We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad to be at the Addington”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lunenburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Addington Arms Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 25 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Glad to be at the Addington”
Reviewed May 11, 2008

Spent May 8th &9th in the "Flying Jib" room at Addington Arms and I it was a good choice. The room was huge, and Chris seemed to have a genuine interest in our comfort. One example in particular had her offering me her own cold medication as she noticed I was under the weather. The breakfasts were excellent, and based on the locals we spoke to, they were renowned within the community as well. Lunenburg itself can be a bit of a challenge for some to walk due to the hills, and the location of Addington Arms doesn't escape this challenge. Given the great treatment we received however, the "walk" was well worth it.

The only issue that may bother some is some slight noise - being an older buidling, it's pretty easy to hear a variety of things (i.e. people walking in the room above, coming in and out of the building, etc.). Ultimately it didn't affect us at all, and we would have no issue returning for another stay at the Addington Arms.

  • Liked — The host and the wonderful food
  • Disliked — The pillows!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
189
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2008

I only had the privilege to spend one night at the Addington Arms Bed and Breakfast in Lunenburg, but that just gives me added incentive to come back again and again.
I spent a week exploring Nova Scotia, and this property provided, by far, the best accommodations I had the entire time. The owners, Dan and Chris, were warm, friendly and welcoming from the moment I stepped in the door. I booked the Spankersail Suite, which was superlative in its amenities and its beachy decor--it made me feel quite at home in this historic seaside town.
The amenities include a parkling clean, private bathroom with jet-air tub, queen-sized bed, sitting room with leather couch and armchair, fully equipped with TV/VCR, candles, reading material, and bedside sound therapy. I could have spent an entire week there!
I dined the next morning in solitary splendor (I was the only guest at the time) in a lovely dining room, on superlative, fresh food cooked by Dan (an omelet sprinkled with fresh chives from the garden)--my compliments to the chef .
The hosts are very accommodating and their hospitality was superb. I truly hope to return some time.
Lunenburg is an amazing town--a UNESCO World Heritage Site--and worth taking some time to explore.

  • Liked — Hospitality of hosts, amenities, location, delicious food, spaciousness
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank naturegirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2008

This B&B was impeccable! Our room, the Topsail Suite, was flawless, comfortable and just gorgeous. The breakfasts were very fancy yet very comfortable and the innkeepers were so incredibly friendly and helpful!
The location was right in town but I would not recommend it to people who are disabled or have difficulty walking. It's at the center of a large hill so everything is on an incline. Also, the staircase is huge and steep - fine for us but again, tough for someone who has a hard time getting around easily.

  • Liked — Location, room, food, service
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heyteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2007

Fabulous in every way. Great suite (bedroom and a separate sitting area, huge bathroom with steam shower), great view of the water from the sitting area. Delicious, filling breakfast with plenty of options. Chris is a great host--has great tips for Lunenburg and surrounding areas. Everything was terrific. Lunenburg is a terrific walking town as well, if you don't mind steep hills--lots to look at and see.

  • Liked — Hosts, Spaciousness of suite, steam shower, location and view
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mountainseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland BC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2007

We just spent two nights at the Addington Arms and it was a wonderful experience. The room is beautifully renovated and very big. Antique furnishings throughout the inn makes you feel as if you stepped back in time.
Chris has a wonderful sense of humor and Dan's breakfasts are to die for.
Thanks for a most memorable stay , we'll be back!
Betty and Peter Jankowski

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Razorback103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2007

WOW!!! AMAZING place to stay, warm atmosphere and views over Lunenberg harbour. OK, not to forget Chris and Dan - superb hosts, loved the culinary delight perfomed by Dan every morning - only to be complimented by Chris' charm and knowledge of where to go and what to do!

Many , many thanks,

Matt and Colleen from Victoria

  • Liked — The spacious suites and the down to earth hospitality
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Garden_GirlVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2007

We spent one night at the Addington Arms B&B and all I can say is that we wished we could have stayed longer. Our suite was beautiful, cozy and spotlessly clean. Chris and Dan run a very tight ship, from the creature comforts in the room (Jacuzzi tub equipped with an assortment of bubble bath bottles to choose from) to a scrumptious breakfast in the morning. Although the entry way is not that impressive, the upper floor where the rooms and dinning room are, is very inviting. The owners restored the house beautifully, paying a lot of attention to details. The pictures in the web don’t do it justice. Finally, Chris is such a gracious hostess, offering all kinds of helpful advice about places to visit, where to dine, etc. All this and the fact that the house is centrally located make it a wonderful place to stay in Lunenburg (Town which we absolutely loved!)

  • Liked — Comfort, location and breakfast
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunnyInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ashlea House B&B
Ashlea House B&B
#3 of 25 in Lunenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boscawen Inn
Boscawen Inn
#4 of 25 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addington Arms Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addington Arms Bed and Breakfast

Property: Addington Arms Bed and Breakfast
Address: 27 Cornwallis Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Addington Arms B&B sits atop 2 fine art galleries and atop the six square block historic district of this UNESCO world heritage site, affording ocean views from all of our suites and room. Shopping, dining and exploring are all just steps outside your front door. We are not your typical B&B but more akin to a boutique hotel, with stocked mini fridges, TV's and en-suite steam-rooms with aroma therapy or an air-jet tub in very spacious surroundings. On-site parking is available as street parking is problematic in the summer months. Our breakfasts are as memorable as the town of Lunenburg itself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Addington Arms Bed And Breakfast Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing