We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for visiting Lunenburg”
Review of Mariner King Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mariner King Inn
Ranked #7 of 26 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is an excellent B&B in the centre of Lunenburg. It has a lot to recommend it including the excellent position and the fine breakfast. But I have only given it 4 out of 5 because the room we had was quite small and was across the road in a separate annex. Maybe the room size is to be expected in an old building, and when I say small it was still adequate with a good sized bathroom. But doesn't quite get a 5 for comfort although it is perfectly adequate.

We were there at a weekend and so there was no problem parking. However outside there are parking metres so not sure what happens in the week if you want to leave your car to explore Lunenburg on foot.

Staff were very helpful and friendly. Would have liked to have stayed longer than the one night I was there to get a chance to look around Lunenburg more which has a lot of interesting buildings.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARH51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 263 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband, son and I stayed here for three nights and loved it! The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 105 in the inn and it was very luxurious with lots of space. The breakfast is gourmet with smoked salmon, fresh fruit, home-made biscuits and more. The hotel is close to the water, shops and restaurants. It also makes a good place from which to visit Kejimkujik.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

great location very near the water and accessible to restaurants and attractions.. wonderful staff who were friendly, attentive and helpful in giving directions to the surrounding area .. the best breakfasts with fresh homemade buttermilk biscuits right out of the oven, fresh fruit, yogurt, lots of cheese and smoked salmon with capers and a very charming cook!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kathy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had visited Lunenburg a couple of years ago and actually ate at the Mariner King (when they still had a restaurant) enjoyed the service and the ambiance. Decided this trip to stay there. Serviced and the accommodations were first class. Great location to walk to all the main attracitons in Lunenburg.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building so that is what I am basing my opinions on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Delightful hotel with stunning bedroom - extremely well appointed and equipped. From the welcome through to departure the staff were very attentive. Breakfast was continental only but imaginative and varied. Our room was located in a separate building from the main hotel but was only a few seconds walk away and did not present any inconvenience.
We enjoyed our 2 night stay, our first at this Inn, and would return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silverfoxtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

From the moment that we were welcomed at the Mariner Inn we knew that we would enjoy our stay. The whole property is kept in immaculate condition and the bedrooms are extremely comfortable and very well furnished. A fellow traveller said that she didn't want to leave and would be just as happy staying in her room - we felt exactly the same. Breakfast was varied and plentiful and was also of an excellent standard. Its truly 5 star luxury here and it would be impossible to be disappointed.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lucky68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Mariner King Inn is an architectural gem in the heart of a heritage town steeped in history. A unique aesthetic experience. The parlour, breakfast room and our room (102) were comfortable and beautifully furnished,with in-room amenties in good working order. However, the 4.5 star rating and comforts promised on several website were not delivered. (Perhaps not the fault of the Inn but they need to update their listings.) Piles of pillows are pretty but don't make a mattrees plush. (Our bed at the new Hampton Inn in Sydney NS was superior.) No bidet. Non-adjustable shower faucet. Thin small towels. Request for extra took 2 days. No top sheet until I asked for one; and the staff person was defensive about this oddity. Otherwise she was friendly; but there is no staff person on site or answering the phone after 3 pm. Printer in business centre out of ink and none to be found. A lovely Inn and I would not hesitate to recommend it; but it is not a 4.5 star accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinerking, General Manager at Mariner King Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

We at the Mariner King Inn are pleased to offer our guests the 4.5 star Canada Select rating/AAA Three Diamond ratingwhich we have worked so diligently to obtain and strive to maintain.Disheartened to see a less than outstanding review we wish to address some of these concerns: 1) Beds - all of our beds have Sealy Posturepedic Pillow-Topped mattresses and are of the highest quality offered to our guests who frequently advise reception the following morning that they have “just had the best sleep ever” while staying at the Mariner King Inn. 2) Bidets - the inn, like many 4.5 star Historic North American inns,do not offer bidets (often due to space constraints in these historic buildings) nor have we advertised as such. If this is a guest requirement kindly ask reception during the reservation processto ensure such an amenity exists to avoid disappointment due to its absence, 3) Shower Faucet - where shower faucet height is an issue kindly advise reception during the reservation process so every effort can be made to accommodate special needs, 4)Towels - all amenities, linens, towels, etc. are imported from Europeand are of the highest quality. As many of our clientele are of a mature age, we were very deliberate in our toweling choices – not too thin and not too thick. Too plush a towel, when heavy, can pose weigh and handling problems for those with arthritic issues, 5) Top Sheet - as the duvets are removed and washed daily, our beds are not dresses with a top sheet. We do, however, supply a top sheet to our guests in every room located in the wardrobe. The front desk receptionists’response to the guest’s request for a top sheet was merely meant to be informativeand not defensive as some guests are unaware that our beds are dressed in European style (excludes the top sheet)which can be considered by some less-travelled guests to be an “oddity”. 6) Hours of operation - The Mariner King Inn operates year-round. We offer extended in-season reception for the months of June to October and reduced off-season reception for the months of November to May.During the off-season months when staff may not be on site (after 11am check-out and before 3pm check-in) all calls are forwarded to our head office (located only two buildings away from the inn) to answer reservation inquiries and assist with guest needs. Further, staff contact information is posted at all inn entrance points, 7) Printer Ink – while the inn is mindful of guests needs and takes every precaution to ensure that a guests’ stay is both pleasant and memorable, we do ask that if there is anything we have overlooked or we can do to make the stay more pleasant please do not hesitate to ask.

We appreciate that you have taken time out of your busy day to submit a review and are sorry to hear that, although your overall experience was a positive one, that it did not meet your 4.5 star expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
280 reviews
0 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boscawen Inn
Boscawen Inn
#4 of 26 in Lunenburg
202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ashlea House B&B
Ashlea House B&B
#3 of 26 in Lunenburg
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Water Sprite Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariner King Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner King Inn

Address: 15 King Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range: $104 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariner King Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Lunenburg, Nova Scotia, The Mariner King Inn majestically stands in the heart of Old Town Lunenburg. The Inn, built in 1830, has undergone extensive renovations restoring the old and melding it with the needs of today's travellers. The Inn has three rooms and two suites in the original building, while the Cranberry and Candy Apple additions add six suites and three rooms with a more contemporary, mariner theme in mind. All rooms have luxurious, environmentally conscious and allergy free queen or king size beds, en-suite bathrooms, WiFi, TV (dvd), minibar, safe, telephone, and air-conditioning. Other amenities include good morning breakfast buffett, business center, exercise room, cosy parlour, winter garden, and laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mariner King Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariner King Inn Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing