We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, beautiful room, lovely helpful people.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just had a wonderful 2 night stay at the Lunenburg Arms. The hotel is located right in town with their own parking lot - a big plus. The room was beautiful with all the amenities including cosy robes and a big whirlpool tub. We had a wonderful view of the harbour. I cannot say enough nice things about the front desk staff. They are master multi-taskers and took care of our every need. We were there late in the season, so many of the good restaurants were closed, but Krista managed to get us a reservation at a great restaurant. One of our most pleasant stays ever. Be sure to try the chef's homemade granola at breakfast. delicious.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoTraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 322 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one evening, Sat, Oct 20th, in a Exec King Harbour View, paying $159.00 plus taxes...coming out to about $183.00.
I had asked for this specific room - seeing the room on TA - in pics:)
It had a king bed, large sitting area, with sofa and two chairs, and armoire that housed the TV.
.
It also had a small fridge and a coffee maker. We felt the room was very spacious, and the overall feel and view lent itself to an "Inn feel". It was very special for sitting, looking out at the water and rain, and sipping wine. :)

The bathroom was also spacious enough, but not large enough for 2 getting ready to go out. Not much dedicated space in which to place personal items, (make-up bag, curling iron etc., hubby's toiletry bag) so we kept ours in the main room, and had to keep things on the floor when brought into the bathroom. A wee free standing shelf would be ideal in there.
The room was very clean. It could have used a few more pictures/paintings on the walls, as it felt a bit sparse.

There is a parking area across from the hotel, which is very handy, for hotel guests only.

The one big negative, is that the sheets were very pilled. So much so, they were uncomfortable to lie on. We decided to change them - inside out... in the middle of the night, as we could not sleep with them this way. These sheets should have been torn into rags, and NOT put on a bed.
We found the girl that we reserved with, by phone, extremely helpful and friendly. Upon checking in, the gal at the front desk was friendly as well. She had a map ready for us, as we were walking to the nearby fire-hall for a birthday party, (as we mentioned when booking). Nice touch. However, upon check-out, we found this girl to be a bit curt, and uninterested in us. Too bad.
The breakfast was just ok. There are a many B&B's and Inn's in this area, that offer up full beautiful breakfasts. We were missing this the next morning.

Over-all...a nice place to stay, and if they just tweak a few things, a very very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trip-together
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay at this hotel! Its location with its parking is perfect. You can walk so easily to the shops and restaurants and to the waterfront. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are comfortable. The bed was softer than usual but we slept well. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were not able to get a room with a harbor view but will try next time for one. Book early so you can have the water view too!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMVHalifax_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

After a day of driving thru rain and fog, we finally found sunshine as we neared Lunenburg. The Hotel is well situated - and easy to walk from there to the waterfront - even down the steep roads!
Room was very comfortable - and we enjoyed sleeping with the windows open.
The front desk staff was amazingly helpful - and courteous! Even going out of her way to help us get to the new railroad museum!
After good night's sleep, the breakfast was just okay - the bagels were good, though!
This would be a good location for a longer stay - scenery is so picturesque.

Room Tip: Ask for room on side- one others have mentioned - 408 . We loved having the windows onto the side st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlhfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a lovely inn right in the middle of the historic district. We had a fabulous room - top floor, corner unit overlooking the bay. I believe it was 408....vaulted ceilings, large windows and the best view. Huge room with a sitting area and good-sized clean bathroom. I highly recommend spending the few extra dollars for this room. The staff was very helpful and pleasant, although to be honest we only had contact with the front desk girl and the waitress/dining room host. Both of these girls seemed to be doing double duty though! However, throughout our stay in NS, it seems that with the high season over, staff is reduced everywhere. Breakfast was the normal fare of a hotel chain (albeit in a much more pleasant atmosphere) - NOT what I would have expected from a historic Inn so that was a little disappointing. All in all a wonderful stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LUGGAGETAGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We recently visited NS for 10 days and Lunenberg was city #2 on our trip. This hotel was a perfect respite even though the fog was so thick we had to cancel our sailing trip. Wish we could have spent more time exploring! We will definitely be back and be back to the Arms hotel. Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuziandFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We recently stayed for 10 days in the Lunenburg Arms Hotel in Room 408, which is on the top floor, and used this hotel as a jumping off point to take other trips in NS. The room was quite comfortable and all that we could ask for. The view overlooking the harbour is great; and the hotel itself is centrally located for exploring the little town where there is much to see.

Since there has been some mention of the softness of the mattresses of the beds, we found this to be the case but at the same time very comfortable even though we are accustomed to a firm bed.

The staff was very friendly and competent and answered all questions that we had. The maid service was also very, very good.

As for the continental breakfast which has received much criticism for its austerity and indeed inadequacy, one wouId expect a hotel of this caliber to offer a meat (smoked salmon?) or/and cheese. It was a nice touch, however, to have a paper outside our door every morning.

Room Tip: Harbour views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Topmast Motel
Topmast Motel
#6 of 6 in Lunenburg
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Homeport Motel
Homeport Motel
#4 of 6 in Lunenburg
119 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages
0.1 mi away
Boscawen Inn
Boscawen Inn
#4 of 26 in Lunenburg
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lunenburg Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lunenburg Arms Hotel

Address: 94 Pelham Street | Box 1378, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Price Range: $118 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lunenburg Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lunenburg Arms provides an experience rich in history and culture. It’s the perfect get away, retreat or corporate meeting place, located in the heart of Lunenburg, a Unesco World Heritage Site. Twenty-four graciously appointed guestrooms many of which overlook Lunenburg Harbour and the famous schooner Bluenose II (when in port) are available to our guests. Enjoy our plush allergy-friendly duvets, soft guest robes, complimentary wireless Internet, expanded cable television, room-controlled air-conditioning and beautiful Aveda soaps and shampoos. And hardwood floors allow us to be pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Lunenburg Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lunenburg Arms Hotel Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing