We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Place to Stay”
Review of Smugglers Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Smugglers Cove Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Last week, we spent one night at the Smuggler's Cove Inn. It was the second Inn we stayed at in Lunenburg as we wanted to be down by the water. Great location and very comfortable beds. We didn't have a reservation and got a great oceanview room during the Tall Ships festivals. Only downside was there is very little parking and lucked out getting a parking spot in the inn's four parking stall parking lot down the street.

Loved how close we were to restaurants, the harbour, and the fisheries museum.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRM1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 347 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

We spent one night at Smuggler's Cove and had two rooms. The Inn is in a fantastic location and is clean and pleasant but it isn't in any way charming or unique or particularly wonderful in any way. There is no parking and no place to unload your luggage. Check in was fine. Room rate included $3 coupon per person at Scuttlebutt restaurant next door -- friendly service providing what you didn't order. Hotel seemed expensive relatively speaking and there were lots of alternatives nearby with vacancies even on a July Saturday night. I would investigate the other options.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mom45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

At its core, Lunenburg really is just a small town, so there aren't many accommodation options that won't cost you an arm and a leg - the SCI is probably the best priced in town. It's nothing fancy, but you can see that they're trying hard. They have three floors with varied room options. There are cute touches throughout, like an old organ tucked in a niche on the second floor, and a little seating area with shared magazine and books on the third floor.

Our room was probably the smallest size available, yet still had a desk, a side table and comfy chair, armoire, etc. The bathroom was super teeny, but cute. The A/C was a problem, as it cycled from cool to warm air, alternately freezing and roasting you during the night.

Breakfast isn't included, but they provided discount coupons for the cute adjoining restaurant, the Scuttlebutt.

I should mention that the Inn isn't really suitable for those with some physical limitations. There are three steep steps up to the entry, steps when you get off the small elevator on the third, and the bathroom is very tight. Perhaps the second floor with a larger room might work, but it's something to bear in mind.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lomimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed one night in the Smugglers Cove Inn on our Nova Scotia trip. It has an excellent location, very comfortable rooms, and is very well maintained. it is really two properties joined together, and most importantly, for older persons, it has an elevator! The owners and staff gave us excellent sightseeing and dining recommendations. I left my watch behind, and on calling them they promptly looked and found it, and mailed it to my home at their cost.That is truly excellent customer service. I'd recommend them anytime.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Athithi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The location is perfect. It is an easy walk to restaurants and things to see and do at the harbor. There is not a lot of parking when the town is busy. Our room was clean and comfortable and the building itself has historic appeal. The front desk was helpful when we had questions and when we needed to do some laundry after kayaking and fishing trips. The attached restaurant had a fantastic breakfast and the desk gave us discount coupons for that.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janna64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Friendly and helpful staff. Within walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LanYin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for three nights last week after a week in Prince Edward Island and would thoroughly recommend it and Lunenburg to others. We arrived a day early due to a booking mistake on my part but the very helpful German receptionist (I did not get her name) accommodated us with no problem.
Our room was very spacious, especially in comparison to our previous nights at Dalvay by the Sea, and the decor was modern and welcoming. We didn't have a sea view but did not expect it and the room was very bright and airy and our king-size bed the best of our holiday. Breakfast was not included in our deal but we were given vouchers towards breafast at the Scuttlebutt which adjoins the property and does a good breakfast. Another great place is the Savvy Sailor where we had breakfast on the deck.
Lunenberg is a small town but has plenty to occupy you. We were there 3 days but could have done with longer. A special mention for the Fisheries Museum and the library if you need to use the internet.
For restarants, the Rum Runner is excellent with it's farm to fork policy and we also enjoyed the Salt Shaker Deli. There are so many great places we will have to go back.

Room Tip: We had 208 which had no sea view but was very quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlaJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lunenburg
0.1 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
325 reviews
11.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Bridgewater Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Topmast Motel
Topmast Motel
#6 of 6 in Lunenburg
102 reviews
0.9 mi away
Homeport Motel
Homeport Motel
#4 of 6 in Lunenburg
119 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cove Inn

Address: 139 Montague Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Price Range: $86 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Smugglers Cove Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Lunenburg's colourful waterfront, we offer our guests a great variety of rooms. You can choose from queen size beds to king size beds or you might stay in a spacious apartment with a kitchenette overlooking the water. In any case, our elevator provides easy access to all our individually appointed rooms.The moment you arrive, you will surrender to the warm ambiance and friendly service and style. Our hotel is the perfect choice for any traveller to Lunenburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Smugglers Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cove Hotel
Smugglers Cove Inn Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing