We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice motel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hart of Muskoka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hart of Muskoka
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Nice motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here one night on the labour day weekend. It's an upscale motel. Clean and nice rooms; basic breakfast included. There is some road noise from the highway even though its well set back from it; so sensitive sleepers may want to use earplugs.

I'd stay here again. Good choice if you're having fun elsewhere in Muskoka and just want somewhere decent to crash.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Praxus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    13
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our recent stay in this completely renovated motel was a very pleasant experience. Rooms are all a little different to suit your specific needs, and are completely spotless. The breakfast/coffee room is a nice feature. Hosts Kelly and Dana went out of their way to ensure that our stay at Hart of Muskoka was first rate.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JW401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Booked the room and drove up for 1 night to go to Peters Players. Kelly booked us into our rooms. Spotless, modern and enjoyable. We used the grounds for our picnic and met Dana. The place was perfect for us. Nice little breakfast,coffee room. It took the edge off in the morning. Rooms are all a little different to accomindate your needs. Kelly and Dana are very gracious host and will try to look after your needs when you are there.

Room Tip: all good rooms they are all different to meet your needs. not a bad room in the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deadly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterdown
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

My wife and I were looking for a new place to stay when our usual spot closed 3 years ago. My wife spent some time researching the possibilities and we finally decided to give the Hart’s Country Inn a try. We have been going there ever since and thoroughly enjoy it. The rooms have now all been renovated. They are modern, very nicely decorated and well appointed and extremely clean. Something you’d expect in a newer higher priced room. I always tell my friends it’s like a room at the Hilton. All the rooms have new heater/air conditioning units and they have a selection of rooms with fridges, microwaves etc. Just ask or visit their website. Did I mention the comfy beds? The snowmobile trail D runs through the back of their yard and is easily accessible through a very short trail that’s maintained by the owners Kelly and Danna. We like the “old style” drive up rooms; you can park your sled right in front of your room. There is also ample parking for your car or truck and trailer in a large parking lot on the side of the owner’s house which is maintained and cleared of snow by the owners. Another thing we like about this place is that it’s out of the way and very quiet. The hotel is situated about half way between Gravenhurst and Bracebridge. It’s an easy ride on the sleds or in the car to a large number of restaurants for every taste and every budget. There are also a number of restaurants that will deliver right to your room if your too tired or don’t feel like going out. You also have access to a propane BBQ that you can bring to the front of your room. For breakfast we usually have the included continental breakfast in the breakfast room. You can get a great cup of coffee since they use a Keurig single cup coffee maker. They have a large selection of coffees, tea and hot chocolate. You can also choose from a good selection of cereals and breads, bagels, muffins etc with peanut butter, jam etc. The owners and their young family are all very friendly and helpful with whatever you may need. They are pet friendly which is very important for us since we always travel with our small dog.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holguineros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

This place is disgusting and a total rip off. The pool was green with algae, there was garbage on the floor and is located right behind storage sheds.

I would rather stay in a tent on a highway.

Please go look at it first.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MorganCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HartsCountryInn, Owner at Hart of Muskoka, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
As the owner of this establishment we appreciate any and all reviews of our guests. However, this person who wrote the review was never a guest at our Inn nor saw the room or pool.

They did however have the unfortunate experience of not reviewing our cancellation policy and thought that they should be able to cancel an hour after check in once they established accommodation at their parents cottage.

When they found out that they could not get their money refunded they chose to take this avenue to dispute their frustrations in a very unfair and deceitful way. We did in the end refund their full amount and still they were not happy and so therefore this review was left.

As you can see from the reviews below we are listed as #2 out of all motels in Gravenhurst and that is because we have worked very hard since we purchased the property to completely renovate the Inn and the pool and we are very proud of what we have accomplished. Our guests who have taken the time to review us once they have stayed here have returned time and again and have made us their favourite holiday getaway.

It is unfortunate that these things have to happen, however, we hope that our future and returning guests will be able to look beyond this and understand that this type of review and circumstance happens and that we continually work at making your stay a great one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Very clean hote and the owners were very friendly and helpful. Good price. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: very comfortable and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LorraineOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

The Hart Country Inn is great place for a stop over on a long trip. Initially not particularly pretty from the road, this is much more of a motel than an inn but once this expectation is set you will be happy to find that the place is very clean and the rooms nicely appointed if not overly large. Breakfast is included in the room rate and is self service with a selection of cereals toast, bagels and juice. Nothing fancy but the coffee is good and everything was clean and fresh. There is very small pool which we did not use and there is a back yard where kids can run around in. This is the perfect place for a single night stopover where you may be travel weary and need a clean safe place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CSNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravenhurst
6.3 mi away
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
20.2 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
18.3 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 10 in Bracebridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.8 mi away
Skyways Motel
Skyways Motel
#7 of 8 in Gravenhurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
6.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Gravenhurst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hart of Muskoka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hart of Muskoka

Property: Hart of Muskoka
Address: 1703 Winhara Rd, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1R1, Canada (Formerly Hart's Country Inn)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Gravenhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you like to see the sights or just relax, Hart’s Country Inn offers quiet, clean and newly decorated accommodations in a country setting.With all our rooms we provide complimentary WI-FI internet access and continental breakfast. So whether you are in Muskoka for pleasure, work or both we have you covered. Comfort, value and a sense of traditional Muskoka charm are the elements we strive to provide in all we do ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hart of Muskoka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hart Of Muskoka Gravenhurst, Muskoka District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing