We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attention to details!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kaulbach House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lunenburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kaulbach House
Ranked #10 of 25 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, SK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Attention to details!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

What a wonderful stay we had in Lunenburg during Tall Ships! It is such a beautiful, interesting town, and staying at Kaulbach House was so much a part of our visit, and subsequent overall impression of Lunenburg. No detail was overlooked at this establishment - pristine bathroom, charming bedroom and breakfast room. Speaking of breakfast! Jenny is a talented woman - fresh baking, hot breakfast EXCELLENT coffee, which is a big sticking point for me! I stayed with a friend in the twin room, and even though the accommodation in that room is...bijou, it was so comfortable and lovely, you could really see the attention to detail made to ensure the traveler is well taken care of. We would have loved to stay longer and relax in the beautiful gardens. Kaulbach House, in my mind, is not just a place to stay, it is an attraction. If you want to put the cherry on the top of your visit to Lunenburg, by all means, stay at the Kaulbach House!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saskya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
58
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Szeged, Hungary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Our family recommends this cozy B&B for anyone looking to stay in the heart of Lunenburg. The owners, David and Jenny, are extremely friendly and helpful. They helped us make the most out of our stay in Nova Scotia. The rooms are comfortable and provide a great view of the water. The breakfast was quite nice as well.

Room Tip: The blue nose sweet is on the top floor and provides and excellent view of the water and city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grateful_metz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

My family and I stayed at this B&B when we visited Lunenburg and we were very impressed. The owners, David & Jenny were very welcoming and hospitable. The whole establishment was very well kept. I am unable to eat food with gluten and Jenny went out of her way to prepare food that I can eat, including some excellent banana bread! She is a very talented cook. David spent a lot time telling us about Lunenburg and pointing out places to go and things to do. He was really helpful and his advice was really spot on. You can tell that they both take pride in their business. The B&B is really close to the docks, restaurants and museum. You can do almost everything and it's all within walking distance. I really recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superagentsushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

When planning our trip, I changed our reservation fairly early on and then decided to go back to plan A but forgot to change the reservation back. Subsequently, we arrived at the B&B a day earlier than they expected and to compound matters, they were just leaving for a day off in Halifax. David bent over backwards to find us alternative accommodation for our first night. On top of that, he was more than reasonable over the lost revenue for his second night.

The one night we did stay was comfortable with lovely views of the harbour and the town (we stayed in harbourview). Bed was extremely comfortable, bathroom facilities were also very clean and up to date. The breakfast was yummy and the house is beautifully restored and maintainted. Both the house and Lunenburg are a bit vertical so be prepared to do a bit more climbing than usual, but it's all well worth it.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the front rooms that look over the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pnikikw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Kaulbach House was everything I expected a bed and breakfast to be. From the minute of our arrival I could smell something delightful being prepared for the next day's breakfast and was not disappointed. Jenny is a wonderful cook and keeps the place spotless. David is delightful and charming and really goes all out to make your stay a wonderful experience. One of our favorite recommendations from David was a walking tour by Shelia who really gave us an insight into the town both history A real find!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michele52514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

My husband & I stayed at the Inn July "12" we had the "bluenose" room awesome views looking out on the habor.The room was very spacious, neat & clean.David & Jenny were the perfect hosts.The breakfasts were hot & delicious & the area has a lot history too. Lynn

Room Tip: try the Bluenose room if you can climb a few steps it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Our family of four (2 teenagers) stayed for two nights in July. We all loved it. The room and bathroom were very clean and the beds comfortable. The self controlled air con was wonderful at the end of a warm day. David and Jenny were amazing in accommodating my food allergies. Jenny adapted her pancake recipe and did so cheerfully so I felt very spoiled. They were also helpful with giving directions and advice on things to do and where to eat. The great selection of DVD movies was great. The house is gorgeous with incredible views from some windows. We were surprised it was so quiet with good sound insulation. Lunenburg makes a very good base for exploring the area. Don't hesitate!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cndngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ashlea House B&B
Ashlea House B&B
#3 of 25 in Lunenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#7 of 25 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaulbach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaulbach House

Property: Kaulbach House
Address: 75 Pelham Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaulbach House is a 4.5 star B&B right in the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage town of Lunenburg. The stunning views of the harbour (as well our private carpark) make Kaulbach House the ideal place to base yourself for a few days while exploring the beautiful South Shore. We offer modern bed and breakfast accommodations with a Victorian feel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kaulbach House Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing