We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely house, lovely hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lunenburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1826 Maplebird House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 25 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Brampton, ON
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely house, lovely hosts”
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We stayed at Susie and Barry's lovely, old, character house on the first leg of our trip around the Maritimes. The weather was hot and muggy when we arrived and it was a joy to jump into their swimming pool. Our room was a good size with a very comfy bed and the bathroom had a great shower with lots of water pressure and fluffy towels. Susie and Barry were excellent hosts and we enjoyed the conversations around the dining table with them and the other guests. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Maplebird House is very convenient to the harbour and the town. The Old Fish House is an excellent place to eat and we enjoyed a celdih, a hilarious show about Lunenburg, and the fishing musuem all in the same big building. I would highly recommend Susie and Barry's Maplebird House B & B.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Limejock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
50
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ruislip
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We stayed here on our tour of Nova Scotia. Its a lovely B & B. The owners Susie and Barry are very friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in was very nice with a view towards the harbour. Excellent breakfast. Great company over the table with other visitors and the owners. The venue is two streets away from th harbour and one street from the main centre of town. Ample parking nearby. We would happily recommend anyone to stay here if they were visiting Lunenburg

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oracleviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We only stayed in this b & b one night and will regret it for awhile. We spent two weeks travelling around Nova Scotia and stayed at a number of them and by far this is the best place we stayed. Barry and Susie were the most gracious of hosts, and gave us many great ideas of places to see and routes to take as we 'meandered' . We absolutely loved the top floor room. As we are somewhate vertically challlenged we had no problem with the stairwell or the rooms. A great bonus of the top room is the absolutely gigantic bathroom off the bedroom. The hosts were gracious, the veranda brought back some very wonderful memories of our childhood as we rocked watching a rainstorm. The sitting room was charming and who watches tv when you can talk to people from other parts of the world anyway? The breakfast was very tasty and plentiful and lent a nice backdrop to chatting with fellow residents. All in all, a very positive experience, and very affordable to boot.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saskatoon02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Excellent accommodations, location, breakfast, fellow guests, innkeepers. Innkeepers particularly interesting, very accomplished and fascinating to hear about their careers. Very helpful with tips and recommendations for restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveagora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2010

Thank you Susie and Barry for a wonderful week at 1826 Maplebird House. When it comes to Lunenburg hospitality, they are among the best. Having stayed at the Maplebird while tending to personal business, Susie and Barry were a great support network, offering referrals, insights, and most of all, encouragement. From the moment we met, they felt like old friends. This is the way it should be, and it was!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock BC
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2009

We stayed at Maplebird House for two nights at the end of a long trip and found it to be, unquestionably, one of the highlights of our tour of the Maritimes. If one needs a reason to avoid impersonal hotels and opt for the local taste of a place, then Maplebird House is a splendid choice. A beautiful house, excellent breakfasts and consummate, hosts in Susie and Barry, made this a visit we'll remember for a very long time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Maplebird House is a cozy and charming B&B in Lunenburg. The hosts are very friendly and the breakfast was very delicious. We really enjoyed our stay at this nice place.

Thanks to Susie and Berry.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geniessas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#6 of 25 in Lunenburg
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brigantine Inn
Brigantine Inn
#13 of 25 in Lunenburg
94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashlea House B&B
Ashlea House B&B
#3 of 25 in Lunenburg
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1826 Maplebird House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1826 Maplebird House Bed & Breakfast

Property: 1826 Maplebird House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 36 Pelham Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia BOJ 2CO, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored heritage home (circa 1826), once used as a dairy farm, sits in a large garden with swimming pool, patio and verandah overlooking Lunenburg harbour and golf course. Within Lunenburg's Old Town UNESCO World Heritage Site. 4 queen rooms all with ensuite bathrooms. Fireplace, high speed wireless internet access, TV/DVD/CD, books and games in guests' living room. Full breakfast. Off street parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1826 Maplebird House Bed & Breakfast Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing