We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wellshire Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lunenburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Wellshire Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 25 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The Wellshire B & B is in a class of its own. The house is beautiful and spotlessly clean with a lovely garden and fish pond outside. We stayed in Room #1, which is large and includes an ensuite bath. The amenities are too numerous to list - sufficient to say that Robin has thought of everything and more.

We thoroughly enjoyed the top notch breakfast and conversation with Robin and our fellow guests. The only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

Don't hesitate to book a stay here - summer or winter, you will not be disappointed.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
147
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

If you are planning a trip to Lunenburg, stop what you are doing and book this beautiful B&B! Robin is a great host and makes you feel at home from the time you walk in the door of this brand new character reproduction home. His attention to detail is evident in all areas of the house. My husband and I spent 2 nights in room #1 which is very spacious with a beautiful ensuite bath including robes, slippers, and all toiletries. The room itself is huge with tv, tassimo, snack bars, and a big closet and dresser. The bed is super comfy, we slept with the window open so we could hear the gurgling of the koi pond below. Breakfasts were made to order and were delicious, and we loved visiting with Robin while we enjoyed his cooking. There is a beautiful flower garden/pond which we enjoyed for the short time we were there. This will be our home away from home next time we are in the Lunenburg area. Keep up the great work Robin!

Clayton & Brenda, Sherwood Park, AB

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms, both upstairs and equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 20Brenda13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside Albert, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

All I can say is that our stay here was such a lovely one! Our host, Robin, was a joy to spend time with over coffee at breakfast, after he prepared it! You'll be so surprized at the offerings, absolutely plentiful and scrumptious! Being a huge coffee drinker, I must say, you had your own coffee press!
Our room was so comfortable. I loved the mattress, slept better than at home! He had a Tassimo coffee machine, fruit, and a jar of granola bars besides the bottles of water in the mini refrigerator. You wanted for nothing! In the bath there were robes and slippers hanging in case they were needed, along with all the bathroom necessities.
It is a beautiful stay, the house is done in modern design, and there are even some of Robin's art on the walls. The gardens are beautiful, a lot of work to keep them so!
All I can say is, "Thank You Robin for all the work you've done, and for the great stay you provide for your guests! We hope to see you again next year!

Mic and Nancy McNeely

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 192597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Robin has a real gem, very well decorated and is very friendly and easy to talk too. The location is very good as well as we walked the town. Breakfast was amazing my husband had the smoked salmon and I had the eggs and bacon. As for supper we were a 10 mins walk away from the Knot Pub which also has great food.

Cheryl/Tony

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent five nights at Wellshire with a late night intrusion... Check in was around 23:30PM as we drove to Lunenburg all the way from Montreal.
Robin wasn't that happy but at least he wasn't mad...LOL. We stayed in room# 2 for five nights it was clean and tidy on everything. We got a "room service" on the third night for changing bed sheet, etc). Our bathroom is two steps from the bedroom. Robin prepared everything for us(shampoo, shower gel, soap, towel, robe...etc). ALL the facility was brand-new.
Breakfast was delicious. We did enjoy the Full English Breakfast (toast, scrambled eggs, THICK slices of BACON (favourite), mushrooms,potatoes).
I felt it was fascinating that Robin enjoyed his job which brings a lot of comfort to the guests. He does pay a lot of attention to details.
Those 5 nights was the best part of our trip to NS. I'm sure we will return next time.
David & Niki

Room Tip: Room #2 is perfect for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DavidYuan0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our stay at the Wellshire has been one of the best of our trip so far. The house is beautiful and our room exceeded expectations - it was like staying in a five star hotel. Robin was a gracious and perfect host and he make a spectacular English breakfast! The price of the room was very reasonable. Would recommend the Wellshire to anyone visiting this lovely part of Nova Scotia.

Room Tip: Two rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank supersam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Had such a fantastic time staying at the Wellshire that we were lucky enough to be able to stay an extra night. Having arrived a little later in the afternoon we felt right at home and got settled into the gorgeous, newly-built B&B. We didn't hesitate to share a drink with Robin sitting pond-side to chat and take it easy. Our breakfasts were made to order (Robin even went out of his way to get some gluten-free products as needed) with lovely place settings, a selection of juices, coffees, and tea with a range of choices from freshly baked breads, blueberry pancakes, traditional English breakfast (with the most delicious scrambled eggs!), and fresh fruit. The pride in the home and the attention to creating a wonderful experience is evident.

The location is great as well - close enough to downtown but far enough for some quiet as well. We just happened to be there at the time the Folk Festival was beginning so were lucky enough to be able to hear a great selection of live music from right outside the door.
The decor and facilities were excellent - coffee/tea maker in the room, tv, mini-fridge, and a perfect little sitting area right near the window for some reading or writing.

After contacting several B&Bs in Lunenburg, we are happy to have decided on this one - it would be be one of the main reasons we would return to the town and we have already recommended it as the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #1 which has an ensuite bathroom (just a note that the tub does have a handheld sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ashlea House
Ashlea House
#3 of 25 in Lunenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boscawen Inn
Boscawen Inn
#4 of 25 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellshire Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellshire Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Wellshire Bed and Breakfast
Address: 201 York Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Wellshire Bed And Breakfast Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing