We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“RMS Segwun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Muskoka Steamships

Muskoka Steamships
Ranked #1 of 30 things to do in Gravenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Nothing says Muskoka like discovery. Hop aboard the amazing Royal Mail Ship Segwun, North America’s oldest operating steamship, or take a trip on Wenonah II with all its modern conveniences. Celebrate your wedding, birthday, anniversary, or any other special event with us with the beautiful backdrop of the Muskoka Lakes. It’s the one-of-a-kind way to experience Muskoka!
Victoria Harbou
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“RMS Segwun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

A 2 1/2 hr cruise on the RMS Segwun which is North America's oldest operating hand fired steamship on Lake Muskoka is an excellent way to spend the day. The haunting sound of her steam whistle as she cruises through the many inlets & bays makes you wonder what things must have been like in by gone days. To watch as the engineer & fireman do their duty operating the engines & boilers gives you a very good idea what life on board one of these vessels was like. On top of all that the scenery is second to none. Also included in your ticket is entrance to the Muskoka Boat & Heritage Centre. It has the largest in water collection of beautiful antique wooden boats in North America. This one day trip to the Gravenhurst which is the Gateway to the Muskoka's has a bit of everything, boats, steamships for the gear heads & beautiful scenery and great places to eat for every one else.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    67
    16
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We enjoyed a cruise on the Wenonah II. As we decided to wait to see if it was going to be a nice day before booking a cruise, the seating for both sittings for lunch were booked, however, we were able to go for the sightseeing. It was great, the boat is very quiet and the scenery was wonderful. We were actually glad that we didn't have the lunch as we were able to enjoy the outdoors throughout the whole cruise. The boat also had seating indoors and an elevator for elderly folks who couldn't do the stairs. The dining room looked lovely.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Plenty of alternative cruises available”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We took the 1 hour cruise and it was exactly what we wanted to do to get a flavour of the lake and the wonderful lakeside cottages which are visible from the steamships. There are longer cruises including lunches and there will be a cruise available for everyone. Try to book in advance at this time of year as the fall colours make this time of year extremely busy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
“Amazing time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We really loved our time on the ship. The beauty of the scenery and the whole experience was fantastic. The crew and everyone at Muskoka Steamships was very friendly and happy to help. We'll definitely be back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A beautiful day in Muskoka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

A trip on a beautiful steam ship is 2 hours very well spent . The best way to veiw lake Muskoka with a very well narrated tour. The scenery was stunningly beautiful as were the houses on the islands. Entry to the Muskoka Boat and Heritage Centre is included on the cruise ticket. We thoroughly recommend this trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muskoka Steamships also viewed

 
Gravenhurst, Muskoka District
Bracebridge, Muskoka District
 

Been to Muskoka Steamships? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing