We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Northern business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taboo Muskoka Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Cresskill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Northern business trip”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

A very pleasant experience much different from the usual business settings in a larger metro area. The lake was frozen but the staff was very warm and friendly. The food for a conference was excellent and varied. Meeting rooms in the Boathouse had beautiful views of the lake. The room was clean and comfortable, and though I didn't have a lake view which would have been nice, I wasn't in it long enough to matter. The remote location can be a challenge to and from the Toronto airport. Fortunately, a staff member went out of her way to help with travel arrangements which ended up saving hundreds off a cab fare in addition to the hassle of finding transportation.

Room Tip: If it's pleasure go for a lake view otherwise the rooms are plenty comfortable for sleeping and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ripsrocker R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne W, Public Relations Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Hi Ripsrocker R, thanks very much for taking time out from business travel to post a Taboo Muskoka review. For readers who aren't familiar, Taboo is 90 minutes north of Toronto, on one easy highway, at the gateway to one of Ontario's most popular recreation destinations. Many of our accommodations do offer spectacular Lake Muskoka views, although getaway guests tend to care more about that than meeting planners ;-) Glad one of our Taboo team members was able to find you a convenient return to Toronto Pearson airport too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    124
    62
    43
    37
See reviews for
109
188
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erin, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Away for a weekend at Taboo resort for a weekend and I would recommend the wonderful spot to anyone . extremely well run from the managing director Nigel. to all of his team very friendly and well organized. check in was quick the room was great, clean, excellent view . Food at the resort was very well prepared and delicious good menu selection . Keep up the good work..

Room Tip: Good view west side.. Lake View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drummix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon Z, Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Drummix,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. All of us here at Taboo Muskoka are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We also appreciate your comments about how well organized and friendly our staff was, and to hear that you enjoyed our menu. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon!

Brandon Z – Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We hadn't expected the weather to still be windy, cold and snowy in late March so weren't prepared for winter activities. So we just enjoyed being in the unit, using the gym, and walking around. I attribute this to the beautiful, comfortable, spacious, 4-bedroom condo that was so conducive to just hanging out and being together.

Room service, housekeeping, and technical assistance brought us what we needed, seemingly effortlessly, and so pleasantly.

Spa was delightful and a fun bonding time for three girls getting massages, then using the wet sauna, grooming supplies, robes and slippers. Showers had amazing spouts that jetted you from all directions. Then we rested in lounge chairs with blanket, water, and delicious granola bars. I liked that we were the only ones in the spa when we visited. Don't think the visit would have felt as initimate if there were more clients about. The unexpected cold in the middle of winter had its perks after all!

The Elements Lounge was so pleasant with a skilled and affable piano player Saturday night. We had delicious desserts and drinks.

The kitchen was very basic however. Different sized bowls would have been useful. A nonstick frying pan would have lessened our angst about scrubbing clean the frying pan, which we failed to do. But then the restaurant was pretty good. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. We had a great week.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrippingAllOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon Z, Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
TrippingAllOver,

Thank you for the review, I don’t think we expected the weather to be like it has been the last couple weeks either! However, it does give the winter lovers an extended snowmobile and skiing season. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the 4 bedroom Condo and our Spa, sometimes there is nothing better than hanging out and relaxing with your family and friends. I’m also pleased to hear our Staff was so pleasant and helpful; we take great pride in providing our guests with exceptional service so I will be sure to pass your comments along to our Team. We have also noted your comments about the kitchen and have plans to discuss with our Management Team. Thank you again for choosing Taboo Muskoka and we hope to see you soon!

Brandon Z – Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

If you can afford the newer lakefront rooms...very nice. Spacious room and bathroom. My experience is based on a good location and we did not experience any noise issues or problems. Middle of the wing. Gas Fireplace. Can't comment on the older section. Dining room menu In the evenings was very good. Some tables are window side. The lakeside outdoor restaurant had a nice menu too. Tried the pulled pork sandwich and fries. Really good. Taboo golf course, across the street is a must. Beautiful scenery, layout, greens and service. We played a Sunday am in July, just the two is us and felt like we had the course all to ourself. They had no formal large club house...but a small shop with some apparel, a small breakfast/ lunch counter where we grabbed a quick breakfast before the round. Driving range is great too! What service!

Room Tip: Lakefront, premium room, upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon Z, Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
rockport,

Thank you so much for your review of Taboo Muskoka. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed all of the dining options we have here are the resort. There is no doubt we have one of the top golf courses in Canada! The tricky yet fair Ron Garl designed championship course has tree lined fairways which create the very unique feeling of having the entire golf course to yourself - as you mentioned. The clubhouse is fully stocked with all the essentials, including quick service or grab-and-go options for our guests. As you said so perfectly “The Taboo golf course across the street is a must”. Next time you return be sure to check out our new menus! Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Brandon Z – Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This was our second visit to Taboo, and it was fantastic. I would highly recommend the culinary theatre, and a visit to the spa is a must. I love the trails on the resort grounds. They can easily fill up a day with hiking, or snow shoeing / cross country skiing depending on the season. The staff are exceptionally friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkoliphant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne W, Public Relations Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Pinkoliphant, Thank you for being a repeat guest at Taboo Muskoka. We appreciate the mention of our new Spa Taboo and the Culinary Theatre dinner event. But your comment about our "exceptionally friendly" staff is the most important to us. To help you plan your next visit, we're extending our trails and outdoor adventure options this summer too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This resort is incredible. We had a friend have her wedding outside on an elevated dock it was stunning! The entire resort feels welcoming and clean. The Spa was perfect, we only wished they had a shared sauna as we booked a couples massage and would have liked to spend more time together relaxing. For one nights stay with the spa package it wasn't cheap, but that being said this is not a hotel, it's a mini vacation escape that truly takes you away into the scenic views and warm hospitality. I'd recommend it again and definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sewey_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne W, Public Relations Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
sewey_5 So glad you enjoyed your friend's Fireside patio wedding. And love that you consider Taboo Muskoka "a mini vacation escape." For best rates on Spa Taboo packages and monthly specials, look at times like April-May and November too. Outside of peak summer you can definitely save by checking our website and/ or signing up for our e-club. Appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Since we discovered Taboo several years ago, we have made at least one trip per year with the kids. Takes about 61/2 - 8 hours to get there, so it isn't a destination that I can go for a quick weekend. They had a massive indoor pool that my kids loved in addition to a games area and the kayaks. So, I booked a summer vacation for the family in a lake-view room. I called, spoke to an agent, they called up my profile, asked if I was bringing the kids (yes) and reservations were made a few weeks in advance. We arrived later in the day and our plan was to go and have a long swim, relax and call it a night. First problem - the in-room safe was broken - desk clerk said that we would have to move rooms as it had to be fixed and this meant taking apart the dresser that it was drilled into. I was told that they had an identical room 1 floor below - so we moved - locked up our goods and went to find the pool. Turns out that they had ripped the pool out to expand the spa (not happy). Outdoor pools were cold (temp was cool that whole week) Felt that they could have told me this when I was booking. Had dinner, went for a walk, came back to the room and started to settle in for the night - toilet stopped flushing at 10:45 pm - tank would not fill with water. Our room was closest to the lobby so I walked over to the desk clerk to tell them of the problem - he asks: Would you like a repairman to come to the room? (he's the same guy I've dealt with for the other problem and who advised me about the pool - he knows that I have kids - sure, I don't need a working bathroom). It takes 40 min for the maintenance man to show up (called him from home). He looks at it, admits that the ballock needs to be replaced but they are on backorder because they are a new design. He fiddled with it until it started to fill a little - said it was the best he could do that night - it now took 3 - 4 min to refill between flushes. They had no other comparable rooms available as I had one of the more expensive lake-view rooms and all others were booked - no other accommodation made. During the night, right next to our room, there is a stairway up to the administrative offices - seemed that someone went up/down those stairs once every half hour and the automatic closer made a loud bang. By morning I was wild and laid into the desk clerk. I was told that the customer service manager was away so the best that they could do was offer their "friends and family rate". For the sake of the kids, we put in the day and made do but left the next morning. Vented on the desk clerk - she took my name/number and best time to call to forward it to customer service manager. Clerk said that many people were upset about the pool. No one ever called and when I called - was put over to voice mail. - NOT GOING BACK!!

Room Tip: Lake-view rooms are great - when things work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank CKel51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne W, Public Relations Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
CKel51 We're genuinely sorry to read about your Taboo Muskoka accommodation issues last summer and that those have turned you off your annual visit. We totally appreciate you taking the time to detail them for us so we can make sure they are rectified. While it's belated, we have also reached out to you directly via TripAdvisor to try and make it right for you and your family.

In the meantime, I wanted to let you know that Taboo has had a new senior management team in place now, and that several of the points you note, like consistent Guest Service management, have already been addressed. We hope you connect with us and reconsider. And other TA readers, please know Taboo Muskoka takes all guest feedback seriously, actively addressing and sharing it, good and challenging.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravenhurst
3.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
19.3 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
16.7 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 10 in Bracebridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
20.3 mi away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#3 of 4 in Port Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
16.4 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taboo Muskoka Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taboo Muskoka Resort

Property: Taboo Muskoka Resort
Address: 1209 Muskoka Beach Rd | RR 1, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1R1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Gravenhurst
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Taboo Muskoka Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taboo Muskoka Resort is located right on beautiful Lake Muskoka, only 90 minutes north of Toronto. A year-round retreat, Taboo is known for its personalized service, sleek modern accommodations and championship golf. This Muskoka gem is an ideal place to relax and have fun while enjoying dozens of activities ranging from tennis and golf to hiking and biking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Taboo Muskoka Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Taboo
Taboo Hotel Gravenhurst
Taboo Resort Gravenhurst
Taboo Muskoka Resort Gravenhurst, Muskoka District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing