We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All A's for this B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beachside Garden B & B
Ranked #1 of 8 Ladysmith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Beachside B&B is complete with a fantastic breakfast each day, and the equally fantastic Ladysmith Bay right out your back door. The two owners are warm and real, and spend every waking moment making their place nicer. The beautiful garden in the front yard must have taken about 25,000 hours of work; and, in fact, the owners confessed to having brought in lots and lots of dumptruck loads of dirt -- to build the land over the rocks. Thankfully, they left some of the original rock formations; and those are wonderful.

Personally, I've been to B&B's on 3 continents, and this one is definitely the best.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noholdsbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

We confess that we enjoy gardening and designing beautiful landscape. However it is the discerning and appreciative guests like you that make it even more pleasurable. Yes, the rock formation is so gorgeous that we decided to keep it exposed. We are glad you like it too.
Our sincere thanks to you for your review and for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

308 - 314 of 441 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

WOW! The Beachside Garden B&B exceeded our expectations. The house was lovely with spectacular views. The breakfast each morning was delicious and nutritious - a great start to our day. But, a special thanks to our wonderful hosts Warren and Verna who went out of their way to ensure that we had the perfect idyllic retreat.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Otis810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us this fabulous review. We are very happy that your stay was peaceful and pleasant, and that our B&B has exceeded your expectations. You were delightful and appreciative guests. It was our pleasure having you, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had a wonderful time! Great access to the beach, a wonderful dinner at a near by resteraunt, a peaceful night's sleep, and a delicious breakfast on the seaside patio. Just what we needed.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oilsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us as well as taking the time to give us this great review. We are delighted that you had a relaxing time here at our B&B. We have enjoyed your company and getting to know you a little. It would be very lovely to have you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Wonderful .... a simple word which does not fully cover this magnificent B&B! To echo the many previous views, wonderful gardens, fabulous view across the inlet, comfortable accommodation, most hospitable hosts, and utterly delicious breakfast. Break out the thesaurus to try to capture the ambiance of the experience. Thank you, thank you. I will return to see your Fall gardens and enjoy your lovely location and attentive hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

We are really humbled by your undivided appreciation of everything we have to offer, and your superlative review of our B&B. Your were absolutely delightful guests and great company. Thank you so much for staying with us. We truly look forward to welcoming you back in the Fall, when the gardens display its magical colors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Our recent trip to Ladysmith included a two night stay with Verna and Warren at their oceanside home. The hospitality, breakfasts, local knowledge and a bottle of wine shared with the hosts on their patio overlooking the ocean was truly memorable. We stayed at a lot of B+Bs in BC before this and have never come away feeling like we had made two very dear friends. Thank you for making our trip so enjoyable. We'll be back this summer!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your very kind words and for taking the time to give us this fabulous review. Thank you also for sharing your lovely bottle of wine with us. Our few phone conversations and e-mail communications prior to your arrival got us connected. It was like meeting long time friends when you arrived. You were great guests - friendly, sincere and considerate. By the end of your stay, you became very dear friends. We hope everything works out to your desire. We truly look forward to your return in the summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed an overnight with Verna and Warren with only one regret – it was just for one night. The gardens are what you first notice as you come up the driveway – with manicured lawns and an array of plants and garden sculptures tastefully hidden here and there. The B&B suites are separated from their home leaving us with a comfortable private space overlooking the shore and bay. Step out on the water side to a patio with bar-b-que and with a few more steps and you are on the beach. We were lucky with a very low tide and thus a chance to explore more of the intertidal zone than is often the case.

They say location is everything –well this location is certainly wonderful if a little off the beaten path. But Warren and Verna’s design and decorations certainly add to the charm and welcome that they generate. The rooms and bed are comfortable and the breakfast was a wonderful creation that certainly pleased our palates. How about figs and blackberries from their garden turned into a smoothie with yogurt and honey for starters! Simply a wonderful way to start the day. We look forward to the day that we will be able to return

Room Tip: One of the bedrooms is totally wheelchair accessable, complete with a level grade roll-in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry4508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you so much for this generous and comprehensive review. Like you, we wish you have stayed longer, as we thoroughly enjoyed your company and the delightful conversations. We are glad you had a lovely time exploring the beach and the shore, which is very interesting, especially at low tide. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I visited for the first time and stayed for a night. What a gorgeous home and B&B! The hosts, Verna and Warren, are very welcoming, accommodating and genuinely caring. The bedroom and bathroom are spacious and self-contained and the view from our room just spectacular. The scenery is breathtaking - overlooking the sea- and walking on the beach just there. And than the breakfast - sitting outside -it was sooo good, freshly made and very healthy ....what a treat !!!!!!!!!
We very much enjoyed out trip to Ladysmith and to have met such nice people. We highly recommend this B&B and we'll be back.

Beatrice and Reinhold Lohsen from Victoria B.C.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beatricel209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you so much for coming to celebrate Easter with us. What a real treat it was to have met you and your husband. It was like meeting old friends and we had a great time. Thank you again for your valuable gardening tips. Our plants certainly appreciate them.
We are delighted that you have enjoyed our B&B, the lovely beach and the breathtaking scenery. We thank you sincerely for your very generous review. We look forward to seeing you and welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ladysmith
4.7 mi away
Kiwi Cove Lodge
Kiwi Cove Lodge
#1 of 1 in Ladysmith
89 reviews
14.7 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,498 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
1.9 mi away
Hawley Place Bed and Breakfast
81.0 mi away
A Snug Harbour Inn
A Snug Harbour Inn
#1 of 30 in Ucluelet
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Garden B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Garden B & B

Address: 3788 Fearn Way, Ladysmith, British Columbia V9G 1K7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Ladysmith
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ladysmith
Price Range: $145 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachside Garden B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor Travellers' Choice 2014 Winner......Walk-on beach oceanfront luxury home with spectacular ocean view and an acre of exquisite ornamental garden, our B&B is custom built with your comfort in mind, and is wheelchair accessible. It is located in beautiful Yellow Point area, on the east side of Ladysmith Harbor. Elegantly decorated, each room has ocean view, queen bed, private en-suite, TV, air-conditioning and WiFi Internet. This is paradise for scuba-divers, kayakers, swimmers, sunbathers and gardeners. A place to relax and to rejuvenate. We pamper you with scrumptious breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Beachside Garden B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing