We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bluenose Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bluenose Lodge
Ranked #15 of 25 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Pretty Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

We arrived very late (due to fantastic Canadian hospitality earlier) and found a problem, but this was sorted out amiciably , and the gift of a bottle of wine certainly helped !....
..yes this is an old building which will have problems.....as earlier reviews have pointed out...... but if we are this way again we will stay again....and Lunenburg is such a pretty place...and who cares about WIFI I was glad to get away from it !!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuart-harley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    37
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
34
57
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
477 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Very nice building on a well maintained property. Our room was a couple of floors up by stairs and the husband of the owner helped carrying the luggage which was great service. The room was simple, the bathroom very small and very smelly because of the shower curtain which from our point of view could better be replaced. In the room, one small bottle of shower gel for two people. We had a room with two beds (a king or queen size bed was nit available) each of which was rather small to our liking. On the pillows of one of the beds we found hairs, not from us. We didn't take this bed for obvious reasons. During the evening, a party was going on but no problem for us as we went into town for dinner. When we came back, we took some clean pillow covers from the cleaners' cupboard which was next to our room to put over the pillows of the bed we wanted to sleep on. (As per comments from other guests, there was noone around anymore at that time.) Breakfast was very simple. We couldn't pay by American Express even though we used that card when we made the reservation. Again no problem, we happened to have VISA as well. We think the owner was around during breakfast but no " hello how are you " or " thank you for staying with us". Our holiday is about trying to stay in places that are special and that you will remember: this just wasn't it.

Room Tip: Check the size of he beds when you book. We are not tall peple but as said we found the beds small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DeKokkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at this B & B, We are a mature couple, well traveled who have stayed in many B & B's at various times of the year. One thing we really look forward to is a cooked breakfast on vacation; something that we don't normally indulge in at home. However, breakfast at this lodge was more akin to what would be provided at a Holiday Inn Express - commercially prepared muffins, cereal etc. Absolutely no imagination. There was a hot option (quiche) but we missed it on the first morning as we turned up at 8:50 am, apparently late, even though breakfast is served between 8 - 9 am. We were offered pancakes but declined as I am sure they would have been of the Aunt Jemima variety. Also communication with the owner is through a 1-800 number as she does not live on site... The lodge is Victorian and tends to smell musty even though many windows are left open - maybe some cut flowers might give it a more homely feel; also noisy as it is situated on a busy corner . The owner does not live on site and communication is done mainly through a 1-800 number - bizarre ...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Darlingorla049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

My wife and I took a second honeymoon after 20 years. It was her first time to Nova Scotia. We loved Lunenburg and Loved staying at the Bluenose Lodge. It should be said we don't like staying in a traditional B and B where you are in the owners own living area, yet we don't like a traditional hotel. This was the perfect compromise of staying in a very nice classic Nova Scotia home, but the owner lives in a different house so didn't have that intrusive feeling. We are planning on going back to Lunenburg and will be definitely staying here again when we do.

Thanks Adrea

John from Ottawa

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skyhunter120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

With only one night to spend in beautiful Lunenburg, I'm so glad we stayed at the Bluenose Inn. The rooms were lovely and spacious with nice little victorian touches, and the owner was very gracious and helpful. Sadly I had to miss the breakfast, but my family and friends raved that it was the best they had had on our trip. The owner also recommended sights to see, a great restaurant for dinner, and steered us onto a ceilidh which we would not have known about. Lots of fun. A truly beautiful town and a lovely inn. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottiedawg1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

A definite thumbs up for the Bluenose Lodge. The building is charming; our room was spacious, clean and comfortable; and the breakfast was absolutely delicious (one of the best breakfasts I've ever had at a B&B). The service was excellent, and I'd highly recommend a stay at this Lodge for anyone visiting Lunenburg.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LChalmers2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in this Charming Lodge, we had the a beautiful room with two double bed. Our host was fabulous. It is very close to downtown. There is a little pub right across the street from the Lodge which has great food and reasonable prices. Get there before 5;30 to get a seat.

Barry and Jan
Edmonton, Ab

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BDO07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Ashlea House
Ashlea House
#3 of 25 in Lunenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brigantine Inn
Brigantine Inn
#13 of 25 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluenose Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluenose Lodge

Property: Bluenose Lodge
Address: 10 Falkland Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluenose Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluenose Lodge is a Victorian Inn, circa 1863.Situated at the entrance of "Old Town",Lunenburg. All Lunenburg restaurants, museums etc. are within walking distance to the Lodge. Hospitality of yesteryear abounds throughout this tastefully restored Victorian Historic Inn (circa 1863.) The Inn was originally built in 1863 as a single family dwelling for prominent sea merchant/builders by the name of Morash & Eisnor. In 1946, the home was converted to a Lodge and has been enjoyed by the public ever since. A complimentary breakfast basket filled with fresh fruit and baked goods and other breakfast snacks is delivered to your room daily. Tea & Coffee making facilities available in room. We are a smoke free facility and don't allow any pets on site. The Bluenose Lodge Historic Inn is the perfect choice for small to mid-size banquets, corporate functions and as a wedding venue in Lunenburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bluenose Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluenose Lodge Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing