We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Three star hotel in five star location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Smugglers Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smugglers Cove Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Three star hotel in five star location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

This was a nice place to stay, and had all the bare necessities. The room was fine, but unremarkable. The front desk employees were nice and helped with a few questions. The location is unbeatable - just a minute from the water, really, and on the same street as all the popular businesses. Everything is within five minutes walking time. There is no parking lot, however, so you will need to find an unmetered spot.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    118
    27
    9
    0
See reviews for
66
156
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I just stayed here for two nights on our east coast trip. We found Lunenburg to be super cute, idealic and packed full of nice people and tasty food. The inn is not comparable to a fancy hotel in the least as the rooms are small and plain with older tvs and small bathrooms. I didn't care for the extremely floral decor, the loud wall AC or the peeling wall paper, but we found those things insignificant when you take into account the town setting of the inn. we found it to be a good place to stay in order to get the full experience of this lovely town. The king bed was one of the comfiest beds I have ever slept in and the location was excellent. We didn't have a need to move our car during our entire stay. The woman at the front seemed to indicate that parking might be hard to find (during the folk harbor festival) but we didn't have a problem which was great. The price was a little more than I would typically feel the stay was worth, but we did stay during peak season and I'm not sure if the prices were inflated a little due to the festival? But overall it was a relaxing and comfortable stay

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank me_nicole_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Last week, we spent one night at the Smuggler's Cove Inn. It was the second Inn we stayed at in Lunenburg as we wanted to be down by the water. Great location and very comfortable beds. We didn't have a reservation and got a great oceanview room during the Tall Ships festivals. Only downside was there is very little parking and lucked out getting a parking spot in the inn's four parking stall parking lot down the street.

Loved how close we were to restaurants, the harbour, and the fisheries museum.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRM1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We spent one night at Smuggler's Cove and had two rooms. The Inn is in a fantastic location and is clean and pleasant but it isn't in any way charming or unique or particularly wonderful in any way. There is no parking and no place to unload your luggage. Check in was fine. Room rate included $3 coupon per person at Scuttlebutt restaurant next door -- friendly service providing what you didn't order. Hotel seemed expensive relatively speaking and there were lots of alternatives nearby with vacancies even on a July Saturday night. I would investigate the other options.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mom45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
313 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

At its core, Lunenburg really is just a small town, so there aren't many accommodation options that won't cost you an arm and a leg - the SCI is probably the best priced in town. It's nothing fancy, but you can see that they're trying hard. They have three floors with varied room options. There are cute touches throughout, like an old organ tucked in a niche on the second floor, and a little seating area with shared magazine and books on the third floor.

Our room was probably the smallest size available, yet still had a desk, a side table and comfy chair, armoire, etc. The bathroom was super teeny, but cute. The A/C was a problem, as it cycled from cool to warm air, alternately freezing and roasting you during the night.

Breakfast isn't included, but they provided discount coupons for the cute adjoining restaurant, the Scuttlebutt.

I should mention that the Inn isn't really suitable for those with some physical limitations. There are three steep steps up to the entry, steps when you get off the small elevator on the third, and the bathroom is very tight. Perhaps the second floor with a larger room might work, but it's something to bear in mind.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lomimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed one night in the Smugglers Cove Inn on our Nova Scotia trip. It has an excellent location, very comfortable rooms, and is very well maintained. it is really two properties joined together, and most importantly, for older persons, it has an elevator! The owners and staff gave us excellent sightseeing and dining recommendations. I left my watch behind, and on calling them they promptly looked and found it, and mailed it to my home at their cost.That is truly excellent customer service. I'd recommend them anytime.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Athithi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level Contributor
294 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

The location is perfect. It is an easy walk to restaurants and things to see and do at the harbor. There is not a lot of parking when the town is busy. Our room was clean and comfortable and the building itself has historic appeal. The front desk was helpful when we had questions and when we needed to do some laundry after kayaking and fishing trips. The attached restaurant had a fantastic breakfast and the desk gave us discount coupons for that.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janna64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Topmast Motel
Topmast Motel
#5 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashlea House B&B
Ashlea House B&B
#3 of 25 in Lunenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#7 of 25 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cove Inn

Property: Smugglers Cove Inn
Address: 139 Montague Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smugglers Cove Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Lunenburg's colourful waterfront, we offer our guests a great variety of rooms. You can choose from queen size beds to king size beds or you might stay in a spacious apartment with a kitchenette overlooking the water. In any case, our elevator provides easy access to all our individually appointed rooms.The moment you arrive, you will surrender to the warm ambiance and friendly service and style. Our hotel is the perfect choice for any traveller to Lunenburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Smugglers Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cove Hotel
Smugglers Cove Inn Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing