We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and welcoming stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 25 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

A great experience. The women who own this B&B were so warm and welcoming, giving us tips on where to eat (and where not to eat) and what to do around town. Breakfast was delicious and the owners even sat down to breakfast with us! This was our first time in Lunenburg and this little B&B contributed to a wonderful experience. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BluBrdCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
91
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
williamsburg, Va
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Our time at The Atlantic Sojourn was very enjoyable. The rooms are lovely and very comfortable, and the breakfasts were delicious. The common areas were also very nice, and the side garden is beautiful.THE B & B is located very conveniently Susan and Sabelle are very warm and friendly and make you feel right at home. We will definitely return here on future trips to Nova Scotia, and would recommend it to others without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lupine4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

This is a nice B & B and quite comfortable. The bathroom in our room was very small and far from luxurious but certainly adequate with a shower, no tub. I did not like the dispenser type toiletries in the shower or the liquid soap dispenser at the sink. The towels and bed linens were just average quality.

When we arrived the very first thing we had to do was choose our breakfast from a menu, which I found a little off-putting. We were then taken on a tour of the premises and again, I felt a bit rushed and pressured. Susan and Sebelle were very hospitable and warm, however, and we enjoyed their company.

Breakfast was cooked to order and it was very good. You have two available times for breakfast, 8:30 or 9:00 a.m.

The thing that I really have an issue with, and which prevents me from rating this B & B any higher, is the check-out time: 10:00 a.m. The information binder is laid out on the bed open to the page informing guests of this, in large black letters, so you are in no doubt of this. Now check-in time is 4:00 p.m., a good hour later than many places like this, so you have a full 2 hours less time here than you would at most other establishments. I'm afraid a 10:00 a.m. checkout is simply unacceptable. It makes for a very rushed experience when the whole idea of B&Bs is to be more relaxed.

It is a nice B & B and the hosts are certainly kind and hospitable but for the reasons I've mentioned I doubt we would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lillybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
We are so terribly sorry that you found our bed and breakfast lacking in so many details.

When a reservation comes in by phone, we explain our check-in time (4 to 6 p.m.) and ask if those times are convenient, and we also ask if a guest needs an earlier or later arrival time. We also say that a guest may call and request a different time. Our confirmation letter also states our check-in and check-out time and the fact that we can accommodate earlier or later arrivals, if requested; and we have a very generous 24-hour cancellation policy should our B&B not meet someone’s expectations in advance. Our check-out time (10 a.m.) gives us just enough time to turn over our rooms and clean our home (by ourselves), run our errands, and be back in time for check-in. Although we do post our check-out time in the room, we have never asked guests to leave if they linger past 10! We just have a great deal to do in order to keep our B&B clean and spotless for our guests. We also accommodate requests for early or late check-in and check-out, if a guest requests a different time, unless we have an unavoidable appointment.

Yes, a tour is given of our home. We have stayed in hundreds of B&Bs here and overseas, and we find it disconcerting when we do not know what rooms we can use, where items we may need are to be found, where the emergency exits and emergency lights are, and where we might find the hosts should we become ill in the middle of the night. We are required to show emergency exits and fire extinguishers, although we cover much more in our tour. We strive to make our guests comfortable in our home by providing them with as much information as possible about the layout and the amenities. We find that if guests know how to use some of the specialty items, those items are not inadvertently broken.

Yes, we do ask guests to choose breakfast when they arrive. Our menu is extensive, and we want to make sure that we have enough time to go to the grocery story before it closes at 9 p.m. to get the items that guests have chosen. In larger cities, stores are open 24/7, but this is not the case in Lunenburg. And on Sunday, the store closes at 6 p.m. If we wait for guests to come back from dinner, then there is a greater possibility that we will not have what they might order, especially if there is a special dietary request, which we are pleased to try to accommodate.

Our breakfast hour is from 8 to 9 a.m., and guests may begin at any time during that hour, not just 8:30 and 9 as stated in this review. We can also accommodate earlier and later times, when requested. Many times we will ask a guest if they wish to be at the table at the same time that an earlier-arriving guest has already chosen so that they will be able to meet and interact with our other lovely guests.

Our policy is to continue to become as green as possible, as we are extremely concerned about the deteriorating state of our environment. Therefore, we have chosen to place liquid soap, shampoo, conditioner, and body wash in the shower and liquid soap at the sink. We used to have little packaged soaps; however, if someone is here for only one night and uses one small bar in the shower and another small bar at the sink, we feel that this is a terrible waste of soap and packaging, since it must be thrown away when the guest leaves. We do, however, have packaged soap available, should a guest request this type of product. We also have six complimentary Arbonne products (not in dispensers) in each room for our guests to try.

As for our linens, we made a conscience effort to invest in good quality but not luxurious and expensive linens because they are the most easily damaged items in a B&B and must be replaced so often. Instead, we choose to spend money on summer- and winter-weight robes, two luggage racks, sound machines, extra towels, and comfortable mattresses, pillows, and furnishings for each of our rooms.

A guest has only to ask for any product or service that is needed, and we will make every attempt to provide it;s but we must know about it in order to avoid your being disappointed. Please ask, and we think you’ll be very surprised how easy it is for any of us in this industry to make your stay more comfortable and more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

My wife, daughter and I stayed at this well equipped and well situated B&B. Our hosts were pleasant, accommodating and efficient and the rooms well appointed and comfortable. I would heartily recommend this B&B to all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at this B&B in April. Our hosts were very willing to accommodate our request for a late arrival. As we were the only guests for the night we had the choice of rooms. All rooms are tastefully decorated and well equipped. Beds and furnishings are comfortable. In each room there was a selection of information on local sights and things to do.
As well, this was probably the first and only time that I expect an Inn Keeper to ever explain the building evacuation plan to me! The common areas are very comfortable, again with a great amount of local info, events and attractions all put together in a binder. Magazines, games, TV and movies are all available. Coffee, hot chocolate, tea etc are available at any time. The breakfast menu was extensive and quite enjoyable. A definite place to return to.
Our hosts were gracious and invited our daughter to join us for breakfast, even though she was not staying with us!

Room Tip: I expect that one would find that all of the rooms are equally comfortable. If you want a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pembroke54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hamburg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Wonderful stay - comfortable room and house, fantastic food, great location, and exceptional hosts. Susan and Sebelle are gracious, fun, and accommodating and have a real zest for life. I really enjoyed my visit and hope to return again soon. Better than your average B&B - a warm, welcoming experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cold north
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

This was the first of several B & B's on a recent trip to Nova Scotia....and we were spoiled! This is an old mansion that originally belonged to a ship's captain (someone can correct me if I am wrong) The original wood moldings are beautiful and Susan & Sebelle did an excellent job decorating. They both have travelled extensively and have wonderful collections displayed.

At breakfast, we used Villeroy & Bosh dishes and there were lit candles on the table!

Both Sebelle & Susan were so hospitable. It felt like we were visiting relatives. Whenever we returned, they came out to greet us, to hear where we went and to make suggestions for our next outing. Gracious southern hospitality in Nova Scotia!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColdNorthTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ashlea House
Ashlea House
#3 of 25 in Lunenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brigantine Inn
Brigantine Inn
#13 of 25 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#7 of 25 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 56 Victoria Road | P.O. Box 864, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada (Formerly The Commander's Inn)
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management! (2016) Immerse yourself in the charming architecture and furnishings of our historic, Edwardian-era home, built in 1905 by W.C. Smith, sea captain and prominent local businessman. Our 4 1/2 star B&B offers free WiFi, off-street parking, cable TV in the living room, an antique upright piano (for our musically-inclined guests!), a guest veranda, brochures for local restaurants & attractions, and more. Start each morning with a hearty home-cooked breakfast in our elegant dining room, and enjoy 24-hour self-serve coffee, tea, and cookies. Our house is in "New Town", only a 10 minute stroll from the Old Town Lunenburg UNESCO World Heritage site. Use our B&B as a home base from which you can explore other local highlights such as Peggy's Cove, scenic Mahone Bay, the Halifax waterfront and Citadel, and the Annapolis Valley vineyards. Before you head out each day, we'd be happy to offer tips on where to go, what to do, and where to eat, to make your visit unforgettable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing