We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taboo Muskoka Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend getaway”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

4 adults and 3 children, we stayed at the 2 bedroom platinum suite at Taboo for the weekend. The room was spacious and the beds very comfortable. The bathroom was HUGE and had a Jacuzzi that the kids enjoyed very much. Buffet breakfast was included and the spread was good enough. Free Wifi was great!

Service was EXCELLENT! We had a lot of requests, mainly to do with food (as we are all vegetarian) and they were extremely flexible and happy to oblige. The Fireside Pub was open but due to the limited vegetarian options, they allowed us to order off the room service & lounge menu as well to eat at the pub. Lots of games at the pub - pool table, darts, board games, shuffleboard.. Enough to keep us entertained for a couple of hours.

All staff were friendly and eager to help. There was enough to do and most activities were complimentary. We did beer tasting, snow shoeing, cross country skiing and camp fire with apple bombs. While we were at the campfire, the dog sledding people took the kids for a free round around the pond which we thought was very nice. They had pop corn and movies as the rec center as well.

We lucked out with the weather. It was very pleasant (not too cold) with a lot of fresh snow! A perfect winter experience where excellent service made all the difference! Will definitely recommend and return!

Room Tip: We stayed at the two bedroom platinum suite with lake view. Very spacious, clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne W, Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Vaish S On behalf of the Taboo Muskoka team, thank you for taking the time to provide a detailed review of your winter family stay and for highlighting the "EXCELLENT" service you received. Our Taboo kitchen brigade strive to provide vegan and gluten-free menu options as well as to be flexible and customize to satisfy any dietary needs and special requests. Sounds like you all had fun trying several of Taboo's Winter Adventure Centre activities. Hope we can welcome you all back again, perhaps during summer holidays. Stay well, Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    124
    62
    43
    36
See reviews for
108
188
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2013

What a delightful and exceptional experience at Taboo Resort. Each and every detail was special. The enchanting lake view, the dining experience, Elements Lounge, the romantic room...we loved every moment.

Room Tip: Corner Suite with lake view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMJ_Delux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon-GSM, Guest Relations Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
PMJ_Delux Thanks for the kind comments! We are very pleased you enjoyed your honeymoon at Taboo Muskoka, I will be sure to pass along your thoughts to the rest of our team. Congratulations and warm wishes to you both, we look forward to having you back at the resort again soon. Brandon Z – Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Spent a night here in October and had a great getaway. Paid for a room with a beautiful lake view and we weren't disappointed. Eat dinner in the restaurant and the food was fantastic - my fiancee said her pasta dish was the best she's ever had at a restaurant!
Great place for a short getaway!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RYERAM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne W, Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
RYERAM11 Thanks very much for taking the time to recommend Taboo Muskoka on TripAdvisor as a "great place for a short getaway." Glad you and your fiancée enjoyed Elements restaurant. The Seafood Fettuccini Carbonara she praised is a fave with many of our guests. Happy travels, Anne for the Taboo resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night and to say that it was disappointing would be an understatement. We arrived on a Saturday night at about 6pm and it took about 15 min to check in. I booked a suit with a fireplace and was told that it was a wood burning fireplace as opposed to the very small gas fireplace in other rooms. The fireplace was indeed a wood burning fireplace but you are not allowed to burn wood. they provide one of those compressed wood fiber and chemical logs that you buy at the store, additional logs can be purchased. The fireplace is situated in the living room are but the rest of the setup is not conducive to feel comfortable sitting in front of a roaring fire on a cold winter night. the sofa is the type that you may find in a medical office waiting room and is not comfortable, very institutional. The rest of the decor is less than inspiring, dated and really doesn't contribute to a relaxing setting. We really did feel like we were sitting in some waiting room. The bathroom was old and dated. The bed is hard the linens were thin and the duvet was a cheep polyester and really not inviting at all. But not to worry they did provide nicely folded bath robes. When we went to put on the robes we saw that one of them had a huge rip in it. I complained and they showed me another room that had a tiny gas fireplace and cold laminate flooring this room left me feeling like I was in downtown Toronto and not in Muskoka. I elected to stay in the original room. oh well at least there was a nice dinner to look forward to. First we checked out the fireside grill, a pub style place where we thought well at least we may be able to sit by the fire.....nope the big stone fireplace sits empty except for a small glowing electric fire insert that was barely visible. We then went up to the main dinning room and I ordered a $40 10oz medium rare strip loin steak. it was overcooked to medium, came with two Onion rings and a few beans. If this had been a $25 steak I would have just put up with it and moved on. I sent it back to be re cooked. The new steak came back and was cooked better. When I tasted the steak it had no flavor and no marbling but I thought that perhaps I am just being too critical so I offered a bit to my girlfriend and she said that she would be disappointed if she served this to her son for dinner and she is no BBQ expert and doesn't know how to cook a steak very well. The only saving grace was the the manager Brandon really tried to change things for the better by bringing us a bottle of wine for the room issues and by taking all food off the bill (i didn't eat the steak) All in all this is an overpriced place with outdated rooks and is not the comfortable romantic Muskoka setting that you may be dreaming of.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The weekend holidays was a complete disappointment. After having to upgrade at the expense of ourselves because they were overbooked, we were told we would have a better room. Unfortunately we were provided a room with no view, and later it was explained by the Guest Service Manager that the pictures on the internet were not applicable to most rooms & he agreed our original room request at a lower cost would have been more nicer view. In addition to our room having no view, a large air conditioner unit running full time under our window/balcony, and room smelling of chlorine, the room was a further disappointment when the balcony door fell off it's track onto my senior wife. Efforts to support & attend to our upsets were dismissed & after 2 months we have yet to receive the suggested reimbursement that the Guest Service Manager felt was more appropriate then our suggestions (which was reimbursement only for the upgrade costs, where he felt it was better to reimburse 1 night upgrade cost & offer 1 night free for future travel).
The paths around the hotel were safety concerns for those having walking difficulties, and the scenery at the beach was less enjoyable due to the garbage lying on the beach & floating in the water.
We were redirected to eat in our room due to events in the facility, and told that the patio was off limits due to events.
The hotel service was unaccommodating, slow, and required patience to deal with.
The concerns have been brought to the attention of the Guest Service Manager, although the situation has not been rectified.
I would strongly encourage travelers to check out other options in the area until Taboo is able to upgrade their hotel, hire staff which are trained & caring & meet the standards which they promote in their advertising.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 77KimC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marssl
Level Contributor
62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This resort is very nice. The location is beautiful, sitting right on the lake. Our room had a large balcony overlooking the water. The staff were all very attentive and helpful. There are complimentary kayaks and canoes, as well as several hiking trails. The heated pools were also enjoyable. The only downside is the cost, which is steep. I wouldn't classify this hotel as being a very good value, but it is a very nice splurge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marssl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed a few nights at Taboo which sits right on the water of Lake Muskoka. Absolutely beautiful locale! As it is after tourist season there weren't many people around and I loved that. Food at the hotel was good, service good and rooms were nice although whoever designed the bathrooms and closet situation has obviously never stayed in a room like these. The closet is set between the entrance and the bathroom and there is a light in front of the closet which cannot be brightened more than dim and doesn't allow you to see into a suitcase. The bathroom is nice but very small and being 6'4" it would have been nice to stand under the rainfall shower head instead of having to stoop down beneath it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chirop99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravenhurst
3.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
19.3 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
16.7 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 10 in Bracebridge
103 reviews
20.3 mi away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#3 of 4 in Port Severn
164 reviews
16.4 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taboo Muskoka Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taboo Muskoka Resort

Property: Taboo Muskoka Resort
Address: 1209 Muskoka Beach Rd | RR 1, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1R1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Gravenhurst
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Taboo Muskoka Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taboo Muskoka Resort is located right on beautiful Lake Muskoka, only 90 minutes north of Toronto. A year-round retreat, Taboo is known for its personalized service, sleek modern accommodations and championship golf. This Muskoka gem is an ideal place to relax and have fun while enjoying dozens of activities ranging from tennis and golf to hiking and biking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Taboo Muskoka Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Taboo
Taboo Hotel Gravenhurst
Taboo Resort Gravenhurst
Taboo Muskoka Resort Gravenhurst, Muskoka District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing