We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of Smugglers Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smugglers Cove Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Simple, clean, well appointed, friendly, comfortable, what more can I say?
Best bed I have slept in for years.
Parking might be a problem if the place is full, so check first.
I had no problems with off street parking as it was mid June, cold, wet and windy.
Great WiFi signal too.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank PickyDinerYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    121
    28
    9
    0
See reviews for
69
162
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a couple nights and it was very simple and comfortable. All the basics covered. A little deck which was great in the evening to enjoy the sunset.
Looks freshly renovated and refurnished.
The front desk service was very good and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OracleX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

The innkeeper, Eva, was very welcoming and helpful to us upon our arrival, and the room was bright, cozy, clean, and very comfortable. The view from our balcony was lovely. An elevator up to our third floor room was a plus because we had a fair amount of luggage to haul. We enjoyed our stay here, and we would stay here again without hesitation.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PortlandRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, NS
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Smuggler's is close to the action. A nice quick walk to Ironworks distillery for a tasting. Went there for a weekend getaway and felt very much in a small "hotel" with the same charm. The food on site was mediocre and the atmosphere was bland. I have since went back and stayed at other places in Lunenburg and would put Smugglers at the bottom of my list. It doesn't really look true to pictures on their site and its just missing a certain something. We went for dinner at the Kings Plate in town and once we got into that Victorian beauty of an inn (Mariner King) we didn't want to go back to our place.

Room Tip: There are some rooms with a balcony. These are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendywalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOURCOICE, Owner at Smugglers Cove Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay last fall. As you already mentioned Kings Plate and Smugglers Cove Inn are very different establishments. One is very Victorian and the other is very modern but also comfortable. Our pictures are true and we managed to hire a wonderful Chef who is serving very good food in our newly renovated (not Victorian) Restaurant. I would be very happy to serve at your next visit in Lunenburg. Please let me know.
Best Regards,
Eva Ziegler
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Traveling coast to coast we ended up in Lunenburg, NS late in the afternoon. We spotted Smugglers Cove Inn right in the center of town. Decent price and a very authentic little room with a little balcony overlooking the street. The lady at reception was so Nova Scotia ...laid back and friendly. This is the kind of little old, but very cool kind of hotel I love. Comfortable and clean..nothing fancy but true to the area. Sitting on the balcony you're right in the middle of old Lunenburg. Definitely a great little town (actually a heritage site) and while we were there we toured the Bluenose 2 construction site...superb. Great little restaurant up the street and they stayed open for us past closing while we finished. I love this town. Take an afternoon and get lost...great little shops and an authentic fishing village with a great history. Breakfast in the little restaurant below the rooms was great. Great atmosphere and friendly people. We pulled into the gas station at the end of the main street and the lady at the counter was fabulously Nova Scotian, with the thick accent and all. I tried to do the city thing and just pay the bill but we had a great 20 minute conversation with all the local slang and native cuss words and some great country wisdom about her husband. We felt like we lived in Lunenburg for a day and a half. This cute little hotel is just part of the woodwork. Love this town...it's a must see if you're anywhere near. About a 20 minute drive south is a place called the Ovens. It's a private park ($8 to get in) and you can wander through some amazing sea caves where they mined gold 100 years ago. Fantastic for pictures. This whole area is fabulous...loved it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmc19751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed in the hotel across the street (also owned by Smugglers Cove Inn) for four months and it was a great experience. The staff was very friendly and even drove back in the middle of the night when I locked myself out. In my room was a bed, pull-out coach, stove top, mini fridge, and full bathroom. The cable and strong wi-fi were also bonuses. I would recommend staying here whether it is for a night or much longer.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ShawnA356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on a short road trip through Nova Scotia and were very pleased with the place. The front office staff were very welcoming and helpful in true maritime fashion. Location was wonderful and right in the middle of all the action, mind you there was not much action in October. Rooms were standard, clean and "cute", although noise pollution from outdoors and hallways wasn't ideal (likely isolated incidents, however). Good value for the money and free parking was a bonus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trvlbug31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
299 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brigantine Inn
Brigantine Inn
#13 of 25 in Lunenburg
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#7 of 25 in Lunenburg
233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashlea House B&B
Ashlea House B&B
#3 of 25 in Lunenburg
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cove Inn

Property: Smugglers Cove Inn
Address: 139 Montague Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Smugglers Cove Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Lunenburg's colourful waterfront, we offer our guests a great variety of rooms. You can choose from queen size beds to king size beds or you might stay in a spacious apartment with a kitchenette overlooking the water. In any case, our elevator provides easy access to all our individually appointed rooms.The moment you arrive, you will surrender to the warm ambiance and friendly service and style. Our hotel is the perfect choice for any traveller to Lunenburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Smugglers Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cove Hotel
Smugglers Cove Inn Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing