We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Second stay more enjoyable than first!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lantern Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lantern Bay Resort
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Second stay more enjoyable than first!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

I have read some of the negative reviews and have to say, I think it's absurd that people complain about things like bugs and a long drive to get there. When you leave the city to stay in cottage country, what do you expect? If you don't like the distance to get there then check google maps before you leave and visit a local Holiday Inn if you don't want to drive a few hours. Do you expect it to be next door? Our family has visited the resort twice now, once last year and once this year. Each time has been an enjoyable experience. They have added amenities now like the swimming pools, although we had fun there even before the pools went in. My kids are little and they loved the beach, as it had a nice shallow area that was safe for them. My eldest loved jumping off the platform. The kids loved going out on the paddle boats and canoes which is included in the price of your stay. Our cottage was near the swimming pools and a short walk from the beach. It was a larger model with add on living room so very spacious. Perhaps people need to do better planning when choosing the property they are renting. Get lots of photos and ask lots of questions about what it offers and where it is located. Not everyone takes care of their properties the same way. Some owners rent out their cottages privately and others rent out through the resort rental program. Those that rent privately may not have their place to the same standards as the resort. Our place had a beautiful water view (Unit 50 Riverside), great neighbours, close proximity to amenities, was very clean and well stocked and very upscale in our opinion. On the down side, the website advertises a laundry facility and cafe which don't exist so that was disappointing. The paddle boats needed repair. But all in all we still loved it. The owner of our cottage was very attentive and helpful and we rented privately with her. I don't believe anyone would be disappointed renting this place. We'll be going back for sure!

Room Tip: Do your due diligence when looking for a place. Ask for lots of photos, ask about location and what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    1
    6
    3
See reviews for
13
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Part of the staff was friendly. We arrived at the cottage and it was dirty. There was ants everywhere and I had to go get ant traps. The trailers are to small. The fire pit was to close to the trailer. There was no where to eat in the trailer we had to eat outside. The wifi would not work on my ipad in the office, that is the only place you can supposingly get the wifi. I don't think wine and cheese night should be held at the pavillion right beside the kids park. The worst part was the first night we were there the guy next door was being obnoxious and swearing at his mother. We were out of water twice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda K, Director of Operations at Lantern Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Hello LM, We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are happy you found some of our team friendly and will work on the remainder of the team. We review all feedback from our guests with all team members and it important for us to know what you experienced so we can make the improvements needed to ensure our guests enjoy their time at Lantern Bay. We do try to provide our guests with as much information regarding the size of the park models in advance during our reservations process, in addition to having photos on the website. Our Wifi is only guaranteed inside the Welcome Centre due to the unreliability of Internet service providers in the deep woods Muskoka area. We do have a computer available for our guests should you need to check emails or surf the web. Our pavilion is used for most activities for both our kids and our adult events. Our Resort General manager lives on the property and is available to handle any neighbour types of situations that may arise. Again, thanks so much for your feedback and we will do our best to address these types of issues and put into place best practices to make our guests comfortable and provide the necessary service they expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gravenhurst hotels

London, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This was an excellent find! After a drive through gorgeous remote scenery, Lantern Bay is a wonderful tucked away resort. We had a Premium Waterfront Cottage with gorgeous views of the marina. The cottage has two bedrooms (Queen bed master, and a bunked with double bottom and single top in second bedroom). We were pleasantly surprised by how many activities are available for kids. The weekend we arrived, the resort had "Scales Nature Park" visit to teach us about snakes and turtles. The pool, playground, and field are very well kept. The KidzClub Activities were wonderful for easy in/out as the kids came and went throughout the day, while snack foods were provided for the kids, along with programmed activities. The beach was our "happy spot" with gorgeous views of the channel. The kids had a blast swimming out to the raft to jump off and play. We especially loved access to the canoes and paddleboats. We borrowed them several times. Each cottage has its own fire-pit. (Wood is available for purchase at the Registration Office. We suggest you bring a lighter to light the fire.) Each cottage also has a large deck and a barbeque with propane. The kitchen has a full size refrigerator and oven/stove, but we did not cook inside the house as we BBQ'd all meals.

A couple of mentions: Along with your own linens and towels and dishsoap/handsoap, we suggest that you bring up your own cleaning supplies. The cottage was well kept and the bathroom and kitchen were clean, but the floors in our cottage were very dirty. We had brought our own dishsoap, so we used a bucket/mop that we found inside the closet with our dish-soap to clean the floors. Otherwise, everything was in perfect shape.

Another mention, the cottage is on a septic system. So we suggest that you bring a large jug for drinking water as a market is a distance away. We managed very well with bottles of water available for purchase at the Registration office though.

The staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming. We felt instantly at home and did not want to leave. We highly recommend the Lantern Bay Resort. Our family cannot wait to visit again. Thank you!

Room Tip: The Premium Waterfront cottages are well worth the upgrade. Highly recommended. Immediately locate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank love_happy_travel_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My wife and I had an amazing time with our little one. Went for mini week Monday to Friday. Too short though. We should of stayed a week. Great deal as so much was included. Boating, Child care, Beach, Pool, Great Fishing and much more. Sweet modern cottages. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Truly an amazing vacation we just had. Don't listen to the negative reviews here, this place is awesome. Cant wait to come back for a longer stay next time.
Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Cottage #1 Maple Ridge - Nice and Secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joeytravel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My family spent a week at lantern Bay and we had a great vacation. Clean raked beach with Muskoka Chairs, day activities for my grandchildren and two new pools to play in. I'm looking forward to going back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank B0b111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

I purchased a 2 night stay through deal find and we went up fathers day weekend with our 2 kids. They have park model homes which are nice but your fire pit is a few steps away from your neighbor, we were supposed to have a 2 bedroom for a larger living area and supposed to be across from the playground which we had neither. The playground had cups with booze and wine lying around and the boat that you rent for $110 had no gas nor could they find anyone to meet us down there with the safety kit before we left. If you leave early before tge office is open there is supposed to be a drop box for the keys so you dont get charged but that seemed to be non existing.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Kristin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

See that picture they use for their ad? This is the cottage we actually stayed in BUT we had to book it privately with the owner! We found their add on Kijiji and their prices are amazing! The owners are really nice and friendly and their cottage is kept super clean and tidy. We had our own private docks, deck, fire pit and motored canoe to use. In addition, they have a hard top gazebo for super hot sunny days as well! It was very quiet and private at the end of the road (really at the edge of there resort). There was only one home to the right and to the left was beautiful landscaped greens and flowers. To be honest, we walked all over the resort and this is the best site on the resort. We've decided to book with them this summer as well!
I can see why some people posted such low reviews for this resort, mostly about their actual cottage not the resort (they expected water front and did not get what they were expecting). The resort itself has two great pools for guests, good amenities (new and clean) and the girls at the kids club were super sweet and helpful with our little ones. Each cottage or if you prefer, modular home, is privately owned so it really depends on which cottage you get slotted for if you book through the resort. My advice is to definitely book with owners themselves to ensure you are getting what you are paying for!

Room Tip: Book directly with the cottage owner to ensure you are getting what you are paying for! They advert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Cestlavie4me88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravenhurst
6.1 mi away
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
9.2 mi away
Taboo Muskoka Resort
Taboo Muskoka Resort
#3 of 8 in Gravenhurst
4.0 of 5 stars 415 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hart of Muskoka
Hart of Muskoka
#5 of 8 in Gravenhurst
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Skyways Motel
Skyways Motel
#7 of 8 in Gravenhurst
3.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
23.9 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
12.9 mi away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#2 of 3 in Port Severn
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantern Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern Bay Resort

Property: Lantern Bay Resort
Address: 1336 Morrison Lake Rd S, Gravenhurst, Ontario P0E 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Gravenhurst
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Gravenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lantern Bay Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lantern Bay Resort is located on the Severn River, just north of Sparrow Lake in the Muskokas. We are 10 minutes south of Gravenhurst and just an hour and a half from the GTA. Families can enjoy great fishing, boat rentals, playground and kid’s activities. Resort Cottages accommodate up to 6 people comfortably and offer a wide range of stunning Muskoka scenery! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Lantern Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern Bay Resort Gravenhurst, Muskoka District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing