We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rime Restaurant + Wine Bar

Rime Restaurant + Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Rime Restaurant + Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 45 Restaurants in Lunenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: Seafood, Wine Bar, Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

We happened upon this restaurant in Lunenburg and were delighted with our choice. The staff was very friendly (hi Jeff!), and the kitchen was accommodating to one of our group's dietary requests. The decor was stylish and the food was delicious. They have an extensive wine list. We will be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maritimemafia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    46
    18
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sanibel Island
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely new restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

We were back in Lunenburg for the Folk Harbour Festival, and decided to go for dinner at one of the same places we dined at last time (four years ago). When we got into the restaurant, we learned that although we were in the same space, the restaurant was very new. The menu was very interesting and the waiter was very helpful. We were eating very early before the evening concert, so we shared a Ceasar salad and the halibut with gnocchi and lobster meat. Both were terrific, and were well complemented by a couple of glasses of a local Nova Scotia rose. We shared the Artisan Cheese Board for dessert. Yum!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SanibelViews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Service very slow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

We were recommended to go to this restaurant by staff at the Mariner King Inn who own the building. Although our waiter was very pleasant and knowledgeable about the wine, service was very slow for us and a couple at the neighbouring table complained about their wait of 30 mins before their orders were taken. The food was alright but my halibut was over cooked. To their credit their took the price of this dish of the bill but this place is disorganised and needs to rethink how it does things. We heard the same story from another couple we met the next day.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Loretta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect garnish to our honeymoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised to receive a generous gift certificate from family friends for Rime Restaurant. We were spending a week in the area for our honeymoon and had already had an amazing week filled with delicious food, this was the cherry on top of the sundae!


What I love about fine dining in the Maritimes is that you get to enjoy all of the glory of fresh, delicious food without any of the pretentiousness that would accompany a similar restaurant in Toronto, for instance.

From the get-go, our hostess and waitress were so welcoming and easy going. They promptly explained the specials, both of which won us over.

To start we had the scallops (cooked to perfection!) and their special housemade chanterelle ravioli. It was so tasty, perfect balance of sweet and salty and well paired by their somelier-in-training with an oaky chardonnay.

Moving on to the mains, my (new!) husband had the special, BBQ tuna. He stopped after his first bite and just smiled. Exquisite. I had the most well cooked, tasty, flaky piece of halibut on a bed of house gnocchi, roasted veggies ( those carrots have a bit of magic in them!) and get this, lobster. Halibut and lobster in the same dish. Swooooon.

Again, perfectly paired with a crisp sauvignon blanc.


Next: cheeeeeese. We love cheese. There was an amazing dragon's breath blue cheese, an aged cheddar and manchego, with mixed berry compot. Paired with a malbec for me, and Cab Sauv for the hubby. Again, perfection.

After all that, we somehow managed to fit a lemon curd cheesecake in our belly. This is not your average cheesecake. It just melted in my mouth... Very light and the perfect ending to the night!

Well almost, we got a red wine chocolate ganash torte to go. Decadent!

Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lacadiense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Evening Dining Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

A restaurant taken over by new owners ! ! Great food..we thought the previous Italian restaurant was very good but this is MUCH better..great presentation and taste ! We will go back ! ! Good size portions, in fact, large size ! Good service and attention from waiter and informative of menu suggestions .

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gannonmarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rime Restaurant + Wine Bar also viewed

Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Rime Restaurant + Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing