We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Makeover” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rissers Social House - CLOSED

Rissers Social House
Cuisines: Canadian, American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Jacksonville, Florida and Lunenburg
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic Makeover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This restaurant used to be the Tin Fish. Wow has it changed since Chef Conrad came over from the now closed Kings Plate Restaurant in the fabulous Mariner King Inn. The decor has been changed and is very sophisticated, the table settings and dish wear are fine now. The food was very artfully presented and first rate. I had a shrimp dish. Their portions were ample. For those who doubt because of the history of this restaurant, I say give it another try. As for the obnoxious owner, if he should appear and be rude in our presence, we will give him a piece of our mind. An arrogant owner can bring down a restaurant in one season. Folks like this owner can't get away with their well known bad behavior anymore without it becoming public. He should be ashamed. Risser's Social House is on its way, thanks to Chef Conrad, but if people read any more user reviews about this antics, the venue will fail anyway.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank chellyfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lunenburg, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had read reviews that were very good and decided to celebrate my birthday at this restaurant. We ordered the surf and turf and the only good thing was the shrimp. The Vegetables were only warm when we were served and tasteless. The turf was like liver. We had ordered medium and it was served to us very well done and tasteless. We were very disappointed with our meal and also the service. The waitress forgot our wine, we had to request it. Will not be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank linric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
354 reviews
293 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
“Another Gem in Lunenburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We went to Risser's with friends who like us loved the food that Risser's Chef Konrad prepared while at the King's Plate. We weren't disappointed he still has the magical food touch. Three of the four had the Chef's special (Surf and Turf) and described it as wonderful. I had the pork tenderloin with scallops and shrimp. It was great. Service by Bonnie was wonderful.
All in all this was a memorable dinning experience. Go, you won't be disappointed.
Did I mention that the decor in both the Dinning room and Lounge is outstanding.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank nole38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A boorish owner ...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

I would have given this restaurant a 4 star for food preparation and service. The food was incredibly good and the service outstanding. However, there was an incident which thoroughly turned me off the restaurant.

Apparently my husband and I chose to dine the same evening as the "owner" and his "guests" did. We were treated to a spectacle of the owner dressing down a service staff member because he and his guests didn't have their usual table. There was a table of 10 reserved and the staff had that table set for the reservation. The owner was not happy and apparently a lot of people needed to know that. The owner forced the staff to put the reserved customers at another table so he could have his "usual" table. I was embarrassed for the staff and disgusted with the owner for treating people that way. Because of this I would never return nor would I recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glasgow, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A super find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were wandering around Lunenburg wondering whether we could find an easily accessible restaurant for an older lady with mobility issues. Rissers fit the bill entirely, with elevator service to the restaurant from the hotel lobby. A glance at their interesting menu board told us they were currently featuring fresh halibut in various presentations - we were hooked!

Cream of cauliflower soup and bacon-wrapped scallops were tasty appetizers. We each ordered a different halibut dish - yummy on all counts. Desserts were wonderful.

The atmosphere in this restaurant was casual chic in muted colours. There is an outdoor seating option if preferred. Service was courteous and timely - in all, we will definitely be returning to Rissers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NovaScotiaSunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rissers Social House also viewed

Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing