We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Sunset cruise”

Star Charters Day Tour
Gateshead
Level Contributor
347 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Stunning Sunset cruise”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We have got to over 55 and never been on a sail boat before and this was the very best. It's obviously weather dependent to a certain extent and we were very lucky. However the crew were friendly and knowledgable with just enough but not too much H and S information. It was thrilling to take the helm even for a short time. This trip was included in our B and B at the Sail Inn and we probably wouldn't have gone without this. We would have missed a holiday highlight! Thanks guys.

Helpful?
Thank djne11026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    6
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A must do!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We tried to go sailing in the Halifax Harbor, but there was no wind when we went, so it left something to be desired. When we arrived in Lunenburg, we lucked out and there was a 2 hour sailing tour on the Eastern Star leaving so we jumped at the chance! It was windy and amazing! The crew were fantastic and gave us a ton of information about the history and the area, and everything about it was just perfect! If you like boats, this is a great tour!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank traveljunkie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Beautiful ship and cheerful crew”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were lucky, on a sunny and relatively calm day, to get just enough wind for some quiet sailing. The crew was exceptionally cheerful and relaxed. The kids and adults loved being able to help out with the wheel and the sails. The Eastern Star was looking good, it just felt great to be aboard, in no rush to get anywhere, on the water.

In summary, a great experience even in a light wind.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The best way to see Lunenburg!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Being out in the water on a sailboat is always fantastic, but the crew onboard the Eastern Star made this trip memorable. The crew was very knowledgeable about the area and shared a lot of historical information. We went out to the sea caves and then headed back to Lunenburg harbour and sailed past the Bluenose II. We had a chance to help raise the sails and took turns steering the ship. The view onto the town of Lunenburg was picturesque! We were very lucky to have the boat to ourselves. There is a four person min. for the trip, however we paid for the extra two. Each ticket only costs $35, so for the extra $70, to have this beautiful sail boat to ourselves was worth every penny! If we are ever back in Lunenburg, we would definitely take this trip again.

On a side note, the captain of the boat mentioned that there is a B&B attached to this company. Apparently if you stay at the B&B you get a free sailing trip. We didn't stay there, but it might be something worth looking into.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LLamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Sunset Sail”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We took a two hour sunset tour on The Eastern Star. It was a relatively uneventful tour, as we had very little wind. We sailed all the way to the Ovens and spotted a seal and porpoise in the distance. I was hoping for more information about Lunenburg and its history - like rum running, the Bluenose, and the fishing industry. The sunset tour was an overall pleasant way to spend an evening. The highlights for me were the views of Lunenburg from the water. At only $35, the tour is very affordable. Unfortunately, the true feeling of sailing seems to depend on the weather, but the vistas are lovely. Anyone planning to take a sunset tour should definitely plan to bring layers, because the temperature can drop quickly.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank HistoryHoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Charters Day Tour also viewed

Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Star Charters Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing