We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in old town Lunenburg”
Review of Mariner King Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mariner King Inn
Ranked #7 of 26 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had just one night in Lunenburg on our tour of Nova Scotia and we loved it! We were referred by another B&B affiliated with the Mariner King. The Vicorian decor was nice, but the absolute best parts of our stay was the modern bed and bathroom. The bed was the most comfortable of our entire trip and the shower was hot and the pressure was perfect. Despite being an old building we did not hear anyone above us or beside us our any street noise the whole time we were in the room. Breakfast was delicious and the lady serving us was cheerful and ionteresting to chat with. The manager was also friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again, and we will budget more nights on our return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank World_Traveler_336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 263 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Well located, quiet good Service, good breakfast, fresh fruits, pancakes, sweets, eggs,cheese etc, very nice and helpful staff, excellent beds and a fantastic bathroom, beautiful view, attractiv atmosphere, nice old building, excellent restaurant nearby. I would highly recommend..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Seppi1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was a wonderful place. The room with a small balcony for an early morning coffee. A nook to see the sights and read in. Luxurious bedding. Would recommend this anytime and I don't usually do that since everyone's taste is different but definitely stay here if you get a chance

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kandfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Well located, attractive atmospheric building, quiet, good service and good breakfast buffet.

Parking can be a bit of a pain - hotel space very limited, pay meters in street during day but free overnight - hotel staff very good at advising you best places to park.

Room Tip: Big air conditioning unit at rear which can be disturbing as it switches on during night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RetiredEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Highly recommended for location, coziness, and atmosphere. The staff was very helpful, particularly when the airline lost our luggage and delivered it the following day. We had gone out to explore and let the front desk know that two large bags would be delivered; when we returned, the young woman had received them and dragged them upstairs to our room, where they were waiting! We stayed in the suite with a sitting area with sliding doors, which was very nice as one of us is an early riser (although the furniture in the sitting area, while lovely and period, could be a little more comfortable). The suite and bathroom were very clean, linens and pillows lovely. The breakfast was plentiful with rolls, salmon one morning, scones, and the like. It would be nice to have an option for eggs, but we didn't go hungry by any means. Lunenburg is a gem of a town and this was a perfect base for exploring.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kathryn q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We arrived in town late for the scallop fest, and did not have a room. The visitors center referred us to a few places in town. One was the Mariner King Inn. This Inn is absolutely restored to the highest level. Excellent beds, flooring, bathrooms (nicer than my personal bathroom at home), hvac, - all in excellent condition. The gentlemen (mgr) who greeted us was pleasant and informative. The next morning we enjoyed one of the best continental breakfasts I have ever had in a beautiful sun room. Fresh blueberries, raspberries, cheese, turkey breast, etc, etc,. Price was reasonable for this downtown location ($ 150). I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 63suv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great service and very comfortable rooms. Could not have asked for a better place in Lunenburg. Breakfast was very nice as my wife and I are used to traveling in Europe and it's similar to what you would find. Try Fleur de Sel for dinner up the street. Just a minute walk.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JP A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
280 reviews
0 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boscawen Inn
Boscawen Inn
#4 of 26 in Lunenburg
202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ashlea House B&B
Ashlea House B&B
#2 of 26 in Lunenburg
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Water Sprite Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariner King Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner King Inn

Address: 15 King Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range: $104 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariner King Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Lunenburg, Nova Scotia, The Mariner King Inn majestically stands in the heart of Old Town Lunenburg. The Inn, built in 1830, has undergone extensive renovations restoring the old and melding it with the needs of today's travellers. The Inn has three rooms and two suites in the original building, while the Cranberry and Candy Apple additions add six suites and three rooms with a more contemporary, mariner theme in mind. All rooms have luxurious, environmentally conscious and allergy free queen or king size beds, en-suite bathrooms, WiFi, TV (dvd), minibar, safe, telephone, and air-conditioning. Other amenities include good morning breakfast buffett, business center, exercise room, cosy parlour, winter garden, and laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mariner King Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariner King Inn Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing