We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“26th Anniversary Trip-”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ashlea House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashlea House B&B
Ranked #3 of 25 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“26th Anniversary Trip-”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

My Husband and I had wonderful stay at Ashlea House!Our Hosts were very gracious and are knowledgeable about locale restaurants and places to see. Schooner their Ducktoller was adorable! The B&B was absolutely beautiful.We stay in B&B's a lot and this is certainly a favorite.The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was delicious! Thank You Lynn & John for making our stay a good one! Ashlea House is in a great location with easy access to the downtown core.We give it 2 thumbs up!

Room Tip: Top floor suites have easy access to reading room and outside deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    25
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
58
204
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had such a lovely time in Lunenburg and we thank Lynn and John for that, they were such wonderful hosts. The house is lovely and they provided a wonderful breakfast which set you up for the rest of the day ;-) They gave us many suggestions for day trips and although I thought we had done a lot of research they provided us with some fabulous places to go to. We followed their advice and found some wonderful places...thank you to both of them for looking after us so well...we had a great time and have just recommended Ashlea House to friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finncarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We like B and Bs where guests sit together - makes it a wholly more sociable experience. Breakfasts here were a production - introduction to the many and varied dishes by our cheerful hosts and then feedback from the guests as they explored both new and familiar tastes. More than you could eat and sometimes a surprise at breakfast time but interesting and scrummy. Helps here if you like dogs. We loved the town which is only a short stroll and were thrilled to glimpse Bluenose 2 awaiting the re-fitting of her masts. Super.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
210 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This B&B had been recommended to us by several folks in Nova Scotia. Our rooms were OK, but overall the proprietor seemed overwhelmed by a full house. Breakfast was OK. Maybe Lunenburg is such a heavy attraction that it's not too necessary to be competitive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigredhouse, Owner at Ashlea House B&B, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We truly feel badly that this person experienced a stay like this in Lunenburg. This review is so far out of our norm that we searched back through our records and memories and cannot recall this guest or a circumstance that would have caused this review and score. We value all comments from our guests yet wonder if it was really our B&B they were at. We have been at the top end of Trip Advisor for our town and the province for many of the 14 years we have been in business and believe we have earned that spot through hard work, great customer service, a hearty & interesting breakfast and a sense of humour. We know how important vacations are to everyone and feel badly that this is this person’s memory of staying overnight in Lunenburg. If it was us, we apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed in Lynn's Bed and Breakfast for one night the first week of October.

The house was lovely, the rooms wonderfully decorated, and Lynn's hospitality made us feel right at home.

The Ashlea House is located in a very quiet area, walking distance to all attractions in Lunenburg. We felt as though we were the only guests, even though it was a full house.

Breakfast the next day was terrific, and everyone enjoyed Schooner, the very friendly dog.

Highly recommend you stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFoodie_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

All positives previously stated are accurate. Clean, comfortable, casual and gorgeous historic integrity maintained. Residential location with short walk to waterfront was ideal.
As many, we thoroughly enjoyed the fresh seafood food at Knot Pub.

Lynn, John and little Schooner, thanks for opening up your home for all of us to enjoy. We really did feel the warm welcome. Mary, great breakfast! All, keep up the excellent work. You are definitely on the right track.

I can appreciate the set breakfast time - it encourages all to participate in sharing their daily sight seeing experiences.

Lynn provided instructions for a few local scenic drives and the destinations were outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Straight_Forward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Lynn and her dog, Schooner: what a pleasant welcome. Lynn alone made our stay particularly memorable. She is funny, friendly, and her laugh is contagious. The inn is located outside the boundaries of Old Town Lunenburg, but no matter. It is a nice, short stroll through a park to get to the Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic and the town's historic waterfront. (Ask Lynn: she'll tell you where to find this easy detour off the town streets.)

The inn is beautiful, inside and out. We booked the adult half of the family suite. It was exactly as pictured on the website: spacious, clean, and well-appointed. It is located on the second floor, with a view out the front of the house. The Wi-Fi did not work for us, but there is a computer for guest use on the main floor.

The breakfast was a communal dining experience. We all sat at one table while family dishes / platters arrived, one after the other. (Take some, pass it around...) I travelled with a friend who has an aversion to a common ingredient found in many foods, and even though this aversion is not an allergy, Lynn was very accommodating to ensure he could partake in the breakfast. And there again, the website is accurate: breakfast consisted of pancakes, grilled sausage, eggs, homemade baked beans, grilled potatoes, fruit, and yogurt (plus coffee, tea, and juice of course).

We left well fed, well rested, and as mentioned, entertained. This was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KB002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Boscawen Inn
Boscawen Inn
#4 of 25 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#7 of 25 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashlea House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashlea House B&B

Property: Ashlea House B&B
Address: 42 Falkland, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashlea House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to enjoy Lunenburg's cherished Ashlea House, a registered historic house restored to its original grandeur. Perfectly situated; a short five minute stroll along the historic harbour into the core of Old Town Lunenburg. Enjoy your day and then retire to Lunenburg’s only B&B/Inn to boast so many common areas: first floor parlours, Victorian Gazebo, sitting areas in "Martha's Garden," an authentic Widow's Walk and a third-floor lounge & outside deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Ashlea House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashlea House B&B Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing