. There was ONE bathrobe on the rack, and the 'upgraded' bathroom still consisted of an area where the toilet barely fit next to the toilet, and one almost had to stand in the shower to wash their hands.

Other complaints were the internet was terrible, and by staying on the second floor, we had to carry our bags over two flights of stairs and down a long hallway since there's no elevator.

At $120.00 for the 'upgraded' room, I don't feel we got our money's worth.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGN_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were part of a tour group and stayed at this hotel for one night. Upon entering our room there was a very strong smell. Thank goodness we could open the windows to let in some fresh air. We thought the smell would get better, but it didn't. Others in our group had the same complaint. One said it was a disinfectant smell. The upholstered chair had a large stain on it.
We would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMC002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Falls Windsor
2.0 mi away
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#2 of 2 in Grand Falls Windsor
167 reviews
20.0 mi away
Exploits Hostel
Exploits Hostel
#1 of 1 in Botwood
6 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverfront Chalets & Rafting Newfoundland
Riverfront Chalets & Rafting New...
#1 of 4 in Grand Falls Windsor
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Peyton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Peyton Hotel

Address: 214 Lincoln Rd, Grand Falls Windsor, Newfoundland and Labrador A2A 1P8, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Grand Falls Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Grand Falls Windsor
Price Range: $100 - $860 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mount Peyton Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mount Peyton Hotel is a full service hotel perfectly located along the Trans-Canada Highway in Grand Falls-Windsor and only minutes away from the Grand Falls-Windsor Golf Club, river rafting adventures, The Salmon Interpretation Centre, beautiful Corduroy Brook Nature Trail and the Exploits River. Our employees are here to ensure your stay is a comfortable and clean one. Mount Peyton Hotel offers the charm and relaxed elegance of the Province in everything they do. Each of the 149 air conditioned, spacious guestrooms and suites offer the comfort and convenience of home, as well as a wide spectrum of amenities to meet your business or leisure needs. The hotel features three buildings with guest room categories including Standard, King and Queen Executive, Family Room, Jacuzzi Suites, Suites, Motel units and Efficiency units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Mount Peyton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Peyton Hotel Grand Falls Windsor, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing