We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we were looking for!”
Review of Blanket and Spoon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blanket and Spoon
Ranked #2 of 8 Ladysmith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nanaimo
1 review
“Just what we were looking for!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Blanket and Spoon was just the get-away we were looking for to celebrate our anniversary. Carol and Shayne welcomed us with a glass of wine and tapas, and looked after our every need during our stay. They went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable, and even offered to drive us into Ladysmith for our evening out, and picked us up at the end of the evening.

The food was exceptional, we were particularly impressed with the attention to locally sourced foods and products.

Our room was very cozy and comfortable, beautifully outfitted with a very comfortable bed and luxurious bedding.

The house is beautiful, and the forested property is very relaxing and gives the sense of really getting away from things.

The location was also a great base for our exploration of the Cedar and Yellowpoint area during their annual “Christmas Tour” of local artisans studios and galleries.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebell0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at Blanket and Spoon, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure to meet both of you and we are so happy you chose Blanket and Spoon for your getaway. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
56
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Got the chance to spen one night and was the perfect place to propose to my girlfriend. Carol and Shayne were wonderful hosts, cooking and serving us a delicious meal.

Spent the night in the carriage house and everything was pretty amazing. Including but not limited to the shower room, rustic in style but refined in execution.

We got in a little late after work on Saturday night and had to leave straight away Sunday morning. Carol and Shayne were up after we went to bed and up before us to make sure our breakfast matched the quality of the dinner ( with beer pairings) we had the night before.

Congrats guys, can't wait to share this with friends, family and strangers.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indefenseoffood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at Blanket and Spoon, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We are a new bed and breakfast and can't imagine anything better for "first-booking-karma" than to host a marriage proposal! Thank you so much for your review and we hope to see you back again when you have more time to relax.

Best wishes to both of you in your new life together..very exciting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carleton Place, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This peaceful property is tucked away on a hillside, just outside of Nanaimo on Vancouver Island. The grounds are nicely landscaped and there are walking trails through the lush forest surrounding the house.

We stayed in the main house. The room was cozy, comfortable and very nicely decorated. I have a guy sense of aesthetics, but even I noticed that it was really nice, without being too “foofy”. We also peaked in the carriage house, which looked totally awesome with the hot tub on the deck.

The true highlight of our stay was the wine pairings dinner. If you’re going to stay here, you simply have to do it. I could list a whole bunch of superlatives, but I will simply say that it was the best meal I have ever eaten, period. Everything was homemade, mostly locally sourced, and beautifully prepared and presented, from the beef carpaccio, to the miso marinated black cod. My tongue wants to go here when it dies.

Shayne and Carol are wonderful hosts, interesting, accommodating and helpful without being intrusive. They arranged a tour for us of local wineries that was a great introduction to the little know world of Vancouver Island wines. It’s still mostly a cottage industry on the island, but the quality is every bit the equal of BC’s better known Okanagen wineries.

All in all, a great get away – food for the soul and the body.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at Blanket and Spoon, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words, John. We enjoyed designing the perfect meal for you and Liz. We hope to see you back again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ladysmith
1.4 mi away
Kiwi Cove Lodge
Kiwi Cove Lodge
#1 of 1 in Ladysmith
81 reviews
10.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
10.0 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 19 in Nanaimo
485 reviews
4.7 mi away
Beachside Garden B & B
Beachside Garden B & B
#1 of 8 in Ladysmith
384 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hawley Place Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blanket and Spoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blanket and Spoon

Property: Blanket and Spoon
Address: 4853 Aho Rd, Ladysmith, British Columbia V9G 1G8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Ladysmith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ladysmith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blanket and Spoon 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on Woodley Mountain, Blanket and Spoon is a boutique B&B where breakfast is fresh and locally-grown and accommodations are well-appointed and comfortable. Chef/Owner Shayne Shepherd has managed kitchens at some of Vancouver's finest restaurants and will make your stay memorable and delicious. Two night minimum stay required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blanket and Spoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing