We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view”
Review of Brigantine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brigantine Inn
Ranked #13 of 25 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oberlin, Ohio
Level Contributor
145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lovely view”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed in the Rose Suite at the Brigantine for two nights. The Inn is centrally located, so we were in the middle of all of the town center activities. Although the daytime temps were quite high, the nights cooled nicely, so we slept with the windows open to enjoy the sea breeze and the town noises. The room overlooked the water and offered us a great view of the full moon rise as well. The room was very clean, and the staff very accommodating. All rooms would not be handicapped accessible, so I would recommend checking if that is an issue.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    41
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
55
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

we loved the location of this inn. Had a stight problem with the electrical.seems it did not like the coffee pot and iron plugged in at the same time but they were quick to fix that. We had the Picton castle so had our own balcony which was very nice in the evenings. There is a restaraunt that looks into the balcony but was not a big issue. Bed was a bit on the soft side but not too bad.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

There are actually two buildings associated with the Brigantine, the Inn and the Suites. Both are located on the same road, one block apart.

We stayed in room 10 of the Suites and were very pleased. The one bedroom suite had a king sized bed and was bright with 4 large windows, one overlooking the harbor front at Lunenburg.

The room had obviously been refurbished with new bed and the like. The kitchen was basic for light housekeeping and would be more than sufficient for breakfasts and lunches. Everything in the suite was spotless. Keep in mind that these suites are in a house like structure with no elevator so there are some steps involved if you are on the second or third floor.

As we were there in the off season, there was no problem with parking whatsoever. Metered parking was free from 6pm to 10am and we were able to park right in front of our building. In the morning, we moved to the parking lot at the museum, directly below us, where parking was free all day. I believe they told us that in the regular season, parking at the museum lot was $3 per day??? but don't quote me on that.

We had no problem with the check in and check out process, in fact we quite liked how it was handled. You check in once, and from then on you can come and go as you want. Check out was super easy. You pay in advance and as you are going, you simply leave the keys in the room. What could be easier?

The Inn and Suites are within easy walking distance of pretty well everything. Lunenburg has to be about the prettiest town we have found in the Maritimes. Do take the time to walk about and take lots of pictures of the harbor as well as all of the houses and merchant stores in the town.

And do not leave the town without dropping in at the Grand Banker and having some of their Acadian Cajun Seafood Stew. I don't know when I have had a better chowder/stew. This restaurant and bar is located in the Brigantine Inn building. Also, drop in at some of the shops along the streets. Most merchandise is quite unique and not of the tacky trinket nature.

As to the couple who gave the Inn and Suites as well as Lunenburg such a long and negative review, well, I think that couple must just be plain hard to please. The town itself is just plain traditional Nova Scotia. This was our second visit and I would not hesitate to return and even stay longer.

Neither Lunenburg nor any of the places of accommodation advertise themselves to be Club Med so don't expect that when you arrive. As far as I am concerned, when visiting the Maritime region of Canada, you should be expecting just the opposite - beautiful scenery, quiet little towns, and some of the friendliest people in the world. Where else can you walk on the streets and have everyone say good morning or good day to you?

Room Tip: If you want a view, stay on the second or third floors and request a harbor view. We were there in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flameforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blind Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
229 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

What a great room. Wonderful bed. Spacious room with a large couch, easy chair in the bay window, desk, small fridge located in old Lunenburg within walking distance of shops and cafes. The wifi was excellent, the bathroom spacious and the place was very clean. It was more than we expected.

Room Tip: Choose the first room on the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brienbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Brigantine Inn in the HMS Rose Suite. The inn is situated just above the waterfront and our room had a beautiful view of the harbour. The room, although not huge, had windows on all sides that opened! We really enjoyed the smell of the ocean. The bed was very comfortable and all the "big hotel" amenities were available. The only downside would be if you like a bathtub - the room was fitted with a shower only that did have a seat.

We looked around for a restaurant and ended up eating dinner at the one at the Inn. The food was good and plentiful. All in all, a lovely stay and I particularly want to commend Aden for his helpfulness at the front desk. He has a great attitude and was helpful in directing us to resaurants and other places we wanted to see. Great personality.

I noticed another review that was unfavourable because of the price of the room. I did a lot of research before we went and hotels/B&B's in the Maritimes are typically more expensive. We felt that given this fact the Brigantine was good value for our $$ considering the view and ambience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bookclubToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed right at the Inn, not the Suites down the street and were very pleasantly surprised by the nicely modern room decor and finish. Room had a queen with pull out sofa and we made the mistake of eating the first night at the Banker downstairs and were so smitten with the food that we didn't really make it anywhere else.

Staff is very friendly, helpful and accomodating. Loved that we could run downstairs and grab a drink or dessert to eat at the Grand Banker or bring back to our room.

Newly renovated bathroom, comfy bed and great view from the many waterfront windows.

We felt right at home and will surely miss the Brig.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amoslionhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We would highly recommend the Brigantine for anyone looking for a great place to stay in Lunenburg. We stayed only one night but wished we had more time. The room was very clean, the bed very comfy and the location perfectly situated in the heart of the main street, close to everything. We found the front desk staff extremely helpful and welcoming. Our room had a fabulous view of the Harbour. Even though there is a bar in the lower level of the Inn, we didn't hear any noise. Copies of the menus for local restaurants in the room made our dining choices very easy. We will be back!

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dpl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#7 of 25 in Lunenburg
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spinnaker Inn
Spinnaker Inn
#14 of 25 in Lunenburg
70 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brigantine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brigantine Inn

Property: Brigantine Inn
Address: 82 Montague Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brigantine Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Brigantine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brigantine Inn Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing