We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Top of the World”
other travelers have booked this property
House at Sunrise from Pull-Up Driveway
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House at Sunrise from Pull-Up Driveway
Aerial of Our Location SkyView from Water
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
House at Sunrise from Pull-Up Driveway
Aerial of Our Location
SkyView from Water
View from 2nd Floor Balcony Over 2-Story Atrium
Atrium from Great Room
Main Deck with Glass-Panels for Ultimate View
Can You Picture Yourself Sitting Here?
Atrium Overlooks the Ocean
Atrium at Night
View of Great Room from Front Entrance
Large Kitchen
Kitchen Counter from Dining Room Table
Breakfast Nook (left), Kitchen & Wood Stove (center) & Antique Dining Room Table (right)
Atrium from 2nd Floor Balcony
Master Bedroom with King Bed & 7 Skylights
Master from Study Area
Looking out Master Bedroom Skylight
Ocean from Master Bedroom Skylight
Sunrise from Master Bedroom
2nd Floor Bathroom with Shower/Tub
Upstairs Bedroom #2 Sleeps 2 in Double Bed and has 3 Skylights
Upstairs Bedroom #3 -- 'The Library'
'The Library' Sleeps 2 in Double Bed & has 3 Skylights
1st Fl Den w/ Pull-out Couch sleeps 2. Sat TV w/ Can & US Channels. New Flat Screen TV (not shown).
Upstairs Hall & 2nd Floor Balcony over Atrium
Daytime from 2nd Floor Balcony
Sunrise from 2nd Floor Balcony
Among the Clouds
Leaves Turning in the Fall
Easy Access to Front Door (this pic shows old railings, which are now glass panels).
Landing from Driveway to Front Door Spans a 12-Foot Drop
Front of House showing 2nd Deck off Den
Main Deck has Outdoor Seating for 6
Decks have Expansive Views Above the Trees
LaHave Islands from Risser's Beach
Government Wharf (3 mins away)
Government Wharf from Bridge to Our Island
Lahave Islands Marine Museum (3 mins away)
Marine Museum from Water (it was a former church)
Crescent Beach (5 mins away)
Crescent Beach is Popular for Morning Walks
Cars Drive & Park on Crescent Beach
Kite Surfing at Crescent
Green Bay Beach & Canteen  (12 mins away)
Risser's Beach Provincial Park Boardwalk at Sunset (9 mins away)
Risser's Beach has a Canteen for Fish & Chips, Ice Cream, etc & Shower Facilities
Sperry Beach (10 mins away)
Sperry Beach Lies Between the Ocean & a Warm River
Sperry Beach Abuts Gorgeous Farmland
LaHave Bakery (15 minutes away)
LaHave Bakery has Awesome Breads, Pastries, and Sandwiches
Lahave Bakery Porch Hangout
Lunenburg -- a UNESCO Heritage Site (40 mins away)
Lunenburg -- Typical Colorful Buildings
Lunenburg Farmer's Market
The Ovens National Park has Cliff-side Trails & Caves to Explore (35 minutes away)
Hiking on Gaff Point (35 mins away)
Hirtle Beach is a Massive Stretch with Amazing Views (35 mins away)
Broad Cove Beach has Cool Stones (20 mins away)
Dramatic Tides on Bay of Fundy (2 hrs away)
Lots of Kayaks Around the Islands
Kayaking from the Government Wharf
Lobster Boat & Wharf
Lobster Boat with Bridge to LaHave Island in background
Lupins are Everywhere
Island Boat House
Fish Wharf & Boat
Fisherman & Shack
Fishing Boat in Fog
Brightly Colored Buildings Dot the Islands
Former Island School
Island Scene
Island Beach
Island Path
Fox on Crescent Beach
Deer Roam the Islands
Sunset Over Islands
Moon at Sunset from SkyView's Main Deck
Sunrise Over Main Deck
Moon Over Island Road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia, Nova Scotia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Beverly D
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Top of the World”
Reviewed October 13, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We felt a bit King-ly while staying at SkyView. The island-top vies of the neighboring shores and smaller islands offered us images of the pounding surf, glowing sunrises, and colorful sunsets. The Home itself is stylish, spotless, and spacious while it provided a comfy wood-burning stove and well-appointed kitchen. Not only did the home offer a fine "hub" for visits to surrounding villages and beaches, but it also made for easy scenic drives to Lunenburg, Mahone Bay, and other spots with plenty of time to return for making a meal or eating elsewhere. Once "home," we could relax by the fire, whip each other in card games, or read at leisure. If you book with SkyView, your owner will provide you with ample, careful directions and information to use the house safely, comfortably, and responsibly. His courteous and prompt communication was so helpful in getting there and started. You can't miss with a stay at SkyView!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet location and home design.
Liked least: Can't think of a thing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdmontonC...
Edmonton, AB
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Simply perfect. Loved every moment in this house. Wow!!”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We have one complaint about Skyview, and that is that it doesn’t belong to us and we can’t stay forever.

My husband and I travel a fair bit and use VRBO almost exclusively. I have to say that Skyview is, without hesitation, one of the best, if not THE best, homes we’ve had the pleasure of staying in. The house is exactly as pictured, beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. Everything you could want is there. What the pictures can’t do justice to are the views that you get from every window in the house – a different view from every window, each one spectacular. Even getting up to go to the bathroom at night is a special treat, believe it or not. You see stars as you’ve never seen them before. And watching the moon and stars through the ceiling window … spectacular. I have even gotten out of bed extremely early in the morning just to watch the sunrise. Amazing.

WiFi was good and cell signal did not fail us. Important things to us.

The drive on and off the Island was always a pleasure. How long does it take to get to LaHave? We haven’t a clue because we never made the trip without stopping to walk along the beautiful Crescent Beach, to explore little coves, to take pictures. However, once you do get to LaHave, be sure to stop at the LaHave Bakery. Quaint and quirky and good, good food. In the other direction is Petite Riviere. We didn’t get a chance to visit the vineyard, but we did get to enjoy their product. Top notch.

It’s a pleasant drive to Bridgewater following along the LaHave River, and a little further (but oh so worth it) to Lunenburg. Of course, you can always take the ferry across the river for $7.00. But Lunenburg is a must!

Mont was an absolute pleasure to deal with. All queries – from the initial booking to questions about laundry detergent – were responded to promptly and pleasantly. His directions for getting to the house are spot on and the information he provides regarding the house is extremely helpful.

We have no hesitation in recommending Skyview as a vacation rental and we hope that we can return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house. The incredible views. Everything.
Liked least: That we couldn't keep it and that we had to leave.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G0K
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Bright and spacious with great views”
Reviewed September 25, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The kitchen is extremely well equipped and the entire house was very clean. It has tremendous views especially from the balconies and upstairs. Our son loved the table tennis table in the basement. Beds were comfy and for long stays the washer and dryer are a bonus. The location is convenient for trips to Bridgewater, Mahone Bay and Lunenberg. Crescent Beach is a five minute drive and Rissers is only ten minutes away. There are three bedrooms upstairs and a den with a pullout on the main floor that could function as a fourth. Overall we were very happy but would suggest a few improvements: two of the upstairs bedrooms do not have window covers on all the windows (or glass door). This is not a privacy issue as there are no neighbours but it is a problem with the light early in the morning. The chairs in the main room, which is the nicest area to sit with fantastic windows, are not very comfortable. Outdoor furniture for the patio is very basic. Other than these minor issues, it is a great place.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2015
We're glad that our guests enjoyed our location, our views, the cleanliness of the house, it being well-equipped, the comfortable beds, the ping pong table and the use of the washer dryer.

We promptly contacted them after they posted this review, and they clarified as follows: "As for the furniture in the atrium, there wasn’t one particular piece that was uncomfortable but we didn’t find any of the chairs great for lounging for a couple of hours." We don't dispute our guests' experience. But In four years of renting to dozens of guests, this is the first time our chairs have been brought up as a concern. We also have a den with a satellite flat-screen TV that has two very comfortable chairs which recline and a comfortable couch to sit or lay out on.

We'd like to point out that the master bedroom does have blinds on all windows and in the two upstairs bedrooms two windows and one door indeed do not come with blinds. We are in the process of putting some up. In the meantime we ask guests to bring sleep masks, if they have them.

Each of our two decks has four upright plastic chairs to sit on and the main deck also has two classic wooden Adirondack chairs that are super-comfortable to lounge in. The main deck also has a table for eating which can sit four people.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmont, New Jersey
Reviewed July 8, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewed June 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewed April 21, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wood stove and great room
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MaritimeT...
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Peaceful Cottage with a Spectacular View”
Reviewed March 10, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a week in October and it was unbelievable. Such a beautiful cottage with the most awesome views from every window. The whole place has a peaceful, relaxing, elegant feel, you won't be disappointed. Huge kitchen great for cooking, woodstove to snuggle around at night, viewing decks to enjoy the outdoors, and even a ping pong table for a little fun competition. Highly recommend. . . can't wait to stay here again.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 11, 2015
One point of note to NON-Canadian travelers...

This guest refers to our home as a "cottage," which is the term most Canadians give to vacation rentals. To U.S. travelers and to others outside Canada, the word "cottage" typically implies a small, modest house, usually of only one story.

SkyView is actually a VERY BIG, modern house, which sleeps up to 8 people. It is 2 stories with quite high ceilings and 2200 square feet of living space, not including the basement with the ping pong table.

Just want you to know what to expect!

Mont Fennel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing