We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay! Exceeded epectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taboo Muskoka Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay! Exceeded epectations”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed in a fourth floor premium room with private balcony perched on the lake. The room looked freshly renovated and was truly stunning - bathroom was huge and the Cabano fixtures made showering a dream. Modern esthetic throughout, great service, fantastic cuisine. Must try the culinary theatre experience - fun and delicious, thanks Brian and Markus. We will be back with the family. Also enjoyed guided kayak tour. Wonderful stay - worth every penny.

Room Tip: Must choose a lake view on fourth floor - premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GelQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne W, Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Greetings GelQuest,
It was our pleasure to exceed your expectations of Taboo Resort. Your thanks have also been passed on to Brian and Markus, our Culinary Theatre chefs. We look forward to welcoming you back with your family soon. And we're sure you'll always find lots of new activities to do here at Taboo.
P.S. Agreed, a great shower head is a definite morning must-have!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    124
    62
    43
    36
See reviews for
108
188
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The hotel is nice BUT it is the people that make the experience 
Garry (Bell boy)-tending to our needs when we first arrived and changed my Uncles flat tire

Pat (server)–introduced our table to the sous chef so we could be assisted in finalizing our wedding selection

The Boat Ride & Canoe Tour Girls– where very informative about the wildlife & surrounding areas

Pat & Nordine (reception servers)- gave special attention to my 2 cousins (both mothers) as they were unable to move around with the children. Both made sure they had enough Hors o'devours & drinks (even for the children)

Nordine (bartender)- was very friendly and polite. After ordering my drink twice I never had to tell her how I liked it again

Mary & Kelly (brunch servers)– where very attentive to the needs of a friend and my dietary and were able to find me gift wrapping supplies

Chris (bell boy)- impressed both my mother and aunt with his the manner in which he assisted them and his courteousness

Spencer (front desk)- from when I first arrived, to when I lost my card, and then needed help he was always willing to help or give directions

Room Tip: Go for any of the lakeview rooms...if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Formerly the Muskoka Sands, the Taboo has been refurbished and updated. When we arrived they upgraded us to a Platinum Suite - 2 bedrooms, kitchenette, fireplace, flat screen TV, large bathroom, balcony overlooking lake. Food delicious in both the Lounge and dining room. Service was excellent. Lots of activities to keep one busy if you don't like relaxing in your room.

Room Tip: Try to get a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne W, Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hello Janet G,
Thank you for taking the time to post about Taboo Resort and our all-new, 5,000 sq. ft. Spa Taboo. We're very glad to read you enjoyed your suite upgrade, dining and spa time. And we do hope you will return again to try even more of Taboo's unique year-round activities. We appreciate your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

A spectacular setting, great rooms, and everything that could be thought of to make it a great stay was terrific. However, the execution of everything was very poor. We booked stand up paddle board lessons which they outsource and the company they outsourced to lost our reservation and didn't have an instructor. We booked a wine tasting, received a confirmation and it was never set up, we called to order breakfast got an answering machine left our order, checked on it 15 minutes later to learn that they don't listen to their messages then they delivered an order for 1 instead of 2. Booked a 3pm pontoon boat but when everything else we booked was going wrong we decided to ask - turns out the pontoon boat goes at 11 not 3. Whoever designed the hotel and set up events was great but they just can't execute on the ideas.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCormick, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We chose Taboo because it offered a golf course and a Spa in addition to a beach and pools. We stayed four nights in one of the premier lakefront rooms on the fourth floor. When we opened the door, the view took our breaths away! We loved the tiny balcony and used it often, usually wearing our Taboo bathrobes.

The room has been renovated and is spacious. Ours was lacking any seating except a desk chair and the bed, which was disappointing. We used the gas fireplace one evening, even though it was July, and enjoyed it.

The golf course and spa were fantastic and both staffs were friendly.

The availability at no extra charge for canoes and kayaks added to the experience. We are retired and they helped us into the kayaks, after we told them we were first timers. There is no pressure to return in any time period, which meant exploring for hours on an incredible lake.

We were shocked to see they gave you a card at check in so you can get ONE towel to use at the pool, beach etc. if you do not turn your towel in and get your ticket back, you pay $10 at check out. Tacky, Tacky!

This resort has the BEST eating experiences we've ever had. It is very pricey, but we highly recommend it. They call it their Culinary Theatre. It takes about three hours and you talk with the chefs as they prepare the six outstanding courses. It is quite an experience, we are still sharing our photos of the dishes.

What blew our minds was that a resort that offers something so high end has nothing else to offer in the way of food that was acceptable to us. Elements offers a wonderful menu but it is expensive and we were turned off by flip flops, short shorts, etc we saw enter. Their Boat House was awful. We went for breakfast, was told they had a buffet for $24.95. To be honest, we have had better at hotels for free. There were no stations, eggs were dry, service was poor and they were playing Hip-Hop music to boot! We tried dinner there, and it was no better. For the rest of our stay we simply drove to restaurants in the area or ate at the wonderful festivals in the area.

The lake is gorgeous and the pictures of the sunsets are evidence of the beauty in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne W, Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Hello Barb S,

Wonderful to read how much you enjoyed our top-ranked golf course, the all-new Spa Taboo and Taboo Resort's glorious Lake Muskoka views. Also delighted you had a chance to enjoy our "outstanding" interactive Culinary Theatre - and thanks for sharing those dinner photos with friends.

The card exchange programme is to help ensure towels aren't left all over the waterfront, pools and public areas. But we'll definitely consider your thoughts about that, the resort casual dress code in dining areas and our breakfast offerings.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your Taboo review with TripAdvisor readers, and we hope you'll make the return trip from SC sometime in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I checked in around noon of July 30 and was greeted by a friendly bellman who opened the door and directed me where I can park. I was then greeted by a front desk person who needed some help from her supervisor / manager. I am okay with pple in training and computers do have glitches. So I waited.

The manager (I believe his name was Barry from his tag), didn't smile, didn't say HI, nothing, came and did his thing on the computer (in a very angry mood) as if I caused a problem for him or disrupted his morning. I said HI but no reply from the manager.

It was a terrible checkin experience for a luxury resort. Worst than a ONE star hotel. With this kind of service, Taboo Resort does not deserve to be ranked a luxury resort charging top dollars. The location, facilities and general staff are great. But the checkin (esp the manager, who is supposed to set an example) just ruined a 'what could have been' a pretty good stay. People who are generally angry (or seem to hate his job) should not be in the business of hospitality and pass on the anger to the hotel guests. This will ruin the investments of the owner and operators of a fine resort.

If the drive wasn't so far, i would have left and picked another resort/ hotel.

Room Tip: Tip for Hotel Operator. Fix your pple. The bad front desk service will ruin your resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We went to Taboo for a last minute long weekend. Unfortunately, the day we arrived I sprained my ankle by stepping into an uncovered drain pipe on the stairs down to the water. After informing staff, they promptly responded by driving me back to my room and giving me ice. I informed the manager of the safety hazard and he apologized and stated he would correct it immediately but did not offer any type of even minor compensation. I didn't request it but it seemed a little odd since my injury could have been prevented through better maintenance of the grounds.
While we were there, we used the canoes and kayaks which were great. My boyfriend played tennis and took a lesson which was also fantastic. The swimming area is extremely shallow (not even knee deep) so that was a bit disappointing for us but would be good if you had young children. The pool areas are extremely small and were also quite cold. We stayed in a platinum suite which was nice and had all the amenities you would need to make your own breakfast. Elements was fantastic ( although the service left something to be desired) and the boathouse was alright but very expensive for what it is. The chicken sandwich is definitely the best item on the menu at boathouse. Avoid the swordfish- tasteless and dry.

Overall, a good stay but nothing outstanding that would make me want to rush back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MolAndMik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne W, Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Greetings MolandMik,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review of Taboo Resort. We really value the feedback and also wanted to check that your ankle is now fully better. The waterfront maintenance concern was looked into straight away and your dining reviews have already been circulated to our Food & Beverage team.

We were pleased to read your boyfriend enjoyed his lesson with Tony, our tennis pro, and that you were also able to enjoy Taboo's complimentary canoes and kayaks. I do hope you will consider returning to our Lake Muskoka retreat sometime in the future, so that we can provide a completely seamless short and sweet getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravenhurst
3.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
19.3 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
16.7 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 10 in Bracebridge
103 reviews
20.3 mi away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#3 of 4 in Port Severn
164 reviews
16.4 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taboo Muskoka Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taboo Muskoka Resort

Property: Taboo Muskoka Resort
Address: 1209 Muskoka Beach Rd | RR 1, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1R1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Gravenhurst
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Taboo Muskoka Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taboo Muskoka Resort is located right on beautiful Lake Muskoka, only 90 minutes north of Toronto. A year-round retreat, Taboo is known for its personalized service, sleek modern accommodations and championship golf. This Muskoka gem is an ideal place to relax and have fun while enjoying dozens of activities ranging from tennis and golf to hiking and biking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Taboo Muskoka Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Taboo
Taboo Hotel Gravenhurst
Taboo Resort Gravenhurst
Taboo Muskoka Resort Gravenhurst, Muskoka District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing