We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Grounds, Excellent staff!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gravenhurst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taboo Muskoka Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Gravenhurst
ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Grounds, Excellent staff!”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We went there in July and found the grounds to be beautiful. I had mentioned on the phone that this was a "Birthday Celebration" and found a nice card with a sachel of chocoloates on the bed. A very nice touch! The beds were very comfortable and the room clean.

The food was very good, but pricey. We went to play ping pong and the rec center was closing. The recreation lady said no problem - she just would contact security to lock up when we leave. Very accomidating! All in all - a nice place with an excellent staff who know how to treat guests well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank screenOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    124
    63
    43
    37
See reviews for
109
189
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Our hotel room was large and the beds were very comfortable. There are three outdoor pools and since we went during the week, we almost always had a pool to ourselves, which was nice. The only disappointment (but it's a huge one) was the lake. The beach area is in a swampy little bay. The water is only thigh deep for at least half a kilometer out, and by the time you wade far enough into the lake to swim you're in the path of boats. The worst part though was the white spongy foam that floated around on the surface of the lake. It looked dirty and entirely unappealing. The reason we go north is to swim in lakes, but we spent most of the time swimming in pools. We didn't golf, but I expect that golf is the main attraction of the resort.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MICHELLE575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I stayed at this hotel in the fall for a business conference. I loved it. However, there are a variety of rooms. I was in a two level room that was too big for one person but great for a large family. Some of my friends were in lovely renovated rooms that had hardwood floors. That is the type of room you should ask for.

The workout room was average, not great. The food was really good in the restaurant. There is hiking, which was beautiful with the fall colours and gold nearby. The service was good and valet parking is offered.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We had heard so many great things about this resort and sadly our expectations were not met. A group of us had made the trip to the resort for a wedding and we all felt as though we were staying at a camp for children. We were reprimanded by hotel staff on a number occasions. We do have to thank some of the staff who did demonstrate customer service skills, specifically the staff at the front desk and door.
The rooms, outdated and the bathroom not clean...walking into a shower with hair on the wall is sure sign that is had not been cleaned.
The location is great and it is a shame that the service was not up to par with the rates that they charge. We would have been better off renting a cottage for the weekend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashley3111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The trick to a great time at this resort is to 1. book ahead to get a deal 2. Pay for the premium room - the renovated rooms are slick the older ones are drab and UGLY 3. Go during the week - Not only can you score a great rate the resort it is not packed, nor is the town. we stayed Tues to Sat. I was shocked how many peple were piling in Friday throughout the day and evening. Then on the drive home in town waiting for 25 minutes to get a coffee. No thanks.

Room Tip: make sure it is a premium renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwwtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed for a family reunion this weekend, and at first, were thrilled with our choice. The rooms were nice, the beds were comfortable, and the view was spectacular.

Then we made the misfortune of deciding to eat at the Boathouse Restaurant our first night. We arrived at 6:35, early for a 6:45 reservation - 3 families with children. We were seated immediately, with a number of other families we knew. We ordered food for the children, and drinks all around. We then ordered dinner for the adults. Forty-five minutes later, the children - all under 10 - still had not been fed, and were getting quite rowdy. Finally, their hamburgers arrived, and were half cooked. We sent some of them back to be cooked further, as they were inedible, and the restaurant removed them from our bill. The youngest, a one year old - had pasta that arrived more than an hour and a half after it was ordered - requiring a number of prompts to the staff, as it had clearly been completely forgotten.

We actually had a lovely server, who apologized a number of times for the fact that the food was so late, and the kitchen was so backed up, and her staff were new. Despite all these issues, we gave her a 20% tip, because it wasn't her fault. They clearly were not equipped to deal with a restaurant that was merely half full at the time.

At 8:15, an hour and a half later, the adults were finally served their meals - but still some of the food was missing. A few more prompts, nicely delivered, and finally our meals arrived as ordered. By the time we left, it was past 9 o'clock. At no point were we told our children were too rowdy (even though we admit that given the elapsed time, the numerous issues with the length and quality of the food served, and the late hour, they were understandably agitated). To wrap it all up, the food was mediocre at best.

The next day, when we came back for lunch (as there are limited facilities at the resort to eat), we were told they could not accommodate us, period. We were also told off, in front of other guests, for a good 5 minutes. Please remember that at no time the evening before had anyone approached us to let us know or warn us that our children were behaving unacceptably. We were also told that our children had caused a number of accidents, running into staff. Later, we found out that this was not, in fact, our children, but those of a friend of ours - again, both under 10, and one of whom has downs syndrome.

So far, excellent track record - dismal service, mediocre food, anti-family friendly atmosphere - especially to people with small children, and not terribly accommodating towards people with disabilities! To make matters worse, when we complained about this to management, they were completely unapologetic and dismissive. Too bad for them that, as a result of reviews like this, poor customer service moments travel much faster and to a much broader audience than ever before. They can rest assured that 3 families will tell all of their friends and family about their terrible experience at Taboo, which may or may not matter to them, but if people read enough of these reviews (and there are a number of negative ones posted on this site regarding Taboo), they may find that their business starts to go down the drain. As an aside, they may also want to decide what they want to be: an exclusive adult resort, or a family resort - because while the 2 can and sometimes do coincide, they are often at polar opposites of the spectrum. [Of note is the fact that, as a reviewer, I have travelled extensively (most recently with small children in tow), and often post glowing reviews of terrific customer service that I receive in restaurants, hotels and resorts across North America and the Caribbean - so there's some added context for you.]

So if you'd like to be treated dismally, and experience mediocre food in a lovely atmosphere, be my guest and give it a whirl. By the way, the pools are so small, and poorly situated that you might as well be at the Holiday Inn near any major airport.

P.S. We then left the resort for all remaining meals, and ate at Regatta, a restaurant at the Gravenhurst wharf. The food there was delicious, it arrived fairly quickly, and the service was lovely and accommodating. We gave the waitresses there huge tips, as we were so relieved to get decent food and service!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Di2442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

When Taboo Resort underwent major renovations 10 years back, it was spectacular. What impressed us the most was the luxurious feel of the beautiful FRETTE bed linen in the room. We simply did not want to get out of bed. I have never seen finer linen than FRETTE.

To celebrate our 10th anniversary, we decided to recreate the magic. Ouch...........quite run down now - and where to they get their linen from? A sweat shop??? Please please management, bring back FRETTE to your property.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timaccen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravenhurst
3.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
19.3 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
16.7 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
#20 of 55 in Muskoka District
238 reviews
16.4 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 10 in Bracebridge
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taboo Muskoka Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taboo Muskoka Resort

Property: Taboo Muskoka Resort
Address: 1209 Muskoka Beach Rd | RR 1, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1R1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Gravenhurst
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Taboo Muskoka Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taboo Muskoka Resort is located right on beautiful Lake Muskoka, only 90 minutes north of Toronto. A year-round retreat, Taboo is known for its personalized service, sleek modern accommodations and championship golf. This Muskoka gem is an ideal place to relax and have fun while enjoying dozens of activities ranging from tennis and golf to hiking and biking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Resort Taboo
Taboo Hotel Gravenhurst
Taboo Resort Gravenhurst
Taboo Muskoka Resort Gravenhurst, Muskoka District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing