We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Gravenhurst
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Toronto
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We experienced the Howard Johnson Inn in Gravenhurst as a dingy and, overall, unpleasant kind of hotel. The room was large, but relatively dark and only very functionally equipped. Nothing nice about it. While the beds and bathroom were clean, there must have been at least 5 dead flies in the window frame (accessible for cleaning) and on the window sill. Not pleasant. Most annoying, however, was that we were woken up at 7:30 on a Sunday morning by two employees having a loud, personal conversation in the hallway in front of our room. After about 5 minutes of very audible chatter, I went outside to ask them whether they were aware that there were people sleeping in the room around them. They were quiet afterwards. I also complained to the person at the front desk, who apologized and informed me that she would talk to the staff. But our sleep had been disturbed anyway. Furthermore, other staff, who were apparently getting the garbage, left their truck running outside the window for a long time. The staff, with the exception of the front desk clerks, seemed to care very little that there were guests staying at the hotel.

The mattress of the bed was very soft and the pillows rather uncomfortable.

On the positive side, the front desk staff was friendly.

Ultimately, we cancelled the second night of our stay because it simply wasn't a good experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank capricorn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    65
    44
    27
    15
See reviews for
65
43
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener
2 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very convenient hotel. Parking was very close to our room. I loved the big Muskoka rock on the floor of main lobby. I could here people walking above us. There are no elevators.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Kathy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford Ont Can
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I agree with all the negative comments here. Bad smells, old furniture, carpet has to go, no breakfast area (get with the program). It should be torn down and re-built. It is a disgrace to the good name of Muskoka and Howard Johnson Inns. We were at a wedding at Taboo but would not pay the high prices there, we were given this as an alternative but we have stayed at 100% better places for a lot less.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Coby62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gravenhurst hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel was not of calibre that I expected. The hotel is run down and badly in need of renovation. on top of this complaint, was the lack of services that were promised....the hotel advertised a continental breakfast and there was no breakfast whatsoever. The attendant at the front desk did not even seem to be aware that a breakfast was part of the package offered by the HoJo website. Disappointing to say the least. Did not give the front desk hard time about this as it was not as if a full (hot) breakfast was promised and then I found that the kitchen had run out of eggs....no, in this situation there was literally nothing available or set up to fulfill the promise made at the time of booking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank zparyani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravenhurst
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
5.5 mi away
Skyways Motel
Skyways Motel
#7 of 8 in Gravenhurst
24 reviews
8.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 10 in Bracebridge
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hart of Muskoka
Hart of Muskoka
#5 of 8 in Gravenhurst
38 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 10 in Bracebridge
124 reviews
22.2 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Gravenhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Gravenhurst

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Gravenhurst
Address: 1-1165 Muskoka Rd S | Highway 11 and 169, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1K6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Gravenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Gravenhurst 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Gravenhurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Gravenhurst
Howard Johnson Gravenhurst
Gravenhurst Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn - Gravenhurst Muskoka District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing