We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hosts; Great House; Great Setting!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachside Garden B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beachside Garden B & B
Ranked #1 of 8 Ladysmith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hosts; Great House; Great Setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife and I were lucky enough to snag a single night at this great place in Ladysmith. Warren and Verna were very warm and welcoming. They have a great place on the water's edge. We were surprised to learn that the water was warm enough to swim in, in August. Breakfast was excellent! We rate this B&B very high.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellorSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We were so lucky to be able to offer you one night stay - wonderful company, great conversations. We couldn't have asked for more. We are happy that you have enjoyed our B&B. Thank you so much for your very kind review. We hope you'll come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
247
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

WOW!!! More fantastic than the pictures. The best B&B we have ever stayed at. We arrived on July 5, 2013 for a 5 night stay. From the moment we passed through their gates, there was an overwhelming sense of tranquility that by the end of our stay had proven to be delightful. Our hosts, Verna and Warren, were gracious but not intrusive. Their knowledge of restaurants, whale watching, local wildlife and vegetation, and other activities was "spot-on." The grounds were magnificent; the breakfasts exquisite; the room immaculate...with bedside chocolates! The common area was adequately stocked. We only wish our stay could have been longer. We plan on a return visit...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray and Terry B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We were so happy that you stayed with us for five nights. We have to admit that it wasn't long enough as we enjoyed your company so much - it was like being around long time friends! We were even happier to see you having so much enjoyment, not only from our B&B, but also from all the wonderful attractions, restaurants, activities, wild life, etc. on Vancouver Island. Thank you for being so appreciative, as well as for taking the time to give us this wonderful review. We truly look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was our first experience with a B&B; and we would return to this one for a second, third and even fourth stay! We loved the quietness and peaceful atmosphere. It is as welcoming and beautiful as the hosts. Breakfast is just as they say (scrumptious indeed) We stayed with them seven days and spent the days riding our motorbike and the evening sitting on the beach. They are very helpful with lunch and dinner spots in the area along with must see places. We loved the option to prepared our own dinners in. THIS IS A MUST TRY B&B! :) Thank you so much for your hospitality Warren and Verna; hope to see you again.

Paul and Shelley Budd

Room Tip: The Peony room has a great ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We are honored to be your first B&B experience, and are delighted to have made an impression. We certainly would love to have you back as often as you'd like. We enjoyed your company and the delightful conversations. We sincerely thank you for your fabulous review. It is very kind of you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was my first B&B experience, and with a reputation like this to live up to, other B&Bs best take some notes from Verna and Warren - They know how to do it right!

From start to finish, Verna and Warren were extremely hospitable, and everything in between was fantastic. The room was clean, spacious, and had gorgeous views of the outside dining area and ocean. The common areas were clean and well-equipped with collateral materials highlighting local amenities and attractions, a fridge, coffee and tea stations, and seating areas. The Wi-Fi worked wonderfully, and was very easy to access.

Warren toured us around the property, showed us the back yard area (which was a beautiful outdoor dining area, beach, ocean and spectacular views), took us down to the beach and explained a bit about the area. Following our grand tour, we were welcomed with great conversation and wine to boot!

The breakfasts were amazing and were equivalent to, if not better than, restaurant-quality dishes, and truly offered a bit of everything - fresh fruit smoothies, delectable fruit from the region, home-cooked entrees, and scratch-made pastries. Superb!

Staying with Verna and Warren was like staying with family. They were chatty, fun, considerate, kind, down-to-earth and very resourceful! Verna even helped Google Map some directions for us, while Warren showed us the best route.

Next time we're anywhere near Ladysmith, we'll definitely book our stay at the Beachside Garden B&B, and may even pop by just to say hello to our new friends.

Tawnya & Ryan (Vancouver, BC)

Room Tip: The Iris Room was great, and was relatively quiet, but because it was sandwiched in between the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tawnya84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you so much for such a comprehensive and flattering review. It is very kind of you to take your time in doing so. We truly appreciate it. We are so glad that you took your chance to stay with us as your first B&B experience, and are relieved that we didn't disappoint. You were wonderful guests, so easy to talk with, as well as kind, considerate and appreciative. It was like meeting long time friends. We sincerely would love to see you again, even just to pop by to say hello.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed only one night but wished it had been longer.Our hosts Warren and Verna were exceptional .We enjoyed our time with them.The gardens and the accommodation where very nice can't wait to return.

Room Tip: A little off the beaten track but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We are delighted that you have enjoyed our gardens and accommodation; and are so sorry that we didn't have vacancy for additional nights for you. You were great company and we hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you so much for staying with us, and for taking the time to give us this wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent a fabulous evening and morning at the Beachside Garden B&B. The location is amazing - right on the water. The food and hospitality was excellent - Verna and Warren were very welcoming. The bed was comfy and everything was clean and modern. We are definitely going back! Thank you, Verna and Warren!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolesheldrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
It was a real pleasure meeting you both. You were delightful guests. We have enjoyed our conversation with you, so much that we wish you could have stayed longer. We are very happy that you had a fabulous time here. We hope to see you back soon. Thank you so much for your very kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were overwhelmed by the gardens as we entered through the formal gates. But then, to see the four tiers of gardens by the beach in the quietness of awesome space, we witnessed a hummingbird by the peonies growing just above the shore. So after, a seagull joined the garden bird. But especially outstanding was the creativity of each individual breakfast that Verna made for us. Each breakfast was beautiful, but also very nutritious. So were the beautiful spirits of Warren and Verna who showed unusual personal kindness with us joining in extensive conversations. Dave and Pam

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
It is always a delight to see someone deriving so much pleasure and enjoyment from our gardens. Thank you so much for your appreciation of our breakfasts as well. It was a real pleasure meeting you both. We have enjoyed your company and the wonderful conversations. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us this fantastic review. It is indeed very kind of you. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ladysmith
4.7 mi away
Kiwi Cove Lodge
Kiwi Cove Lodge
#1 of 1 in Ladysmith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
5.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn
14.6 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
97.3 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Hawley Place Bed and Breakfast
81.0 mi away
A Snug Harbour Inn
A Snug Harbour Inn
#1 of 31 in Ucluelet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Garden B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Garden B & B

Property: Beachside Garden B & B
Address: 3788 Fearn Way, Ladysmith, British Columbia V9G 1K7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Ladysmith
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ladysmith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachside Garden B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor Travellers' Choice 2014 Winner......Walk-on beach oceanfront luxury home with spectacular ocean view and an acre of exquisite ornamental garden, our B&B is custom built with your comfort in mind, and is wheelchair accessible. It is located in beautiful Yellow Point area, on the east side of Ladysmith Harbor. Elegantly decorated, each room has ocean view, queen bed, private en-suite, TV, air-conditioning and WiFi Internet. This is paradise for scuba-divers, kayakers, swimmers, sunbathers and gardeners. A place to relax and to rejuvenate. We pamper you with scrumptious breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beachside Garden B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing