We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine but basic and noisy”
Review of Smugglers Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smugglers Cove Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for two nights at the end of a week around Nova Scotia. The reception staff were very accommodating, and the hotel is in a great location in beautiful downtown Lunenburg. Rooms are pretty basic, though, and the décor is a little strange. We had a zebra striped bedspread. It felt a bit like a dorm room—with low-end furnishings and casual common areas. Our biggest issue was noise. The walls are very, very thin. The hotel didn’t seem to be super full, but we heard every hallway conversation and door shutting. We even heard neighbors sneezing and coughing. If it was a high occupancy time, I think this would be a big problem. For the price, it would have been nice to have breakfast included, especially since parking is street only. Our stay here was generally fine, but it didn’t feel like great value for a basic hotel experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
There are newer reviews for Smugglers Cove Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 333 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

I checked in after a horrible experience at the Boscawan Inn located 2 blocks away, Eva was so king and accomodating and allowed me to view several rooms before checking in, She also allowed me to check in at 10 am without any additional charges,
The room on the 3rd floor was very comfortable, well decorated, bright and cheerful with a refriigerator, coffee service and air conditioner. There was also a large lobby area outside my room where we (guests) were able to gather and share experiences
The staff throughout the hotel were extremely friendly and hnelpful, Close to the harbour It was the perfect place to stay,

Congratulations to Eva and her team for running such a lovely facility with excellent customer service, rooms, location and most of all empathy for a traveller who was somewhat disenchanted by a prior experience.

RoseMarie Jullion, Calgary

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoseMarie1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Comfy bed, nice size tv with plenty of channels, small fridge, nice size bath, clean, friendly staff, and air conditioning. There are 3 steps leading into the hotel. There are 3 floors. It has an elevator but coming out of it there are a couple of steps into the mini seating area leading to the rooms which may be difficult for older guests. My only compliant is it sounded like the windows were open due to an improperly fitted air conditioner (could hear all of the street noise). Hotel provided a $3 off coupon for each of us to the Scuttlebutt Cafe next door for breakfast (great!).
Recommend both!
The location is great! It is one street back from the wharf and is surrounded by many restaurants and galleries. The fishing museum is in one direction and the Dory is the other (neither are far).
Halifax is a small town and you can easily get around by foot.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The friendly staff really made this place for us. We were instantly welcomed when we arrived. Our third floor room was serviced by a lift, a bonus with the luggage. The Inn in nicely decorated with cosy seating areas for reading and even a piano tucked away for anyone wishing to have a play.

Our room was a good size and cosy. We felt very comfortable and at home there and it's location by the harbour made access to shops and restaurants really easy. Free parking is available just around the corner so this was really convenient too.

Breakfast is not provided, but you can walk through to the cafe next door from the Inn's lobby. Alternatively you can try out the other cafes and eateries nearby which serve breakfast.

We'd agree with a previous review that there is a European atmosphere at this German owned inn. The receptionist (British when we arrived) was very helpful and offered great tips and always remembered us.

Overall a great stay in a lovely part of Nova Scotia.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fearon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I spent a few days touring around our neighboring province of Nova Scotia. We arrived in Lunenburg mid-week and took a chance on getting accomodations for one night at "Smuggler's Cove Inn". We were in luck. They had a room overlooking the harbour with an oh so comfortable king size bed. We enjoyed the Town and the Inn so much we decided to stay a second night. I would recommend this place to anyone. Comfortable bed, super clean room and bathroom, beautifully decorated, close to everything, very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed three nights at this lovely hotel in late June, 2012. I liked it the minute we walked in the door. The reception desk was like something from the past - all wood with a great receptionist to greet us. Our room was spacious, very, very clean, and had comfortable beds. The "botique" hotel also had an elevator. Although the room rate did not include breakfast, there was a nice restaurant just through a door from the elevator. Coupons given to us at registration gave a discount. Food was fresh and imaginative and very tasty. Eva, the owner, was gracious. I'd highy recommend the Smuggler's Cove when you visit the quaint town of Lunenburg.
Ann & Jim - Basking Ridge,NJ

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor were very nice.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Smugglers Cove in Lunenburg for two nights in August.
The location is great....right downtown where shops, water,restaurants, and sites are located.
Be aware that Lunenburg is very hilly...the streets can be a bit of a climb. The one thing we found a bit annoying was the parking situation. The hotel has no parking and you are on your own to find it. Luckily we were able after quite a few trips around the block and then moved our care when things died down
Rooms are not fancy! but clean and comfortable.
We would stay here again.

Room Tip: There is an elevator and also a washer and dryer on the floor.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
318 reviews
0.7 mi away
Topmast Motel
Topmast Motel
#6 of 6 in Lunenburg
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages
0.9 mi away
Homeport Motel
Homeport Motel
#4 of 6 in Lunenburg
117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashlea House B&B
Ashlea House B&B
#3 of 26 in Lunenburg
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cove Inn

Address: 139 Montague Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Price Range: $91 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Smugglers Cove Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Lunenburg's colourful waterfront, we offer our guests a great variety of rooms. You can choose from queen size beds to king size beds or you might stay in a spacious apartment with a kitchenette overlooking the water. In any case, our elevator provides easy access to all our individually appointed rooms.The moment you arrive, you will surrender to the warm ambiance and friendly service and style. Our hotel is the perfect choice for any traveller to Lunenburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Smugglers Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cove Hotel
Smugglers Cove Inn Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing