We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lunenburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1826 Maplebird House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 25 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location and Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

What a delightful stay we had at the Maplebird House! The rooms are equipped with private baths and there is a wonderful sitting room for the guests, including books and a fireplace! The inn is located on a quiet street and has parking which is a plus for Lunenburg. This quaint town is very walkable from the inn and the area has much to offer. Our hosts cooked a wonderful breakfast and offered local maps and information about sites. Don't miss visiting Mahone Bay which is very close by! We were two couples traveling together and had a wonderful stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieL44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
50
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I visited Nova Scotia in the middle of September and stayed one night each at 3 bed and breakfasts. Our experience at Maplebird House ranked way above the other two. Susie and Barry obviously care a lot about making guests comfortable. From all the small but welcome touches in the bedroom and bath to a great introduction about what to see and where to eat in Lunenburg, we felt very well taken care of. That old cliché about above and beyond the call of duty applies to these folks. And breakfast was outstanding. All in all, an excellent place in the middle of a picturesque and very walkable town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Excellent private rooms and BR, hosts we could sit on the porch with and chat with, great breakfast, and I even watched the patriots on the TV in the guest living room. 5 stars.We biked to a fishing village along the ocean, saw the tall ships, but most of all enjoyed our hosts, Barry and Susie.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

This place got my attention first with its pool. I didn't end up using it for my boyfriend and I were too busy exploring. But the veranda with a porch swing was just as relaxing and perfect ending to a great day. The couple that run the place are really nice and will give you the ins and outs of Lunenburg on your arrival. The breakfast is truly the hi-light with the great coffee and spread. The rhubarb spread and homemade scones were my favorite.
The house is full of history and charm. The beds are comfy and the suites have their own bathroom and shower.
Was an excellent choice and a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed in Maplebird House four nights instead of the planned one night because of the outstanding hospitality and friendlyness of Susie and Barry and all the amenities Maplebird House offers. The house is located in the very heart of Lunenburg, has a wonderful, perfectly looked after and relaxing garden with most probably the only B&B pool in the center of Lunenburg. The rooms are charming and clean and have their own bathrooms.The decoration all around in the house is wonderful and let you feel at home from the very first moment on, every little detail is taken care of with love. The breakfast is amazing and most probably the best we had in Nova Scotia, fresh, tasty and lots of choices. Lunenburg itself is a jewel on the South Shore in Nova Scotia!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACN6596BPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at Maplebird house in Lunenburg while driving from Newfoundland to Ottawa. Lunenburg is a beautiful heritage town with gorgeous homes and welcoming people.

Maplebird house is a gorgeous old home that has been well cared-for and beautifully decorated. Barry and Susie are lovely people who were incredibly welcoming and informative, and served the best breakfast we've ever had. Our only regret is that we couldn't have stayed longer!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephenccooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had the opportunity to stay at the Maplebird House for one night in July as part of a short trip to Nova Scotia. The owners, Barry and Susie were so welcoming and so interesting to talk to that we regretted not having booked a longer stay. The proximity to the harbour, the lovely gardens, the comfortable room and the outstanding breakfast the next morning made our stay there very special. Great value for the money.

Room Tip: We had a corner room that not only afforded us a nice view of the harbour, but also allowed us to op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brigantine Inn
Brigantine Inn
#13 of 25 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashlea House B&B
Ashlea House B&B
#3 of 25 in Lunenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1826 Maplebird House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1826 Maplebird House Bed & Breakfast

Property: 1826 Maplebird House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 36 Pelham Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia BOJ 2CO, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored heritage home (circa 1826), once used as a dairy farm, sits in a large garden with swimming pool, patio and verandah overlooking Lunenburg harbour and golf course. Within Lunenburg's Old Town UNESCO World Heritage Site. 4 queen rooms all with ensuite bathrooms. Fireplace, high speed wireless internet access, TV/DVD/CD, books and games in guests' living room. Full breakfast. Off street parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1826 Maplebird House Bed & Breakfast Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing