We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good!”
Review of The Oar & Paddle

The Oar & Paddle
Ranked #5 of 63 Restaurants in Gravenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $21
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Celebrating 10 years of business in Muskoka. We welcome you to join us for a unique casual dining experience in one of South Muskoka’s favourite local hot spots. Chef Iain and his team have prepared an exciting lunch and dinner menu that offers up traditional and vegetarian dishes from fresh, simple, and tasteful ingredients.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had the highly-recommended fish and chips and enjoyed it very much. If anything, the fish (haddock) was almost too thick! Cooked nicely though with a generous order of fries on the side. Onions rings were very greasy, although we were with a large group and the sheer number of orders being placed almost simultaneously may have created this slight slip up in the kitchen. Service was at a good pace and staff were pleasant and accommodating.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PaminCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northrestaurant, Owner at The Oar & Paddle, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor! We appreciate your comments, and look forward to welcoming you back in to North and North West Restaurants!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 247 of 277 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just amazing quality and thought put into the menu. Fine dining fare and an upscale casual atmosphere. Great spot for dinner in Gravenhurst.

Thank MuskokaMode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northrestaurant, Owner at The Oar & Paddle, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at North! We appreciate the time you have taken to share our thoughts with us.

It is out pleasure to serve you, and we look forward to welcoming you back to North in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

North Restaurant in Gravenhurst is one of only a handful of Muskoka restaurants that has very good food. We’ve eaten there twice and enjoyed our experience both times. Homemade soups, “Back Door” fish and chips, grilled meats are all well prepared and tasty. We discovered a delightful New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc from Marlborough, Astrolabe, from their well-chosen wine list. (We’ve since bought several cases of Astrolabe for consumption at home, finding it a great summer wine). The restaurant setting is chic rustic (if there is such a thing). The prices may be a tad high but by my calculation dining there is still very good value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lensmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northrestaurant, Owner at The Oar & Paddle, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to connect with us. We appreciate your comments, and I will be sure to share them with our team!!

Thanks again we look forward to welcoming you back to North!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary with friends. The food and overall experience was PERFECT!!! Thanks to all at the restaurant for the excellent food and service. I highly recommend this restaurant. We loved it!!!

Thank cak_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northrestaurant, Owner at The Oar & Paddle, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! I will be sure to share your kind words with the kitchen and service team.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have eaten at North a number of times. The best way to describe the food which always looks nice is consistently inconsistent. Inevitably my wife enjoys her meal and I pick the wrong thing. The last time the salmon was dry and fishy. The time before that it was the steak. The restaurant isnt cheap and borders on over priced given the size of the portions of some dishes. Other than that it is a pleasant restaurant with good service.

3  Thank TorontoDavidS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northrestaurant, Owner at The Oar & Paddle, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. I will be sure to share your concerns with our Chef and kitchen team, as well as your compliments to the service staff.

Again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oar & Paddle also viewed

Gravenhurst, Muskoka District
Gravenhurst, Muskoka District
 
Gravenhurst, Muskoka District
Gravenhurst, Muskoka District
 

Been to The Oar & Paddle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing