We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful experience”
Review of The Inn on Bay

The Inn on Bay
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn on Bay
Ranked #3 of 10 Gravenhurst B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our last stop on our summer vacation this year was at The Inn on Bay in Gravenhurst. What a wonderful place!! The bed and breakfast is lovely, the hosts are friendly and accommodating, and the food was terrific. John and Suzanne also directed us to William (at "Tour Muskoka Lakes") who provided a beautiful boat cruise. They very much deserve high praise and the great ratings that we and others have given them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
28
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We made our annual trip to The Muskokas and stayed, once again, at The Inn on Bay - our fourth visit. It is a lovely B&B with very nice rooms, great breakfasts, and of course, wonderful hosts. It is situated within walking distance of Muskoka Wharf and the main street of Gravenhurst. Our only regret is that we missed seeing Jen, Tyler and their children but had the pleasure of meeting Susan and John (and Sookie!) this time around. We look forward to returning in 2014! David and Barbara

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King City, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed at the Inn for a couple days in November and it was great! A quiet little weekend away from the city and our hosts were fantastic.. I would send friends and go again myself without hesitation..

Room Tip: The suit with its own semi-private bathroom is likely to be different then you might think off the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JR L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Clean, comfortable and a delicious breakfast. The location is great and very central for exploring any Muskoka lake. The rooms are all spacious, quiet and have their own washrooms. A great spot for anyone looking for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keirvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Midway between Bala and Bracebridge, the Inn on the Bay, Gravenhurst is very well situated for travel in the Muskoka area. We stayed in the Muskoka suite and found it to be very private and comfortable. It has a wonderful, bright, private sun porch and a very comfy king sized bed. The ensuite bathrom boasts a lovely free standing clawfoot bath tub. You have access to tea, coffee, and wonderful home made cookies throughout the day plus the use of a small fridge, microwave, wine and water glasses, plates and cutlery. Breakfast is excellent, served in the former living room of this graceful century home which apparently once belonged to a local lumber baron, Jen is friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. We spoke to another couple who stay at he Inn on the Bay at least once a year. The other suites appeared to be not quite as spacious but equally comfy and clean. Each suite has its own private bathroom but one requires guests to go across the hall. High speed wireless internet is available, free and fast. We loved Inn on the Bay and hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyEarthWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

At the very last minute, I called to make a reservation at the Inn on Bay only to find out that the owners were leaving for the weekend, understandably, as it was the month of July. Instead of being turned around, my partner and I were offered the place up to ourselves for the weekend. The owners rented us the biggest room at the lowest rate since they weren't going to be available for us during our stay however, they had stocked the fridge with loads of fresh fruit and had even prepared the coffee pot for us for the next morning (the little details...).

The place was so charming - the solarium attached to the Muskoka Suite was divine but nothing could top the beautiful clawfoot bathtub in the bathroom.

My only disapointment was not being able to meet the owners.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chantal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed in the Muskoka room (4 adults, one night). The B&B owner (Jen) was extremely helpful and accommodative of our late arrival. The room had a huge bed and plenty of space, with a smaller side-room (a kind of a sun room) with a sofa-bed. The sofa-bed was very comfortable and we got a good night's sleep. The breakfast was great too; and we hope we can come back!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nmkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravenhurst
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Gravenhurst
21.6 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
8.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 10 in Bracebridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
5.2 mi away
Skyways Motel
Skyways Motel
#7 of 8 in Gravenhurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Bay

Property: The Inn on Bay
Address: 291 Bay St, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1H1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Gravenhurst
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Gravenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn On Bay in Gravenhurst offers boutique inn accommodation in the Muskoka region! Enjoy a short walk to the Muskoka wharf, steamship cruises, Heritage Museum, downtown Gravenhurst, Gull Lake & Bethune House. A Georgian-style retreat featuring casual elegance, Muskoka style. Hot breakfast served daily, wireless high speed internet, en-suite bathrooms, guest computer terminal, sunroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Inn on Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Bay Gravenhurst, Muskoka District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing