We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“rock lobby” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Gravenhurst

Howard Johnson Inn - Gravenhurst
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Gravenhurst
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Gravenhurst
St Petes
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“rock lobby”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here to attend wedding at Bala. prices ridiculous in Bala I mean really its not Monaco. good value clean rooms had fridge and everything you needed. Ask about big rock in lobby good story. Close to all stores and Petes players. They were almost empty. Should offer better price and really good deals. At say 60 they could fill the place with food and or entertainment packages. PS For the review that said the heat was hard to get at because of the shelf. Try using the thermostat on the wall.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Killer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    57
    37
    27
    14
See reviews for
54
40
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

I just returned from spending May 17 and May 18 at the above hotel. I was rather 'wary' of some of the reviews however, after researching other accommodations within the area - it appeared there was little middle ground... The 'elite' (which unfortunately Muskoka is becoming) were rather ridiculously priced for - 'after all' - just a nice bed to sleep on - ($200 AND UP...) A small run down Oak Something motel across the street from HoJo was the only option other than B&Bs in the area... And motels I would rather not consider...

I only booked ONE NIGHT at HJ. The room was immaculately clean, well laid out and had everything I would require! I could "wish for larger windows, a softer bed, however, in the 'Grand Scheme of Things'? {If that is SO all important***stay home!} SO, I BOOKED A SECOND NIGHT RIGHT ON THE SPOT! By the time my little dog and I drove to all the gorgeous sights and beaches every day- soaked up the sun- ate picnic lunches, enjoyed Muskoka - WELL - (OH YES, THEY TAKE SMALL DOGS - AND ARE VERY DECENT ABOUT IT) - My dog and I were 'bagged' and just wanted to enjoy the comforts the room provided, There is a microwave and refrigerator. A REALLY good shower, an impressive Flat Screen TV AND...an individual coffee maker for one cup only and it actually makes a heck of a cup of coffee!

Piles of brochures, pamphlets, booklets and FREE NEWSPAPERS EVERY DAY which are super to peruse on a park bench at one of the various gorgeous beaches around. There is no continental breakfast but, there are SO MANY DARNED OPTIONS AVAILABLE - who cares???? Have your coffee, clean up and ENJOY ONE OF THE BEST PLAYGROUNDS MOTHER NATURE EVER INVENTED!!!!

Jump all over this if you can (while it is there). You can't beat the price and cleanliness! Oh Wait until you see the lobby - what a trip! Realize that you are not at a 5* at the get go! Enjoy the area!

Piles of parking, Quiet and tranquil at night. Open the window, enjoy the clean Muskoka air!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravenhurst
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

It was very neat and accommodating. I enjoyed the fridge and microwave in the room. They were pet friendly which was fantastic as it was short notice that we needed the room. Price was fair and room was enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravenhurst
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

The heater was noisy and hard to change the dials blocked by the shelf under the window and the smell of the room was awful

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gravenhurst hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravenhurst
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
6.6 mi away
Hart of Muskoka
Hart of Muskoka
#5 of 8 in Gravenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
9.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 10 in Bracebridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Skyways Motel
Skyways Motel
#7 of 8 in Gravenhurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
9.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 10 in Bracebridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
4.2 mi away
Taboo Muskoka Resort
Taboo Muskoka Resort
#3 of 8 in Gravenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Gravenhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Gravenhurst

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Gravenhurst
Address: 1-1165 Muskoka Rd S | Highway 11 and 169, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1K6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Gravenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Gravenhurst 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Gravenhurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Gravenhurst
Howard Johnson Gravenhurst
Gravenhurst Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn - Gravenhurst Muskoka District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing