We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Oasis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taboo Muskoka Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taboo Muskoka Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Parry Sound, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I recently took a 3-night trip to Taboo Resort in Gravenhurst. We were just looking for somewhere peaceful for a getaway that had a spa and some amenities to aid in our relaxation; what a find! This was our first stay but it most certainly will not be our last. The spa, which I gather was recently completely re-done, was fabulous. My wife raved about her experience there. The resort itself was clean, the staff we attentive and the food and wine were first-class. We had a room facing the Lake with a king bed that was quite comfortable and left us wanting for nothing more. Even the town of Gravenhurst was quite nice for an afternoon outing. We thoroughly recommend Taboo for any couple looking for a quiet, tranquil retreat.

Room Tip: Get a lake front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannis P, General Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Matt
I am so happy to hear that we were your choice hotel for a quick getaway and that we have exceeded your expectations. The spa was recently redone last spring and we are glad to hear that your wife was able to take advantage of some of the services we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Thank you
Yannis Paravalos
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    124
    62
    43
    36
See reviews for
108
188
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Visited this place with my girlfriend in the summer and the amenities were fantastic, and on par with other 4-5 star resorts in the province. The natural Muskoka beauty surrounding the resort makes it a very romantic destination. We can't wait to return this coming summer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle_7751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannis P, General Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Kyle
We are thrilled that you enjoyed yourselves so much and that you plan on re-visiting next summer. We are currently expanding our recreation program, so that there will be even more to do next time you visit. Thanks for sharing and see you soon!
Yannis Paravalos
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I surprised my husband for his birthday and took him for a one-night getaway at Taboo. Getting away just the two of us is a rarity and Taboo Resort certainly did not disappoint!! Before we even got there the resort was doing what it could to accommodate us by allowing us an early check in. When we got there, we found all the staff super-friendly and helpful and very down-to-earth. I also have to say how incredibly clean everything was - and its hard to keep things clean in the winter with all the sludge and salt that gets trekked in! Our room ( Premier Lakefront #431) was AMAZING! Big, clean, and a beautiful view of Lake Muskoka. The fireplace was definitely a nice touch and I wanted to transplant the bathroom to my own house! I also have to say that the bed was one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in! They also had a nice card waiting in our room for my husband wishing him a happy birthday - which I thought was a really nice touch.
The trails and grounds were also very well maintained and the resort also offered free snowshoeing and cross-country skis (although we never ended up taking advantage of these).
We also asked for a later check-out time and there wasn't a problem there either.
The only negative I can say about our experience there was that the food was less than stellar at the Fireside Pub. My meal was luke-warm at best. But, the waitress and the bartender gave excellent service that made up for the sub-par food. When we go back, we will simply try one of the other restaurants and hopefully that will change our mind about their food.
I would not hesitate at all to recommend this resort and we will definitely be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor - the ceilings are nice and high!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vintage2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannis P, General Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Vintage2009
We are glad to hear that your overnight getaway for your husband’s birthday was most enjoyable. I am pleased that our excellent service made up for the warm food in Fireside, however, I can assure you that this is not our typical and do apologize. Thank you again and we appreciate your feedback and candidness.
Thank you
Yannis Paravalos
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I went with another couple to Taboo for New Years and had a wonderful time. The staff were professional and friendly. A special thank you to Ken for being so helpful. The food at dinner and breakfast were excellent. The room was spacious and clean with a lovely view of the lake. Overall a great little getaway.

We were hesitant to book because of some of the negative reviews but decided to anyway when we realized that most of the complaints were from those who were travelling with children. This resort is definitely geared to adults - the obvious clues are that there are no children's menu, no indoor pool, and few children activities. When my children were young, I selected resorts whose target group was families. I did not go to an adult-style facilities and complain. Parents need to do a little research before booking family vacations. As a parent you often need to give up what you want so that your whole family will have a good family experience. Having said this, there were children at the resort and they were treated kindly by staff. If you have a wedding to attend, do not worry about bringing your children. Your family will be welcome. There was a little boy who was dancing up a storm at the New Year's Eve party and he seemed to be having a great time.

This is an excellent adult resort and would recommended it for couples, golfers, girls-getaway weekends, etc. We plan on returning in the summer so we can golf.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toronto_ontario_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannis P, General Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you so much for the 5 star review! We are thrilled that you had a great New Year’s Eve and hope to make it even bigger and better next year. We’ll be sure to pass along your special thanks to Ken our Guest Services Manager. We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer months when you can enjoy and lakefront activities and fantastic golf.
Thanks Again,
Yannis Paravalos
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Trip Advisor
We went to Taboo Resort mainly for dinner to to celebrate an anniversary and had a wonderful time. We enjoyed a superb meal and had an equally delicious breakfast the following morning. This is a kitchen that is innovative and allows guests to enjoy dishes they would be unlikely to make for themselves.
Our room overlooked the lake and although it was very cold the night we stayed, we felt very cozy and comfortable beside our own fireplace. We would have liked a second chair but otherwise the room was perfect.
The staff were friendly and enthusiastic and each one congratulated us on this special occasion.
We would definitely recommend everything about the Resort.

Room Tip: If there is a room overlooking the lake, the view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannis P, General Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Mary,
First off, congratulations again and thank you for the great review. Our Executive Chef definitely puts in great efforts to stand out and provide guests a culinary experience that they would not normally have elsewhere. Buying locally and ongoing training for his staff contribute to the amazing dishes created.
We are looking in to adding a second chair to some of the rooms and appreciate your candidness. We hope that you will come back again, maybe for the next anniversary?!
All the best for 2013,
Yannis Paravalos
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I were in Muskoka for the weekend and came to Taboo to celebrate New Years with friends of ours. The service, food and ambiance were ideal. The restaurant Elements was full, but wasn't overly loud. The layout and design of the restaurant made it easy to talk with our friends without getting drowned out by other guests. The staff were extremely attentive. Our water glasses were always full. The flow of the various courses for New Years was great and we never felt like we were waiting for the next course or looking for our server. I ordered Sea Bass as a main course and it was delicious. Highly recommend it. Sommelier was highly knowledgeable and matched our meal with a delicious red (Henschke Mount Edelstone Vineyard Shiraz 2005, Keyneton, Eden Valley, South Australia) - also highly recommend it.

There was a party in the boathouse, with champagne and the usual New Years goodies. Music was a good mix of oldies and Top 40. Picture attached.

Also we had a chance while there to check out the just opened new spa facilities. The new spa is where the hotel used to have an indoor pool. The area is so much better as a spa. High ceilings. Very modern and yet very cozy feel. Look forward to coming back with my girlfriend and trying this out. Looks to be a great destination to relax and recharge.

Glad we came and will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannis P, General Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Marlon
Thank you for the fabulous review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your New Year’s dinner in Elements and that you found the restaurant comfortable and inviting. It is our goal to exceed our guests’ expectations and so to hear that you were well attended to is fantastic.
We are currently working on adding a water feature into the spa to complement the ambiance and relaxing atmosphere and so we look forward to welcoming you and your girlfriend back in the future.
Yannis Paravalos
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

GREAT THEME WEEKEND
My friend and I booked this theme weekend on a whim - we needed a weekend away to recharge our batteries and it was my friends birthday. Once booked I read the trip advisor reviews and thought "oh dear" this does not look good, however so happy to report the weekend exceeded all expectations. The room was beautiful, huge, great views and wonderful bathroom. For Saturday morning we had booked a spa treatment - fantastic the new state of the art spa is beautiful, the extra treats, granola bars and mango chips wonderful and the fact we didn't feel rushed to leave after our treatment was a real bonus. Next came the cooking class - what fun, thank you Trish and Andrew, we certainly did not expect to get a full meal. This was followed by the wine tasting again, lots and lots of laughter. More alcohol followed in the form of a champagne reception ....and more food !!!!
Sunday morning had us out early for a beautiful walk, (mother nature helped - thank you for the 15 degree weather) followed by a boot camp or yoga. MORE FOOD - smoothies and granola bars before we packed up to head home. All in all great value for money, a great weekend, and a beautiful friendly resort that I will be visiting again.

Thank you Taboo I will be back, especially if you offer another girls weekend away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravenhurst
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
19.3 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
16.8 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#3 of 4 in Port Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 10 in Bracebridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hart of Muskoka
Hart of Muskoka
#5 of 8 in Gravenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taboo Muskoka Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taboo Muskoka Resort

Property: Taboo Muskoka Resort
Address: 1209 Muskoka Beach Rd | RR 1, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1R1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Gravenhurst
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Taboo Muskoka Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taboo Muskoka Resort is located right on beautiful Lake Muskoka, only 90 minutes north of Toronto. A year-round retreat, Taboo is known for its personalized service, sleek modern accommodations and championship golf. This Muskoka gem is an ideal place to relax and have fun while enjoying dozens of activities ranging from tennis and golf to hiking and biking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Resort Taboo
Taboo Hotel Gravenhurst
Taboo Resort Gravenhurst
Taboo Muskoka Resort Gravenhurst, Muskoka District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing