We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Addington Arms: "Going that extra mile"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lunenburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Addington Arms Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 25 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Addington Arms: "Going that extra mile"”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We booked the Addington Arms after checking out a number of Trip advisor recommendations. We were looking for a home base for the Lunenburg folk harbour festival during the 2nd week of August. We stayed for 4 days and couldn't have been happier with our choice.
What was immediately apparent was the attention to detail, the knick knacks, the reading materials, the VCRs, the sparkling cleanliness and the spaciousness of our Spankersail suite. We were totally surprised to find a comfortably appointed sitting room. Bed was very comfortable, with choices of pillows, and the fans kept the rooms really comfortable and nicely supplemented the air conditioning.
Much has been written on T/A about the wonderful breakfasts which Dan prepares. Equally enjoyable is Chris' recitation of the menu du jour. Apart from the egg and meat dish of the day which rotates, mention should also be made of the fresh juices, breads and jams that are locally sourced.
Our connection with Chris and Dan actually began much before our arrival as we received restaurant information and suggestions, including the importance of reserving in advance due to the Festival crowds.
They were available for consultations and couldn't do enough for us, providing maps, filling us in on Lunenburg history and when a parcel didn't arrive from Halifax in time for our departure, forwarding it to our home in Toronto.
In addition to our pleasant stay at the Addington, I would be remiss if I didn't mention the quality of music and the organization of the Folk Harbour Festival. From the workshop venues to evening concerts in the big tent we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and look forward to a return to Lunenburg.

Room Tip: Aromatherapy anyone? check it out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AllanS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
189
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Addington Arms is in a perfect location within easy walking distance of the waterfront, shops and restaurants in Lunenberg, which is a charming and beautiful town. It is run by Chris and Dan who are excellent hosts and who provide a warm welcome upon arrival. Chris is more 'front of house' and clearly enjoys running a B&B whilst Dan - who spent many years as an executive chef - cooks up a superb breakfast each morning. The rooms are large and very clean with comfortable beds and good bathrooms. All in all, the Addington Arms is a very good choice and I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night in August at the Addington Arms. We wish we could have stayed longer but they were booked up and the room was not available. Chris, our host was a wonderful, charming woman who took time to recommend places to eat and places to visit. She recommended the Knot, which had good food and good portions. My husband bought a shirt from the restaurant, on Chris' recommendation. The B&B was different than others we had stayed in. It was right in town, and steps to restaurants and shops. The rooms were probably our favorite during our trip through Nova Scotia (did you notice I said rooms). I did not realize the room came with a sitting room. What a nice treat in the evening to sit in your own living space, drinking wine, listening to music, etc. The bedroom was clean and comfortable. But now the best part...breakfast...beside home made juices, Chris made a beautiful raised pancake served at the table. I can't remember it's real name but it was beautifully presented and a piece d resistance. She also served bacon and sausages from the local butcher. The only complaint I had was it was too much food...Chris were you trying to make us fat (LOL). Thanks for a wonderful stay, we will certainly be back if in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg/Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed two nights in September 2012 at the Addington Arms B&B in downtown Lunenburg, NS. The location is perfect for sightseeing, shopping, and walking to nearby restaurants. You can tell that Chris, our host at Addington Arms, loves running a bed and breakfast. The rooms are spotless, and Chris has great suggestions for things to see and do in the area, restaurants, etc. (She even gave us directions in finding the secluded house where Tom Selleck's character Jesse Stone lives in the television movie series that is filmed in the area.) But, I've save the best for last. The headline says it all. Chris serves up gourmet breakfasts each morning that you will long remember.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stonesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is a fantastic place to stay. Chris is a real charmer and her place is really great. Comfortable room, clean and nice. Steam shower was an unexpected awesome luxury. Great enthusiasm and recommendations for places to go in town. We had a drink and an app at The Knot, not to be missed. Had dinner at the Trattoria but only because Flor de Sel was booked solid. The Trattoria delivered the goods however and highly recommended as well. Breakfast was hearty, homemade and wholesome. Wish we could have stayed more than one night. Addington Arms is a real winner.

Room Tip: we stayed in the Flying Jib, great space, great bed, steam shower and view of the water too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seniorCoconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was the first ever B&B my husband and I stayed in and we were not disappointed! Beautiful building, great hosts, amazing food. Addington Arms has it all. When we arrived we were greeting by Chris who showed us to our room, it was beautiful! We were in the Flying Jib room. It had everything that you would need including a steam shower which my husband loved!! The view of the harbour was beautiful. The bed and sheets were amazing, the two big comfy chairs were such a treat to sit in at the end of the night and there was also a stocked fridge full of treats! The breakfast in the morning was the best breakfast I have ever had!! Tons of choices, and you will not have to eat for the rest of the day!! You will not be disappointed with Addington Arms. Highly recommend staying here. If my husband and I are able to return, this will be the place to come back to.

Scott & Charaty
August 24th, 2012

Room Tip: Flying Jib room has a great ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charaty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Addington Arms was our first B & B on our trip to the Maritimes, and we were more than thrilled. Chris warmly welcomed us when we arrived and took us to our room, The Flying Jib. We were immediately in awe with the overall decor and size of the room. From the deep purple walls to the brass canopy bed, comfy chairs to sit in and a lovely view of the harbour, this room was top notch! In addition, there was a steam shower with aromatherapy, a fridge stocked with beverages and snacks, and a bed with the most comfortable mattress and best sheets we have ever slept on. Chris also supplied us with a binder full of menus from local restaurants.

The following morning we were given a gourmet breakfast that included many choices of fruit juice, yogourt and a delicious omelette with sausages. We did not have to eat for the rest of the day!

We were absolutely delighted with every aspect of this Bed and Breakfast and we would highly recommend it to anyone who is visiting Lunenburg. Chris also showed us the other suites in Addington Arms. While the Flying Jib was very spacious, the suites were huge and had outstanding views of the harbour as well as lovely furnishings.

Thank you so much for giving us such a wonderful beginning to our vacation. We will be back!

David and Sandi

Room Tip: We were totally satisfied with the Flying Jib. However, suites on the top floor have an even better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ashlea House B&B
Ashlea House B&B
#3 of 25 in Lunenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boscawen Inn
Boscawen Inn
#4 of 25 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addington Arms Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addington Arms Bed and Breakfast

Property: Addington Arms Bed and Breakfast
Address: 27 Cornwallis Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Addington Arms B&B sits atop 2 fine art galleries and atop the six square block historic district of this UNESCO world heritage site, affording ocean views from all of our suites and room. Shopping, dining and exploring are all just steps outside your front door. We are not your typical B&B but more akin to a boutique hotel, with stocked mini fridges, TV's and en-suite steam-rooms with aroma therapy or an air-jet tub in very spacious surroundings. On-site parking is available as street parking is problematic in the summer months. Our breakfasts are as memorable as the town of Lunenburg itself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Addington Arms Bed And Breakfast Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing