We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Winter Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Smugglers Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smugglers Cove Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Livermore, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Winter Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in April 2014. It was off season but it couldn't have been more perfect. The hotel was charming, clean and very comfortable. The owners were very friendly and helpful with information about the town, Lunenburg and the area. We would love to go back in the fall and would stay here again. We recommend The Smugglers Cove Inn for your holiday.

Room Tip: I clicked pool by mistake and couldn't undo. There is no pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhonda542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    118
    27
    9
    0
See reviews for
66
156
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

I have stayed at this Inn on several occasions in the spring and fall of 2013 while working in Lunenburg and I can say that the rooms, staff and location of this place are all great. Lunenburg is a great little town and while visiting I highly recommend you stay at this Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank troy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed there for one night in December. I know that it's not the best time to visit Lunenburg but it was actually nice to have the town to yourself. The Smugglers Cove Inn was a very nice hotel with very spacious rooms. We were upgraded to a King room (one of the benefits of staying in the off season I guess) it comes with free wifi that was pretty weak but the downtown core of Lunenburg has wifi which you can pick up from the hotel. As it was the off season the front desk was a little difficult to track down but when we did they were very pleasant and took care of any questions we had. I would stay there again, maybe we'll try the summer next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at this property on our last day of our quick 5 day whirlwind tour of Nova Scotia in mid October. We arrived the week after Thanksgiving after the holiday weekend crowds had left. Check in was quick and pleasant and our room was charming! Small but functional tastfully decorated with a nice view of the main street and harbour. We enjoyed having a balcony though we really didn't have much time to sit and enjoy it. We enjoyed a tasty breakfast in the restaurant adjoining the hotel - especially nice to have a $$$ off coupon given to us at check-in! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cafeloverCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOURCOICE, Owner at Smugglers Cove Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us, it was a pleasure to have you and we hope you will return to Lunenburg at another time. All the best for both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

This Inn was our favorite during our ten day trip in the Nova Scotia area. We had a front corner room with a balcony which added a special charm as we overlooked the town and the water. The room was clean, nicely decorated and very quiet. The elevator is a definite plus! We happened to leave 3 items hanging in the closet when we checked out but we didn't realize it until the following day and I emailed the hotel. They mailed the items to our home in the States and stayed in contact with us until they knew we had received them. The only negative we found with this location was the parking as you have to park on the street. Arriving mid afternoon, we had some difficulty finding a place but overall I wouldn't let this deter anyone from staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lwt_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOURCOICE, Owner at Smugglers Cove Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you again for staying with us. It was a pleasure having you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield Yorkshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

we got a room upgrade to a lovely corner room. It was comfortable and the staff were helpful. We had not realised though that breakfast was not included and that a 3$CD voucher towards that would be provided. The restaurant breakfast was OK, but service a bit slow and the orange juice never materialised on a quiet Sunday morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazzy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a lovely little inn one street back from the harbour and very central to everything. We had a very pleasant surprise upon arrival--due to a cancellation we were given a corner room with a balcony, and had a partial view of the harbour from both our window and the balcony. The concierge was very helpful in recommending places to shop, dine and see. All in all a delightful stay.

Room Tip: Room 302 has a little balcony with a view of Lunenburg Harbour. It is also a corner room and has op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJ-JS87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Topmast Motel
Topmast Motel
#5 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashlea House B&B
Ashlea House B&B
#3 of 25 in Lunenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#7 of 25 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cove Inn

Property: Smugglers Cove Inn
Address: 139 Montague Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smugglers Cove Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Lunenburg's colourful waterfront, we offer our guests a great variety of rooms. You can choose from queen size beds to king size beds or you might stay in a spacious apartment with a kitchenette overlooking the water. In any case, our elevator provides easy access to all our individually appointed rooms.The moment you arrive, you will surrender to the warm ambiance and friendly service and style. Our hotel is the perfect choice for any traveller to Lunenburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Smugglers Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cove Hotel
Smugglers Cove Inn Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing