We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“peaceful and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beachside Garden B & B
Ranked #1 of 8 Ladysmith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“peaceful and welcoming”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We recently had only one night at Beachside B&B, our last stop before heading back to Australia. This was the perfect spot to wind up a wonderful holiday. Hosts Warren and Verna have created a special place to stay just outside Naniamo. If you are looking for peace, with water at your doorstep and views to the hills, this is a wonderful setting just a little away from the ferry terminals and off the main highway. Our room was lovely; the outside garden leading down to the water was the highlight, along with a fantastic breakfast, sitting on the patio. This is a quality B&B, which we would highly recommend. We were the 1st Aussies to stay here and we hope there will now be more. PS loved seeing a wild mink.
Jane and Joe

Room Tip: We stayed in the front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your fantastic review, our first and most delightful Aussie guests. We are extremely happy that you included us in your holiday, and that you have enjoyed our accommodation, breakfast and the spectacular view. We are truly thankful to have met you, and we look forward to seeing you again and some of your Aussie friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
252
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hosts Warren and Verna were warm and welcoming. The accomodations were quaint with stylish flair. The food was 4 star quality. You did not have to wait for your first cup of coffee of the day. The weather was grand to see the panaramic vista in their back yard while sipping juice. I would recommend this hideaway to anyone wanting peace tranquility and pleasant conversation. It is a bit out of the way to get there but worth the extra 15minutes off the highway. I will ge going again!

Room Tip: middle room is the smaller of the 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
It's a real pleasure meeting you, and we have enjoyed your pleasant conversation and company tremendously. Thank you so much for your compliments regarding our accommodation, breakfasts, the tranquil ground and panoramic view. Our sincere gratitude to you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to give us a wonderful review. We are certainly looming forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Newly built and of highest quality construction, this B&B is appended to one side of a mansionlike home, with 3 guest rooms staggered so each has a glimpse of the sea. Best view is from the outdoor patio, where breakfast is served looking out at distant islands--a most pleasant setting. Hostess Verna makes an amazingly airy baked French toast with berries and provides excellent maps to good neighborhood restaurants.
HANDICAP / ELDERS TIP: Verna is an occupational therapist and has seen to it that the premises and one guest room are fully wheelchair accessible with low threshold ramps and wide doors, and portable grab bars and tub/shower transfer seat are available as needed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seasonedtraveler067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
When we designed the B&B, we took the opportunity to make it barrier free (wheelchair accessible). This feature, together with a few pieces of adaptive equipment, have met the needs of some of our guests. We are more than happy to provide this service. Thank you so much for pointing this out in your very kind and generous review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the spectacular ocean view and our breakfasts. We deeply appreciate your company and conversation. We look forward to seeing you next time you are on our beautiful Vancouver Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

A fantastic location with gorgeous views, beautiful gardens, quiet and scerene, wonderful hospitality, excellent food and great accomodations. The rooms are large and tastefuly decorated and very quiet. You can even arrive by boat. Verna and Warren are very gracious hosts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firstmatemarigig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you so much for this all inclusive and fantastic review. There isn't a thing you have missed. It is very kind and thoughtful of you. We are truly honored.
We were delighted to welcome you ashore and listened to some of your boating adventure. We thoroughly enjoyed your company. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your sailing this way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrae, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We happened upon the Beachside Gardens as we were driving north along the beautiful coastline of Vancouver Island ... and we were in for the most delightful surprise of our trip! Verna and Warren welcomed us as old friends into their home and BandB, and we were delighted to discover that their gorgeous beachfront property is nestled at the tip of the Ladysmith peninsula with vistas of the islands and beautiful bay. At one point while chatting with our hosts, Warren handed me binoculars just as a bald eagle was sweeping into the water to fetch a fish that he carried back up to his nest in the trees beyond their home. Once-in-a-lifetime! Breakfast was wonderful. We even had fabulous weather. We were only sad that we could not have stayed longer as this was the BEST! I recommend the Beachside Garden to any and all who seek a brief respite from the worries of the world.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Watching a bald eagle swoops down on its prey is an exhilarating experience. We are so happy that you witnessed it. We were real glad that you ventured off the highway to discover us. Thank you so much for deciding to stay. You are one of the most delightful people we have met. We enjoyed your company and we deeply appreciate your kind review. We hope to see you again next time you come explore Vancouver Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Warren and Verna were great hosts and made us feel welcome and comfortable, The B&B is beauitiful and the view can't be matched. The grounds are lovely. We also found the rooms to be first class and very soundproof also.
This is truly as good as it gets.

Room Tip: The rooms are all good and very soundproof
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your very generous review, and your reassurance that the rooms are very sound proofed. One of our requirements to the builder was that the rooms be well insulated for sound protection, so our guests would not be disturbed. We are delighted that you found our accommodations first class, and that you enjoyed the garden and the spectacular view. We have enjoyed your company, albeit brief; and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

After seeing the B&B online we decided to cut our 2 night stay in Victoria to 1 so that we could stay at Beachside Garden. Warren and Verna were the perfect hosts, personable, informed, providing suggestions in the area. Breakfast was filling and delicious, the surroundings beautiful and the accomodations exceptional. We were in awe of our surroundings and will definitely return next time we are in BC. The house was amazing. Wish we had the time to spend several nights but our schedule would not allow it.

Room Tip: We occupied 2 of the 3 rooms and both were equally pretty, private and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank havetoloveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
We are very fortunate that you decided to cut short your stay in Victoria in order to come experience us, and we didn't disappoint. Our surroundings are truly beautiful and tranquil; and we were very lucky to have found this property some years ago to build our home and B&B. We enjoyed your company so much that, like you, we wish you could have spent several nights here.
We thank you sincerely for giving us this marvelous review. We hope to see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ladysmith
Kiwi Cove Lodge
#1 of 1 in Ladysmith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Garden B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Garden B & B

Property: Beachside Garden B & B
Address: 3788 Fearn Way, Ladysmith, British Columbia V9G 1K7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Ladysmith
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ladysmith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachside Garden B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor Travellers' Choice 2014 Winner......Walk-on beach oceanfront luxury home with spectacular ocean view and an acre of exquisite ornamental garden, our B&B is custom built with your comfort in mind, and is wheelchair accessible. It is located in beautiful Yellow Point area, on the east side of Ladysmith Harbor. Elegantly decorated, each room has ocean view, queen bed, private en-suite, TV, air-conditioning and WiFi Internet. This is paradise for scuba-divers, kayakers, swimmers, sunbathers and gardeners. A place to relax and to rejuvenate. We pamper you with scrumptious breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beachside Garden B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing