We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brigantine Inn
Nearby Hotels
Rum Runner Inn(Lunenburg)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/30
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Smugglers Cove Inn(Lunenburg)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/30
Book now, pay at stay
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $107/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Atlantic View Motel & Cottages(Lunenburg)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/26
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $89/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Homeport Motel(Lunenburg)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/30
Book now, pay at stay
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 05/31
Book now, pay at stay
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Topmast Motel(Lunenburg)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lighthouse Motel(Bridgewater)
Free cancellation until 05/31
Book now, pay at stay
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $87/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 06/02
$108
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$81
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $83/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$98
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
44
44
12
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
44
12
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand bankerpicton castlerestaurant downstairsper dayhandicapped accessibleno elevatorhot tubstreet parkingfisheries museumblue nose iiflat screen tvlower flooroff seasonmini fridgeceiling fanfirst floorwater front
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 105 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Great place, great views, walking distance to everything, great restaurant . Hostess even put change in the meter while we were at the fisheries museum!Really clean! So much to do in Lunenburg. So picturesque. Dave and Leslie. lake Placid, NY

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We were two couples and each rented a suite. We had suite 10, they had the slghtly larger (and more expensive) suite 9. Our nice-sized livng room, wth dining el contained a double sofa-bed, armchair, TV chest of drawers., dining table and four chairs. The bedroom had a king-sized bed, closet area, chest of drawers and a second TV. Both rooms had ceiling fans and air condtioning. The small bathroom, which was in an inconvenient location near the entry, not the bedroom, contained a tub/shower, hairdryer and toiletries. Towels were adequate.

Kitchen facilities included a sink with cabinets containing dishes, utensils, pots and pans. There was a microwave, toaster oven, refrigerator and a portable two-burner electric hob.

Suite 9 had better lighting, a desk in the bedroom and a full stove with oven. Both suites overlooked the harbor,

Since the suites are located on the town's main street, parking is problematic. From 9:00-5:00 there is only two hour parking on the street. There is a parking lot at the harbor, but it costs $4.00 for each entry.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coffeemavenswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed in the Rose Suite at the Brigantine for two nights. The Inn is centrally located, so we were in the middle of all of the town center activities. Although the daytime temps were quite high, the nights cooled nicely, so we slept with the windows open to enjoy the sea breeze and the town noises. The room overlooked the water and offered us a great view of the full moon rise as well. The room was very clean, and the staff very accommodating. All rooms would not be handicapped accessible, so I would recommend checking if that is an issue.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

we loved the location of this inn. Had a stight problem with the electrical.seems it did not like the coffee pot and iron plugged in at the same time but they were quick to fix that. We had the Picton castle so had our own balcony which was very nice in the evenings. There is a restaraunt that looks into the balcony but was not a big issue. Bed was a bit on the soft side but not too bad.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claudia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

There are actually two buildings associated with the Brigantine, the Inn and the Suites. Both are located on the same road, one block apart.

We stayed in room 10 of the Suites and were very pleased. The one bedroom suite had a king sized bed and was bright with 4 large windows, one overlooking the harbor front at Lunenburg.

The room had obviously been refurbished with new bed and the like. The kitchen was basic for light housekeeping and would be more than sufficient for breakfasts and lunches. Everything in the suite was spotless. Keep in mind that these suites are in a house like structure with no elevator so there are some steps involved if you are on the second or third floor.

As we were there in the off season, there was no problem with parking whatsoever. Metered parking was free from 6pm to 10am and we were able to park right in front of our building. In the morning, we moved to the parking lot at the museum, directly below us, where parking was free all day. I believe they told us that in the regular season, parking at the museum lot was $3 per day??? but don't quote me on that.

We had no problem with the check in and check out process, in fact we quite liked how it was handled. You check in once, and from then on you can come and go as you want. Check out was super easy. You pay in advance and as you are going, you simply leave the keys in the room. What could be easier?

The Inn and Suites are within easy walking distance of pretty well everything. Lunenburg has to be about the prettiest town we have found in the Maritimes. Do take the time to walk about and take lots of pictures of the harbor as well as all of the houses and merchant stores in the town.

And do not leave the town without dropping in at the Grand Banker and having some of their Acadian Cajun Seafood Stew. I don't know when I have had a better chowder/stew. This restaurant and bar is located in the Brigantine Inn building. Also, drop in at some of the shops along the streets. Most merchandise is quite unique and not of the tacky trinket nature.

As to the couple who gave the Inn and Suites as well as Lunenburg such a long and negative review, well, I think that couple must just be plain hard to please. The town itself is just plain traditional Nova Scotia. This was our second visit and I would not hesitate to return and even stay longer.

Neither Lunenburg nor any of the places of accommodation advertise themselves to be Club Med so don't expect that when you arrive. As far as I am concerned, when visiting the Maritime region of Canada, you should be expecting just the opposite - beautiful scenery, quiet little towns, and some of the friendliest people in the world. Where else can you walk on the streets and have everyone say good morning or good day to you?

Room Tip: If you want a view, stay on the second or third floors and request a harbor view. We were there in the off season so the town was quiet, quiet, quiet, but I would presume that in the summer season, harbor facing suites would be quieter. If you are elderly or have health problems, request the first floor as there are no elevators.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flameforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews