We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality food - don't let the lack of curb appeal fool you.”
Review of The Farmer's Plate - CLOSED

The Farmer's Plate
Cuisines: American, Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Glen Huron, Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good quality food - don't let the lack of curb appeal fool you.”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We often look further than the highway exits for meals to avoid the large chain / garbage food. We drove right past this place because its sign looked so plain and the exterior rather dated. Only upon driving back out of town did we see and stop. Glad we did. Plain settings but a great effort to provide local wholesome cuisine at reasonable prices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M K, Owner at The Farmer's Plate, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for stopping by and overlooking the curbapeal. Unfortunatley we are limited with changes we can do to the exterior, however we focus on our home cooking using only local ingredients. We are happy to hear you had a great experiance with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    9
    1
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The best place in Gravenhurst!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We visited Farmer's Place couple of times already. We do it every time we are in Gravenhurst, Farmer's Place is our first stop on our way in and last on our way out of Gravenhurst. It's a perfect place to start your day with a delicious breakfast or finish your day with nice dinner. Lunch is awesome too!! Their specials are spectacular! Everything is always fresh, beautifully served and the customer service is outstanding! We love Farmer's Plate and recommend everyone to visit it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kasia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M K, Owner at The Farmer's Plate, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we hoe you had a great stay in Gravenhurst.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to visit!”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We enjoyed our lunch at the Farmer's Plate. The staff are very friendly, the vegetables are fresh and much if not all of the meal preparation is done on site. We visited last year, and look forward to another visit next summer.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M K, Owner at The Farmer's Plate, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you and see you next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The dinner was excellent”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A good thing about the restaurant, it is attached to the HoJo hotel, there is no need to go outside of the hotel, especially when it was cold. We decided to check the menu and it seem to have something we can enjoyed and afford. For starters we shared a split pea soup, it was one of the best soup I tasted, very delicious, for the main course I had chicken with mash potatoes, vegetables, it was tasty, my friend had salmon, the cannot stop talking about how tasty the salmon was and how fresh it tasted. Overall the food was great and so was the service, it was not a busy nite in the restaurant, so service was quick and leisure eating. Save us time to look around for dinner.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lavenderwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M K, Owner at The Farmer's Plate, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and we are very happy you had a grea expreiance during your dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Ontario
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Regulars here”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I are regulars here for business and personal lunches, it's absolutely fantastic. The food is amazing and healthy and we have never had a bad experience! Not sure where the negative reviews have come from, must be a personal issue is all I could think!!!

Great Place!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LikenDSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M K, Owner at The Farmer's Plate, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Farmer's Plate also viewed

Gravenhurst, Muskoka District
Gravenhurst, Muskoka District
 
Gravenhurst, Muskoka District
Gravenhurst, Muskoka District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing