We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast!”

In the Beantime Cafe
Ranked #2 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Ladysmith
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Nanaimo BC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great breakfast place and very popular because it is comfortable and feels like home, with sofas and second-hand books too. The food is good, especially breakfast. Good soups and sandwiches too and home-baked goodies.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KOontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    41
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
254 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“charming coffeshop in ladysmith”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Of course the majority of the shops happened to be closed on Sunday of labor day weekend and that lead me to In the Beantime. Looks can be deceiving as this cafe is much bigger on the inside than what you may think just walking or driving by. There's nice decor on the inside and it seems that you'll find many locals here which is a good indication of loyalty and great products. They had a great assortment of drinks and food at a reasonable price and In the Beantime is a nice alternative to Starbucks when one isn't available.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neets007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Food Good, service needs a tad improving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Been living in Ladysmith for almost 2 years and have frequented In the Beantime a few times. Each time I order the food is very very good. Try the beef dip. I order it minus the horseradishy mayo. Delish! (With salad and house dressing). I find service is meh. Needs improving to make it more memorable. Also, not open late enough in the evenings.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food everytime!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I am a long time resident of Ladysmith and have enjoyed the fabulous home-made style dishes at the Beantime Café since they opened. They have fabulous specials everyday and their portions are substantial; I almost always end up taking half my meal home. They also make great speciality coffees, lattes, etc.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
438 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Excellent for breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Went to this coffee shop for breakfast on the weekend. It has a funky vibe, the Americano and lattes were excellent, and the breakfasts were tasty. We ordered two breakfast muffins, a breakfast burrito, and a breakfast bagel. All were freshly made and very filling. The service was very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YYC_traveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed In the Beantime Cafe also viewed

Ladysmith, Vancouver Island
Ladysmith, Vancouver Island
 
Ladysmith, Vancouver Island
Ladysmith, Vancouver Island
 

Been to In the Beantime Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing