We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressive Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taboo Muskoka Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed at Taboo for a business conference and was very impressed overall. The meeting facilities were very bright and open and the rooms were very modern and spacious with phenomenal views. The staff seems a little inexperienced and the checkin experience could use a little work but I would highly recommend this resort for the rooms, views and facilities alone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FaizalVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
There are newer reviews for Taboo Muskoka Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 455 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Came here for our anniversary and wasn't pleased with our stay. We weren't greeted or checked in promptly. We were the only couple in line and the attendant left the counter and walked right by us without saying a word. We waited patiently for someone to show up. Parking was inconvenient to say the least-far and few spaces unless you pay the premium prices. Checked into our room +300 only to find the room bare and uninspiring, nice view of the parking lot though. Blinds didn't do there job and the am sun greeted us early and promptly. Soo much potential here however so much disappointment. Our shower broke first thing but was repaired. What a gong show-we won't be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TooCent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at taboo resort last month. It is a beautiful muskoka hotel (although we haven't stayed at any others, it certainly looks like the nicest from our booking research).
Amazing facilities, very modern rooms, friendly staff who were very helpful in booking us a golf time. In addition to the water activities they have tennis courts and great bike trails and they lend bikes.
Breakfast was excellent with lots of healthy and less healthy items. Overall great hotel and we'll be back whenever we do get back to muskoka.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I set up a group of executives to stay at Taboo for an offisite including golf. They all found the resort simply outstanding and the staff fabulous! The food was also incredible. All in all a very first rate experience!

Room Tip: The Lakefront room are beautiful with a fireplace - a very good choice!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTangolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Taboo resort and Spa from Aug.30 to Sept 2, 2013. It was our first time at this resort and we were blown away!!! The service was exceptional and the activities that they had where awesome!!!
Hiking (they own 100 acres and give guided tours) right on the lake (canoeing, kayaking, seed doo, paddle boat, take a regular boat, ). Tennis lessons astronomy at night (they own an $8,000 telescope ) what a sight in space!!!!!
For the foodies they have an awesome culinary theatre!!! where guest sit around two chefs who entertain and interact with you and deliver an exceptional 6 course meal with an amuse bouche (wine pairing can also be added to the courses).
I can go on and on....
We will definitely be coming back!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mina f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I booked this for two nights after the Labour Day weekend. Beautiful spot on Lake Muskoka. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are spotless and I found, on more than one occasion, the cleaning staff were more than willing to accommodate my requests (timing of room cleaning, extra coffee, etc.). We played table tennis and borrowed the mountain bikes. We went canoeing and my husband swam in the lake and pool. We ate at the restaurant. Lovely meal.

Room Tip: Get a lake view - definitely worth it.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Velcro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne W, Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Hello Velcro1
Glad you enjoyed your Taboo Resort visit and Elements restaurant. Your appreciation for housekeeping team has been passed along. And we appreciate you taking the time to post!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

It's taken me a fair amount of time to properly think what to write here, with a cool mind, I'm ready!

I want to start by saying, vacationing in Ontario is not cheap and once you get over that hurdle, this place is expensively Beautiful.

I had booked a long weekend stay for my husband's birthday; knowing the whole experience would be around $1500 to $2000 with golf and drinks/food, for two night stay.

The location is on a beautiful part of lake muskoka and the rooms are modern, comfortable, small but luxurious! We payed for two rounds of golf each, the staff at the golf club, were friendly, knowledgeable and eager to make your stay fun. The spa and the restaurant were great, professional service and good experience at both.

So, now i get into the downside of things: The facility is more suited for families, as there was not really any night life after 9pm, we were advices to go into town, but who wants to drive or cab to a small pub...I have those at home
and better.

We definitely could have overlooked the nightlife short coming, had the end to what could have been an awesome weekend, not blemish the entire experience. As I had treated my husband to this retreat I was taking care of the bill, when I went to check out and clear the balance, it all went downhill. The summary provided in the invoice is just total numbers and you almost have to keep track of everything manually/remember, the info is not itemized by type of purchase, rather where it was purchased; which is fine, but they need to make it easier to understand. I was asking about how the breakdown for the golf package worked out, how my original deposit was applied and finally the charge for our tasting menu...as I was asking for these details, the front counter assistant, took a condescending turn, even laughed at my detailed requirements -- it goes without saying, this was inappropriate, rude and blatantly ignorant -- the bill had come to $2500 for two nights, there is no conceivable reason, why I should not want to understand the details...I was offended, as the laughter, could only be ridicule of my request; I should preface, I am a visible minority and my husband and I are pretty young looking (early 30's), so, it's with difficulty that I forced myself to believe that these factors did not play in his attitude. When I made my feeling of insult at his behaviour clear, he checked his behaviour, apologized and mentioned, he could do something to reduce our bill, at this point this was more offencive, as I believe in paying for the services we received, I did not need a discount. I finally paid the bill, the details took 10 minutes to retrieve, but left with a feeling of shame and a blemished weekend that should have not ended so poorly.

I regret to say, that as a young, affluent minority, I will never return.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank The_Singhs_BnD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravenhurst
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
19.3 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
16.4 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#3 of 4 in Port Severn
189 reviews
16.7 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
327 reviews
5.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 10 in Bracebridge
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taboo Muskoka Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taboo Muskoka Resort

Address: 1209 Muskoka Beach Rd | RR 1, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1R1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Gravenhurst
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Price Range: $122 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Taboo Muskoka Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taboo Muskoka Resort is located right on beautiful Lake Muskoka, only 90 minutes north of Toronto. A year-round retreat, Taboo is known for its personalized service, sleek modern accommodations and championship golf. This Muskoka gem is an ideal place to relax and have fun while enjoying dozens of activities ranging from tennis and golf to hiking and biking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Taboo Muskoka Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Taboo
Taboo Hotel Gravenhurst
Taboo Resort Gravenhurst
Taboo Muskoka Resort Gravenhurst, Muskoka District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing