We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but some lake view rooms have bad view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in April, the lake was still frozen. We requested lake view room on the top floor. When we got to the room, it was not on the top floor and the view was...well, we saw the wall of another room next door and then when we got out on the balcony we some some lake. We didn't like it so we asked for another room and this time we got a room on the top floor with a lake view. Be aware that some rooms considered lake view have a really bad, partial view and some face the parking lot at the front of the hotel and the lake is there but you are looking at the lake through a big parking lot. The best side of the hotel is the one overlooking the restaurants by the water (Boston Pizza).

We enjoyed the balcony. It wasn't hot but we could wear a jacket and sit outside with a cup of coffee. It makes a difference when you can open a window and a door and step outside. Nice chairs on the balcony.

The area is very nice, quiet and safe. All restaurants are short walking distance, there is a nice boardwalk all the way from the hotel to the restaurants. The town is small and there is not much to do when it comes to shopping, we couldn't find a coffee shop downtown that was open. Maybe it is different during the summer season when the steamship is open for tourists and more people come to Gravenhurst.

We enjoyed the hotel pool. There was also a small gym. Breakfast and parking are included which is nice. Rooms have very elegant full kitchens, great for longer stays or of you want to prepare your own meals. Hotel offers grocery delivery to your room.

Would like to return when the lake is no longer frozen and more local businesses are open.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room not overlooking the parking lot. Top floors have better view. There are som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pola-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 641 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

Wow-what a great hotel. Newer hotel with amazing rooms, including a kitchen, sitting area and tons of space. Everything looked like new and was spotless. They have complimantary food and beverages 6-8 p.m. and a great breakfast. The location is great just by the wharf and during the winter you can walk across the ice to Boston Pizza or Dock of the Bay. The fitness room was well appointed and the pool looked very nice with windows all around and a hot tub. I would highly recommend staying here and would stay again without hesitation. Also had a little balcony, even though I opted for the non-lake view room, which is a premium. Just a great stay, and I can imagine it must be jammed in the Summer. Only minor wrinkle was that when I checked online their own website listed $123 as the CAA rate, but when I checked in they were charging $145....double checked online, and advised the front desk and they called central reservations to confirm the $123 was correct.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adamscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shan_wickremasinghe, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind feedback and appreciate your loyalty - I have look into the CAA/AAA rates situation and have reviewed opportunities for improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stopped here for a stay with my brother after sledding the entire day. Very comfortable room. Surprised to see a full kitchen. Crossed the ice on foot to have dinner at the close by Boston pizza. Quiet, great view, and friendly staff. Breakfast was great. Ate our fill before heading back out on the trails. Definitely going to come back. Even got a cheaper snowmobiling rate. Big plus in my opinion.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uvytxtvinin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Loved this hotel, very clean, awesome staff, beauty view !! Kitchen is a great touch ( needs bigger burners on the stove). We stayed for 2 nights for a snowmobile charity ride and will be back next year again with more ppl ! I would reccomend it for sure without a doubt ! Beds are super comfy as well :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleotucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Having heard about Gravenhurst's winter carnival, we wandered off to give it a try. Very fun! And this hotel was fantastic! From the moment we walked in, the atmosphere was warm and inviting. The staff are top grade! I tend to forget names and descriptions of people quickly unitl I get to know people better, so although I forget her name, the yound blondish woman on the front desk Friday Feb 22 evening is a gem: KEEP her Marriott!! But all the staff we encountered were lovely...those serving breakfast, the maintenance fellow, and cleaning staff not afraid to show some personality and humor (works for me!!). Comfortable bed - I had a cold for one week prior and was not sleeping well, but slept like a baby here. Had a one bedroom and even with the door open to the living room/kitchen could not hear anything from other rooms. The fire places are a nice touch. It really is a place that gives that home away from home comfort. The indoor pool is just a touch cold, but then again it is winter and you do get used to the water quickly. The hot tub balances it out afterward. Marrriott tends to get it right - they got it VERY right with this one!

Room Tip: Others have commented that one should get a lake view room. We had a room with 'no view' wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChingghisDoowah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shan_wickremasinghe, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with you. We hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have a non-winterized cottage nearby and chose to stay here instead of 'roughing' it for a snow-shoeing adventure weekend - what a great spot!
NOTE: I appreciate integrity and authenticity in trip advisor reviews as they've informed my choices in a very positive way for many trips, and I seek to deliver the same, i.e., I don't 'gush or diss' unnecessarily, and try to elaborate on things that I perceive have fairly 'universal' importance to guests

This property is outstanding for the money, and has an obvious service strategy that its employees have bought into. I am a service guru and teach the delivery of 'knock-your-socks-off' service - and it still felt great to hear, "have you stayed with us before" (No) "Well, you're in for a real treat!". Everyone was thoroughly friendly and helpful.

1) The room: (ours was a standard)

-super comfortable king bed
-attractively furnished
-comfortable easy chair and sofa (also happens to be a pull out, making this suite fine for a family of 2 adults and 2 children)
-well appointed kitchenette with a small dishwasher - points on!
-comfortable dining chairs and table
-good 'working' desk with excellent desk chair - perfect for someone who needs to work in the room, is on a business trip, etc.
-roomy bathroom with separated sink/closet area from toilet/shower area
-patio (or balcony on the upper floors) with 2 Muskoka easy chairs

Service/Amenities
-breakfast buffet is included, and more than adequate - a surprise from what's on offer, at say, a Holiday Inn express - fresh fruit, porridge, bagels, pastries, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, juice and an array of cereals and do-it-yourself waffles with fruit toppings. Excellent value, even if it's paper plates and disposable cutlery
-a nice indoor pool - great for entertaining kids if the weather doesn't allow much 'outside' time
-small gym with fairly current equipment
-no-charge grocery shopping and delivery! Wow! We didn't use this but thought the offer was fabulous - drop a list off in the morning and the groceries are delivered to your room that night.

Location
-close to restaurants at the wharf - Dock on the Bay, Boston Pizza, (best ones in my opinion are the Wolff's Den and the Willow Tea Room)
-close to events and, in the summer, the weekly farmers' market hosted at the wharf
-offers variety - boat rentals and activities, and Muskoka Lakes cruises are steps away
-wild blueberries and ice cream stand across the road in the summer time at "Muskoka Traditions"

Room Tip: Try and get a lakeside view, especially if there in the summer. Standard suite is fine for a couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewsview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Superb hotel in a superb location.

Our room was very clean with gas fire and balcony with stunning views over the frozen lake.

Great kitchen included in the room for those on an extended stay. The sofa bed was easy to pull out.

Breakfast was OK but nothing special. Still set us up nicely for the day.

The pool and hot tub were clean and again, a great way to start the day.

Staff friendly.

Room Tip: A lakeside view is great. The sun comes over the heading in the morning and it's a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tullsmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravenhurst
21.1 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
8.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 10 in Bracebridge
115 reviews
18.1 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Gravenhurst
18.0 mi away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#3 of 4 in Port Severn
191 reviews
18.2 mi away
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf

Address: 285 Steamship Bay Rd, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1Z9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Gravenhurst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Price Range: $131 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf is the newest of Muskoka hotels and is situated on the shores of beautiful Lake Muskoka. Our Gravenhurst hotel's location is perfect for business and leisure travel, offering proximity to Muskoka's most iconic destinations and attractions. When you stay at Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka, you have Lake Muskoka's sea adventures, Muskoka shopping and dining, and beautiful Muskoka Wharf at your availability. You also have easy access to nearby Muskoka Boat & Heritage Center, Hardy Lake's hiking trails, Santa's Village, Muskoka Bay Club golfing, and more. Our all-suite hotel in Muskoka provides complimentary breakfast, high-speed Internet access, and pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf Hotel Gravenhurst
Residence Inn By Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf Muskoka District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing