We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Addington Arms B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lunenburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Addington Arms Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 25 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love the Addington Arms B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2005

We stayed Sept 18-05 for 3 nights. It was a wonderful experience. Great bed, nice linens, excellent breakfast. The owners Chris and Dan were really helpful and nice. We would definitely stay there again

Helpful?
5 Thank SharonFaithRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
189
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2005

We stayed at the Addington Arms Inn during our travels through Nova Scotia and had to write to tell others what a wonderful stay we had there. We were on the top floor overlooking the water in the most incredable room it was actually a 3 room suite at hotel standards. The view was beautiful, the room was very large and so beautifull, the breakfast was delicious and our hosts were the mose hospitable couple we have met yet in our B & B stays. We would highly recommend this Inn to anyone going through this area as a must do. There is even a steam shower in the bathrooms!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dkona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2005

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Addington Arms earlier this month, when we were in Lunenburg for the Folk Harbour Festival. It was our second time at the festival and at the Addington Arms, which I found through an internet search in 2003. Both of our stays were wonderful, and I recommend this B&B wholeheartedly.

What drew me to the Addington Arms when I visited the website originally was the size of the rooms, their separate seating areas, and their distinctive decor. We stayed in the Flying Jib room on both stays, and were not disappointed. In addition to its harbor view, the purple walls and modern and interesting furnishings were a welcome change from the "fussy doily" look in many B&Bs. There was plenty of space to relax when we wanted a break from the festival, and it was an easy walk from the B&B to anywere in town. The Addington Arms rates a best B&B bathroom award for its gorgeous sea green mosaic tile walls and nifty looking tile floor. These innkeepers don't skimp on towels either.

Christine and Dan are exceptionally thoughtful and welcoming hosts who go the extra mile for their guests -- helpful in their suggestions and generous with their time and efforts. Dan's breakfasts, served in an attractive dining room, make delicious use of seasonal local ingredients and keep you fueled for much of the day. Chris has made it a point to sample the restaurants in town, and she knows which ones to recommend (or not). It felt like seeing old friends when we came in the door for our second visit. We're also among the many fans of Bodacious (Beau), their friendly and mellow big dog.

Lunenburg, a UNESCO historic site, is known for its harbor scenery, its history with the Bluenose, and its architecturally distinctive old houses, many in superb shape and painted in adventuresome colors that remind me a bit of San Francisco on a smaller scale. Lunenburg also makes an excellent base for exploring this part of Nova Scotia.

A couple of good new restaurants have opened since our first stay (Chris can direct you). Our favorite remains Rissers -- get the smoked tomato soup appetizer. The Knot Pub also has some of the better pub food around.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mermaid86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2005

My husband and I just returned from a fabulous long weekend in
Lunenburg, Nova Scotia. We booked a three night stay at the Addington
Arms based on the pictures on their web site and the Trip Advisor
comments from other guests. We were not disappointed, but over the moon thrilled with what we found. Our room (The Top Sail) was spacious,
Buckingham Palace clean, and beautifully decorated. The bed and linens
are top quality and we had three restful sleeps in the Queen Size bed.
The bathroom may have been my favourite room. Not your typical B&B
bathroom. It is large, modern, clean and equipped with a two person
steam shower. The bathroom towels were top quality too. We also had our
own living area - with a fold out leather couch, chairs, coffee table
and television. A great room to curl up with a good book and stare out
the window and look at the harbour.

Each breakfast was amazing and no plate left the dining room with a speck
of food left on them. Highlights of the meals were smoked salmon and
eggs, freshly baked cinnamon buns, home made baked beans, Nova Scotia, ham, yogurt with wild blueberries, five types of juices and coffee.

Our hosts Dan and Chris really made us feel at home. They helped us plan our days and recommended one of the best French restaurants outside of
France. The owner and chef of the restaurant worked at a three Michelin
Star restaurant in France. It is a two minute walk from the house, so we
were able to leave our car at the B&B and order an extra bottle of wine
at dinner. Chris arranged a table outside for us in the restaurant's
private garden. It was an ideal weekend. We can't wait to return and
recommend this place to everyone. This is without a doubt the best B&B.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2005

Just stayed at the Addington Arms... Wow! The reviews and the pictures do not do justice to this B&B. A wonderful B&B smack in the middle of Old Lunenburg. Our room was nicer than any room at the Ritz. This is how to run and operate a B&B. Our bedroom was large, spotless and had beautiful furnishings - loved the steam shower in the mornings. The bedroom also had a seperate sitting room with tv (with cable), vcr and large leather couch. Nice having a mini-fridge in the room for storing cold drinks. Breakfasts were fabulous and plentiful and prepared by the owner Dan. "Thanks Dan". Chris the other owner was helpful in getting us reservations at some of the better restaurants in town that we wouldn't have found without her help. We'll be back!!!

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2005

Lunenburg is one of our favourite places in Canada and we return again and again for the beauty, good food, and the Bluenose. This year we stayed at the Addington Arms for the second time, having discovered it last year, and it truly felt like coming home. Chris and Dan are wonderful hosts, and welcomed us back like old friends; they are well-informed about local attractions and little-known side trips and happy to share their information in a non-intrusive way. Our room was very spacious and comfortable, with a great view of the Lunenburg waterfront. The sound therapy is a lovely, novel touch, adding to the peacefulness and relaxation. And the breakfasts - oh the breakfasts! We always stay at B&Bs when we travel and these breakfasts are tops in terms of taste, fresh ingredients, attractive presentation. Then there is Beaudy, Chris and Dan's dog, who makes guests feel as welcome as they do! I recommend the Addington Arms enthusiastically; I know we will return again and again.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TOwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2005

We stayed two nights at the Addington Arms as part of our honeymoon, and I thought that the Addington Arms was the best place we stayed at the entire road trip. Prior to staying at the Addington Arms, we stayed at the Fairmont Copley (Boston) and Fairmont Algonquin (St Andrews), which although were nice, did not compare to our experience at the Addington Arms B&B. We will definitely come back!

Reasons why we'll return:
- Super friendly hosts. Chris is a really interesting person to talk to and steered us to all the "must-see" sites and "must-eat" restaurants nearby.
- Central location. Sites are easily walkable from B&B.
- Large, well appointed rooms. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms on the 2nd level, but it was four times the size of a standard hotel room, contained a sitting area and mini fridge, and had an aromatherapy shower which was the perfect cap to a long day
- Breakfast. Hearty and delicious - Dan was a former Executive Chef at a restaurant in Toronto and it shows
- Price. Very reasonable given level of service and quality received.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ashlea House B&B
Ashlea House B&B
#3 of 25 in Lunenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boscawen Inn
Boscawen Inn
#4 of 25 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addington Arms Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addington Arms Bed and Breakfast

Property: Addington Arms Bed and Breakfast
Address: 27 Cornwallis Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Addington Arms B&B sits atop 2 fine art galleries and atop the six square block historic district of this UNESCO world heritage site, affording ocean views from all of our suites and room. Shopping, dining and exploring are all just steps outside your front door. We are not your typical B&B but more akin to a boutique hotel, with stocked mini fridges, TV's and en-suite steam-rooms with aroma therapy or an air-jet tub in very spacious surroundings. On-site parking is available as street parking is problematic in the summer months. Our breakfasts are as memorable as the town of Lunenburg itself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Addington Arms Bed And Breakfast Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing