We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Very nice hotel. Get a room w view of the water, worth the small premium. In house restaurant was very good and staff was fun and helpful. Would stay here again definitely. Chef was wonderful. Checked the table several times.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhsfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    96
    37
    10
    3
See reviews for
34
187
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Schaefferstown
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The location is just a short distance from the waterfront and close to many restaurants, galleries, shops and an excellent museum. Our room was pleasant--window open with a breeze coming in when we arrived! Rooms are nicely furnished; and everything was quite comfortable. Would definitely stay here again. Breakfast in the morning was not elaborate, but it is so nice to have it included in rate. Staff was accommodating. Absolutely no complaints!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herstoryprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Lunenburg Arms was great, I booked late so I didn't get a view (maybe next time) other than that it was fantastic. Extremely helpful staff beautiful room with hardwood floors (even found me a DVD player) Dining room was very nice. Located near the waterfront and multiple restaurants.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, Georgia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Like Lunenburg, this hotel has a European feel about it, and it is in a great location. The staff was friendly, and our room very clean and lovely, quite large, with wood laminate floors and lovely furniture. Even though it's an old building, the rooms were quite sound proof, and there was an elevator. In our room, Room 301, there were two large windows with unique wooden shutters instead of curtains. The windows could be raised a little to let in a bit of fresh air, an option I always appreciate. However, when we did close them to use the air conditioner, it wasn't noisy at all. The bathroom was small, but not uncomfortably so, and terry cloth bathrobes were provided. There was an ice machine on our floor, and someone was always present at the front desk when we needed anyone. They were very helpful answering questions about the area. A nice buffet-style continental breakfast was provided in the dining area downstairs. Free parking was available in a lot across the street from the hotel. I understand that the rooms are all different in this hotel. Ours did not have a view, but it was quite comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms are all different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Right from check in the friendly staff made you feel welcome. We travelled with our bulldog and they were very accommodating. The room we had booked was the exact room we were given and it was beautiful! Overlooking the docks and the water and it was stocked with very nice amenities. The bed, along with pillows etc, was probably the most comfortable bed I've ever had the pleasure of sleeping in. Excellent location, we could walk everywhere from the hotel and enjoy the beautiful town and its' lovely atmosphere. The morning we checked out it was raining and the front desk gave us an umbrella so we could pack up the vehicle without getting wet. A great gesture from the excellent employees at a top notch hotel. We can't wait to return Lunenburg and this terrific establishment!

Room Tip: Try to book a room over looking the water front, you will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbles13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked a regular queen room at Lunenburg Arms so didn't have a water view. Our room was quite small and faced the street so nothing special, but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. I do think it is overpriced compared to other hotels we stayed at in Nova Scotia but Lunenburg is a small town. Except for large cities, everywhere we stayed in Canada still had the old tube TV's. We weren't there to watch TV but flat screens are pretty cheap these days so it surprised me that some of the higher end places hadn't converted yet. Breakfast was continental only: bread, muffins, boiled eggs, maybe yogurt. The dining area is nice though. The location was very convenient for walking to the wharf and restaurants.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel. I used Booking.com and I'm pretty sure we got their worst room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbletone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quispamsis, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Although we were expecting a bed and breakfast experience we were happy with our stay here. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff pleasant although the a/c was extraordinarily noisy. The Town of Lunenburg is quaint but don't do the horse drawn wagon tour. Our tour guide was woefully ignorant of the history of Lunenburg outside what was written on the plaques on some buildings - what a missed opportunity. We found a fantastic guide to the architecture in Lunenburg in the lobby of our hotel written by a local town official! Wish our tour guide had read it!

Room Tip: The Arms markets view from the window which I don't understand - we barely spent any enough time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#7 of 25 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brigantine Inn
Brigantine Inn
#13 of 25 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages
0.6 mi away
Topmast Motel
Topmast Motel
#5 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lunenburg Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lunenburg Arms Hotel

Property: Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Address: 94 Pelham Street | Box 1378, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lunenburg Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lunenburg Arms provides an experience rich in history and culture. It’s the perfect get away, retreat or corporate meeting place, located in the heart of Lunenburg, a Unesco World Heritage Site. Twenty-four graciously appointed guestrooms many of which overlook Lunenburg Harbour and the famous schooner Bluenose II (when in port) are available to our guests. Enjoy our plush allergy-friendly duvets, soft guest robes, complimentary wireless Internet, expanded cable television, room-controlled air-conditioning and beautiful Aveda soaps and shampoos. And hardwood floors allow us to be pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lunenburg Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lunenburg Arms Hotel Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing