We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1826 Maplebird House Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Smugglers Cove Inn(Lunenburg)(Great Value!)
$85
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rum Runner Inn(Lunenburg)(Great Value!)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Homeport Motel(Lunenburg)(Great Value!)
$86
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Topmast Motel(Lunenburg)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lighthouse Motel(Bridgewater)
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveler rating
62
7
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
7
0
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 70 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2008

Barry and Susie run a first class operation here. Close to all the sights and resturants. Their breakfast is wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ogopogos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2008

Since Lunenburg is one of our favourite holiday destinations, we were fortunate a number of years ago to discover 1826 Maplebird House and it’s gracious owners, Susie and Barry.

We chose this attractive building for it’s location within an easy walk to all the shops, restaurants, museums and waterfront amenities that make this charming World Heritage Town such a pleasure to visit.

The location attracted us, however, Susie and Barry and what they have done to the house and the property is what has kept us returning. All rooms at Maplebird are homey and welcoming with up-to-date ensuite bathrooms. The well kept gardens, lawns and pool area make for an attractive view from the waterside verandah.

At breakfast we have been spoiled by Susie’s and Barry’s hands-on attention to ensuring everyone at the large table was treated to a selection of tasty fare, while providing an opportunity for us to visit with other guests from many parts of the world.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smithscove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2008

A warm welcome to a very charming and historical house. Susie and Barry's ongoing programme of improvement, renovation and restoration has been skillfully done and is very sensitive to the period of the house.

We had a pretty, comfortable room with excellent ensuite facilities

Breakfast was a real feature with much home-cooked and locally produced content, with a different and inventive main dish each day.

We can thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed: September 2006
Thank JATGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2008

My husband & I stayed at the Maplebird for one night in the summer and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The house had such great country charm, was spotless, and very welcoming and inviting. One of the few B&Bs in the area with a pool.

Susie and Barry were terrific hosts, giving us good advice on what touristy things would be best for us to do, and what restaurants to go to. The breakfast was incredible and the rooms are very comfortable. I felt like I was at home.

We will definitely be back and this time longer than a one night stay. Thanks Susie & Barry! We'll see you soon. ;-)

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2008

We recently retired and our first trip was going to be the Atlantic Provinces for six weeks. Our first stop was Nova Scotia.

We booked this lovely B & B online for our first week.

We found the owners, Barry and Susie, to be wonderful, funny generous and very knowledgeable hosts. We found the home to be very comfortable and clean and the lawns and gardens were kept immaculate. Our room was so comfy and cozy. The breakfasts were wonderfully varied each morning. The huge bowls of fresh fruit salad were to die for each morning.

It was so nice to sit around the breakfast table and talk with Barry and Susie and other guests about their adventures.

We came back to stay with Barry and Susie again at the end of September for a couple days as we were booked to sail on the Bluenose on her last sail of the year. It was like coming home for a visit with old friends!!!

My husband and I have told many people about this wonderful heritage B & B in Lunenburg and would not hesitate to tell anyone to stay there

Enjoy your visit and say hi to Barry and Susie from the Brandner's in Kelowna, B.C.

Joyce and Lloyed Brandner

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RetireeKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews