We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet place!”
Review of Ashlea House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashlea House B&B
Ranked #3 of 25 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Sweet place!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We spent a night in Ashlea House and were very pleased. The room was nicely comfortable and reasonably priced, the hosts were congenial and knowledgable, the breakfast was terrific, and the house was well furnished and architecturally interesting, with places to explore. Breakfast was served family style around a big table, allowing for engaging conversation with other guests. The convenient location made it easy to take a short walk to the downtown and harbour.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tdawson48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    25
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
58
204
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hackensack, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The stay in Lunenberg was much more meaningful because of John and Lin very warm hospitality, and helpful guidance. The breakfast was excellent and very generous. The location is walking distance from all you need to see in Lunenberg. The rooms were large, clean simple and comfortable. Above all we will remember the warm welcoming hospitality of Lin and John. Definitely worth staying there is you are looking for more than just a place to sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 1012013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The location was excellent for access to both sides of the harbour and the house was both beautiful and comfortable. The communal breakfast was very informative as we discovered the plans and experiences of the other guests. The breakfast itself was unusual and delicious. There is a lot to see and do in and around Lunenburg and we would strongly recommend Ashlea house and the welcome offered by John, Lynn and Schooner. Sitting in the cupula (crows nest perhaps?) to watch the sun rise over the town was a treat.

Room Tip: Several rooms available at different rates. We chose the lower price range, which provided excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great location, you walk to downtown and all restaurants museums and activities. A really beautiful home, we loved the room , confortable bed, wifi working great. Huge and delicious breakfast. Thanks to nice host and of course friendly schooner (dog). Hope to be back!

Room Tip: Ask for delicious maple syrup for breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anectine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Lynn and John were so accommodating and made you feel at home. The house is fantastic and beautiful with history, lovely gardens and balconies. I loved the look and feeling of this home and will gladly recommend Ashley house to others. This was my first experience in B&Bs and it has left me with wanting to do it again on our next vacation. Hosts are very friendly and funny. Breakfast in the large dining room with others and our hosts was very entertaining, informative and relaxing...super food and enough to last the day! If I visit that area of NS again, I will definitely return to the Ashley House.

Thanks Lynn and John.....you were great hosts and made our vacation stop a great experience. We will remember your house.

Room Tip: Well, you would need to go on online and review the rooms. We had the opportunity to view all the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Not enough can be said about the house or the innkeepers that can truly capture the experience. John and Lynn love where they have chosen to settle, to entertain, to inform, to counsel and to share. The breakfast was as exceptional as the pair that prepared and served it.

Lunenburg is one place that should not be missed in the area and Ashlea House is as special as its surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We set out to lunenburg as part of an anniversary trip and chose this b+b for the great reviews as well as what seems to be the perfect location: near to but not in the main touristy area. This b+b did not disappoint. Lovely historic home with beautiful gardens and a comfortable side gazebo addition. This is a great place to enjoy a glass of wine in the evening or to take your coffee in the morning. Lynn settled us in, telling us some of the history of the home and their experiences with it. Lovely place to poke around with many nooks and crannies to enjoy with a book or to look at the bits and pieces about. Fun cupola on the roof with a bench and binoculars to view the harbour.

Our room was fine. Comfortable. The only point to mention is this room (part of the family suite) overlooks a main street where much traffic passes through. This makes a fair amount of noise into the evening and in the morning. Choose a different room if you are a light sleeper.

Breakfast is plentiful with many many tasty items to choose from. My special dietary requirement was quietly accommodated. John and Lynn entertained the table-full of guests and facilitated dialogue across the table and allowed less extroverted guests to sit quietly and observe if desired.

Lynn made dinner recommendations which we appreciated as it helped us avoid the tourist trap locations that do not offer the best that the local talent has to offer.

Schooner the dog was present and appreciated as we are dog people.

We recommend this location and the hosts, Lynn and Dave without reservation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenFredBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Boscawen Inn
Boscawen Inn
#4 of 25 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#6 of 25 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashlea House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashlea House B&B

Property: Ashlea House B&B
Address: 42 Falkland, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashlea House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to enjoy Lunenburg's cherished Ashlea House, a registered historic house restored to its original grandeur. Perfectly situated; a short five minute stroll along the historic harbour into the core of Old Town Lunenburg. Enjoy your day and then retire to Lunenburg’s only B&B/Inn to boast so many common areas: first floor parlours, Victorian Gazebo, sitting areas in "Martha's Garden," an authentic Widow's Walk and a third-floor lounge & outside deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ashlea House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashlea House B&B Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing