We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really enjoyed our stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hawley Place Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 8 Ladysmith B&B and Inns
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed our stay!”
Reviewed October 16, 2009

A lovely, well-maintained B&B with wonderful hosts.We really enjoyed our room, breakfast was delicious,and we left there feeling like Rhonda and Ed (owners) were friends! We were given great assistance on what to do & see in the Ladysmith area. These owners really enjoy running a B&B and it shows in their warmth and enthusiasm.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank green033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
33
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
markham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2009

Rhonda and Ed, have a superb bed and breakfast. Rhonda's cooking is to die for. and not to be skipped. The rooms are spacious and very well appointed with a nice sitting area. Bathrooms are new and well laid out.

The house is very pretty, what you would want in a B&B

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubreuil123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2009

We had a wonderful time at Hawley Place B&B. The food was so tasty... not just a great breakfast, but the best Nanaimo bars I've ever had... The beds were so comfortable with the softest sheets and plumpest pillows... And the hosts were just perfect.
It was a wonderful night and we wish we had been able to stay longer. We will return for sure.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatgirl706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MK UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2009

What can I add to the other reviews?

We had only one regret, namely we only stayed one night. Like one of the previous reviewers we were taken by the photograph in a B&B guide.

We were expecting something quirky - it was far from quirky, it was a home from home, but better.

There are only three rooms, each with a different theme. We stayed in the China Rose room. The room was spacious and the bed oh so comfortable - we had a wonderful nights sleep.

The welcome was fantastic and as we unpacked our hosts bought us a very welcome tray with hot tea and biscuits.

When we though it could not get any better we were presented with the most glorious, seemingly never ending, breakfast. All freshly made. So much was on offer, and with fantastic quality, we ended taking a doggy bag with us.

I have mixed feelings strongly recommending this guest house. It is fantastic and if we are in the area again there is no doubt we will stay here - but if word gets out we will never be able to book again as it will always be full.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Leaving it
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BritishTraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2008

I saw this 'Adam's family like house' whilst browsing through accommodation for Ladysmith - fell in love with the look and booked it directly. I stayed in July for two nights with my husband, my sister and her husband, our rooms were beautiful in fact the whole place was a touch of luxury - it was like being back in time in a beautiful part of a house, something out of Sherlock Holmes rather than the Adam's family (thank goodness) . Our hosts were welcoming and friendly and as we were from the UK helped us out with our sightseeing for the days we were there. The four to five course breakfast was excellent, I would definitely stay here again, sorry my review was late - I was looking to book again this year and realised my review was missing.
This B & B is a must - I will be back soon. Thanks.

  • Liked — luxurious
  • Disliked — I would have liked an evening meal
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Caroline0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2008

We've travelled throughout the states and europe and this quaint B& B in the small town of Ladysmith , is by far one of the best B & Bs in North America.. if not worldwide
We had planned to stay for only 2 days in Ladysmith and ended up staying a week . We just felt so comfortable and cosy, We couldnt leave.. The gourmet breakfasts served up by your Hosts
are indescribably delicious . The rooms beds are the most comfortable we've ever slept in .. And the price is so reasonably for the level of service .. I just can't say enough great things about our stay.. at Hawley Place..

  • Liked — Breakfasts and Room Comfort
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Holland123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ladysmith
4.0 mi away
Kiwi Cove Lodge
Kiwi Cove Lodge
#1 of 1 in Ladysmith
81 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
14.4 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Beachside Garden B & B
Beachside Garden B & B
#1 of 8 in Ladysmith
384 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hillcrest Ave Bed & Breakfast
4.6 mi away
Eagle Rock Bed and Breakfast Chemainus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawley Place Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawley Place Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hawley Place Bed and Breakfast
Address: 302 Hawley Pl, Ladysmith, British Columbia V9G 1X9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Ladysmith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ladysmith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawley Place Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME to clean, comfort, luxury in our beautiful Victorian replica home and guest rooms with private en-suites. Close to the ocean, Transfer Beach, Holland Creek hiking trails, shopping, theatre, family and fine dining. Free wifi, complimentary soft drinks and front porch rockers and garden to relax in. Pretty Ladysmith is your central island destination for many day trips taking you south to wineries, Duncan known as city of totems, Chemainus murals, Historic Ladysmith, Cedar and Yellowpoint Artisans, Coombs (Goats on the Roof) and Cathedral Grove (old tree forest). We are part of the Cowichan valley, come stay and explore the best part of the island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hawley Place Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing