We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B, View & Great Customer Service Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachside Garden B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beachside Garden B & B
Ranked #1 of 8 Ladysmith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“Lovely B&B, View & Great Customer Service Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

My spouse and I visited this B&B in December of 2012 and stayed for a night. The view was gorgeous, the service was excellent and the breakfast was great too! The hosts were so accommodating, friendly and genuinely cared about their guests. It was such a great experience that I know we'll be back to visit again shortly! I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your generous review. It's a real pleasure meeting you - a very delightful young couple. Although the sun wasn't exactly willing when you were here, the view was none the less spectacular. We are happy that you had a great experience with us, as we strive to offer our very best to our guests. We enjoyed making your acquaintance, and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
248
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Van
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Visited yesterday and had a wonderful stay. Very friendly hosts and the facilities were very up to date. Room was exceptionally clean. Had a great sleep as it was dead quiet at night. Wonderful views and steps from the beach. Did I mention the delicious breakfast? Looking forward to going back soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We deeply appreciate your generous review. It is very kind of you. We are delighted that you had a great sleep, and everything was working to your satisfaction. We look forward to your return in the summer to enjoy the beach, the various marine life, and the spectacular ocean view. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We had a wonderful stay. Verna and Warren were excellent hosts, very helpful with good recommendations for the area. Enjoyed going kayaking directly from the B&B. The food was delicious and enjoyed watching wildlife while eating outside.
Nancy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyG100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
What a delight it was meeting you and having you stayed with us. We are happy you had a wonderful time kayaking and exploring the surrounding area. It is always a joy watching the otters and seals frolicking in the sea; and the bald eagles and blue herons having their occasional squabble. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to give us this fabulous review. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Nice house right on beach. Room was super clean and breakfast was awsome. It's a really nice stay. Bed was comfortable and hosts were friendly. But it's quite a drive to the house. It won't be sutiable for people who take public transit

Room Tip: We stay poney room is pretty good and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your lovely review. We are quite happy that you have enjoyed our beautiful and quiet accommodation, the bed and our breakfast. Yes, the beach is beautiful even on a cool cloudy day.
We totally agree with you that our B&B is not suitable for people relying on public transit; as Vancouver Island is not an easy place to travel around without ones' own vehicle, and sometimes even impossible.
We have thoroughly enjoyed your company and the pleasant conversations - places of interest for traveling, work, etc. We look forward to welcoming you back, especially during the warmer weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I recently spent 4 days at Warren and Verna's and were thoroughly impressed with the physical facilities, the friendship of the hosts, their willingness to suggest what to do in the vicinity and most of all, their fantastic breakfasts.
The weather decided not to cooperate ( it rained very day ) which did not allow us to enjoy thier fantastic outdoor patio and ocena views.
The bedrooms are very comfortable and there is a reading, sitting area whic might be a bit cramped if the B&B had full occupancy.
Otherwise we were very impressed and would highly recommend this B&B to anyone in the Ladysmith or Nanaimo area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baxter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
It's a real treat meeting you and getting to know you a little. You were delightful guests; good company and great conversation! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, and for you generous and kind review regarding our facilities and breakfasts. It was such a disappointment that the weather didn't cooperate during your stay. The spectacular ocean view, the beach and the gardens act like magnet during good weather, drawing guests outside, often making our indoor dining room and sitting area redundant.
We look forward to welcoming you back next summer, and we pray for fabulous weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bashaw, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Beautiful location. Excellent breakfast. Would like to come back in warmer weather to swim or kyack. Only fault was the noisy fan in bathroom that took forever to turn off. It was motion sensored. Difficult to have a sound sleep. Bed was very comfortable. Hosts were pleasant to visit with. Agree with coments from others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 942traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to give us a review. We are delighted that you have found our location beautiful, bed comfortable and the breakfast excellent!
We are so sorry that the bathroom fan bothered your sleep. It runs 3 minutes before shutting down. Since our place is so quiet, one can almost hear a pin drops. The smallest noise can become accentuated. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We would certainly look into the issue.
We look forward to welcoming you back when the weather is warmer. The water in front of us, Elliott Beach and Ladysmith Harbour, boasts to be the warmest north of San Francisco. It's paradise for swimmers and kayakers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband, my Mother, and I stayed at Beachside Garden in early September, and we give this charming B&B our highest recommendation. The location is gorgeous, the rooms are all newly remodeled and impeccably clean (we stayed in two of the downstairs rooms), and the service is outstanding. Verna and Warren greeted us warmly the moment we arrived, and they made us feel right at home, immediately giving us the tour and showing us where we could store our groceries and get coffee, tea, or sodas at any time of day or night. We were immediately charmed by the gorgeous house, which appears to be brand new, and impressed by the room. In the morning, Verna outdid herself by preparing a breakfast that was fit for a king! We were offered the choice of eating inside or outside, and because it was a beautiful day, we chose to sit outside at a charming table with a view of the water. Verna immediately appeared and gave each of us a huge bowl of fresh fruit and a delicious fruit smoothie with hints of fig and honey. We actually thought that the breakfast was over at that point (and we were already impressed with it) when Verna came back with plates of homemade gourmet muffins. She had not one, but THREE varieties of fruit muffins one each plate. (We are still dreaming about those muffins!) Finally, the third course arrived - a delicious frittatta. I was touched because my husband and I don't eat pork, so Verna had specially prepared this dish with eggs, veggies, and chicken. The other thing that impressed us was how considerate Verna was. She seemed to genuinely be interested in talking to us and her other guests, and she gave us maps of the island and helped us plan our day exploring the surrounding towns. She also told us a bit about how this B&B has been a long-time dream of hers and Warren's, a dream they worked toward for years. You really get the sense that Warren and Verna are now living their dream. They are giving this B&B everything they can and really going the extra mile to make the experience a special one. When I asked Verna where she got her wonderful recipes for breakfast, she said that she experiented in advance with several recipes for each item, and then went with the best of the bunch when her guests arrived. Anyway, the next time we come to BC, we plan to stay at Beachside B&B for several days and to explore the area more. One was not enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Llamalane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you so much for such a comprehensive account of your experience at our B&B; as well as your fabulous review and highest recommendation. We fully appreciate your information on your food preference prior to arrival, so we were able to plan breakfasts to suit your needs. We are so happy that you have enjoyed our B&B. You are delightful company and we are glad to have met you. Our sincere appreciation for your staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back, next time, for several days!
Warren & Verna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ladysmith
4.7 mi away
Kiwi Cove Lodge
Kiwi Cove Lodge
#1 of 1 in Ladysmith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
5.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn
14.6 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
97.3 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Hawley Place Bed and Breakfast
81.0 mi away
A Snug Harbour Inn
A Snug Harbour Inn
#1 of 31 in Ucluelet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Garden B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Garden B & B

Property: Beachside Garden B & B
Address: 3788 Fearn Way, Ladysmith, British Columbia V9G 1K7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Ladysmith
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ladysmith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachside Garden B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor Travellers' Choice 2014 Winner......Walk-on beach oceanfront luxury home with spectacular ocean view and an acre of exquisite ornamental garden, our B&B is custom built with your comfort in mind, and is wheelchair accessible. It is located in beautiful Yellow Point area, on the east side of Ladysmith Harbor. Elegantly decorated, each room has ocean view, queen bed, private en-suite, TV, air-conditioning and WiFi Internet. This is paradise for scuba-divers, kayakers, swimmers, sunbathers and gardeners. A place to relax and to rejuvenate. We pamper you with scrumptious breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beachside Garden B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing